We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“huge place with complete family enretainment”
Review of Resort Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resort Rio
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Arpora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

this hotel is close to 3 major beaches and staying here makes u feel as u r far away from all beach crowds too.5 min ride to any of the beaches and quick taxi outdoor helps u all times. we had a 4night stay and all days breakfast and dinner were excellent.good variety of rooms and some excellent cottages with mini pool for kids. great well maintained swimming pool and awesome bar staff at the pool takes care of all. had a blast and would definately go again.

Room Tip: please take only return cabs from hotel and not 1 side cause when u return back local cabs charge u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajgyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am delighted that my team members made your stay a notable one at our 5 Star Deluxe Resort in North Goa!

We thank you for your valuable feedback which is shared with all the staff at Resort Rio.

We do look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you and your family have many more memorable stays with us !

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,368 - 1,374 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my boyfriend in August 2012. This hotel was okay overall. I would have been fine with it if it had been rated 3 stars. I stayed in several 5 star resorts in Goa and the Resort Rio is EXTREMELY sub par. The rooms are quite run down. Bathrooms are in need a a major update. The pool is tiny for the amount of rooms at the hotel. We were there during Monsoon in August so the hotel was not even close to capacity - yet the pool was always full. And they only had a handful of lounge chairs around it... there was NEVER one available. One afternoon they were serving pizza at the pool bar. There were little children eating pizza in the pool. It was quite disgusting as you can imagine.

The food at the buffet restaurant was mediocre. But once again, it was at capacity during breakfast. I don't know how they feed everyone there during the tourist season. One huge plus is that the staff at the restaurant are FANTASTIC. So friendly and helpful - both the hosts, servers, and even the cooks! We made friends with a lot of the staff here.

The beach is quite far from the hotel. We rented a scooter and it was about a ten minute drive to the beach. It is a nice, scenic drive however!

We also got a couples massage at the spa. It was a pretty good massage but the spa facilities are nothing special.

Overall, this hotel left much to be desired and we will definitely not be returning to Resort Rio.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NewfGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our 5 Star Deluxe Resort !

We refer your comments on the serving of pizzas at the pool side bar and of the children eating the same in the pool - which indeed is not allowed and the management strictly abides with the rules.

Your stay with us was in August `2012 - we do have made amends in all areas of our operations ,including the spa to ensure that all our guests have `The Time Of Their Lives at Resort Rio`

We do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you once again to see the difference your feedback has made.

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza - Director Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The front desk is a shame and does nothing to make you comfortable . The serving staff is courteous but the management needs some lessons in how not be high handed and stupid at the same time. The rooms are certainly above average but the service and frequent electricity issues kill the deal for me

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kashidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us.Have shared your comments with our team members .....we surely have the best rooms,courteous service by our serving staff as mentioned by you ,and this cannot be justified without a high handed management support!

With regards to your comment on frequent electricity issues does not hold true as we do have a back up generator which takes the entire load of the resort and comes on within a minute in case of power failure.

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our air conditioning went flap flap flap for some reason instead of a low whirr. Maintenance arrived promptly and discovered a clogged air filter that had obviously not been cleaned in some time. I could not see my hand through the lint. Both my partner and I got scalded when a faulty valve in the shower switched to hot rather than the temp we had chosen - two separate instances. When maintenance was sent they could find nothing wrong (we guess they didn't wait long enough or were dressed!!) To a newcomer the separate buildings are a maze - need more signage or art works to help get bearings - or perhaps a little map?

Room Tip: be sure to see the room before you accept it. All three rooms we were shown were set up with the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ted s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our 5 Star Deluxe Resort & for your feedback on trip advisor.

With regards to the technical concern related to the water temperature in the shower ,we deeply regret the inconvenience caused and have rectified the technical problem that occurred.

We do have prominent signage giving directions within the resort and the room numbers displayed.

We hope to welcome you again and ensure that your experience with us be a memorable one.

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Lovely room .Beds large and comfy. Bathroom is spotless and excellent shower .Nice touches like mozzy plug ins by the bed. Some areas in the bedroom are grubby such as the cream chairs and sofa.We had the deluxe room.
Pool area nice as is the pool .
Staff lovely ..they wave and smile .BUT ........The noise ! Oh my goodness music blasts out from the pool area .Whilst we have been here they have had two weddings and three conferences .We did have a room that overlooked the pool the music was so loud it almost shakes the room .We asked to be moved ..it was no problem . Sadly some of the guests at the weddings and other functions are just so rude ..shouting and singing until 3 am with not a care for other guests , this is also a big let down by the management as they didn't ask them to shut up ! Good job we packed ear plugs !
Really I think that this hotel will loose any Western guests are they are only concerned with weddings etc
One other note today we can't use the pool are as there is a wedding but can sit by a tiny pool at the other side of the hotel ,
The breakfast was just chaos ,so busy and children running around dangerously .We went once in two weeks !

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking small pool .
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EffieElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your views with us.

We have made a note of all your comments and have discussed the same with our team members who have made amends at various levels to ensure that all our guests are taken care of and house rules strictly maintained.

We do hope to give us another opportunity to serve you once again and see the difference your feedback has made.

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza - Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed in Rio on the long weekend of Jan 26th... Had an Almost perfect weekend and thanks mainly to the staff and atmosphere of Resort Rio...Excellent in every thing...down to the last details like the quality of toiletries in the bathrooms.. There was Durgesh to help us check in..Excellent service by Durgesh... The personal touch in everything u did was an amazing experience...

Only issue that i think is that it is too far from action and u do remain cut off from some of the fun..

Keep it up Team RIO...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tijucmathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback shared on trip advisor.

Durgesh too is delighted to read your feedback and the special mention of his personal touch that we all pride ourselves upon at Resort Rio!

We do hope you visit us again soon and give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is worse Hotel , the food they serve is of low category & the prices they charge are more then 7 star , the security at hotel, instead of checking for harmful articles, they are more interested in checking ur chips n vodka bottles
they wont allow u to take ur snack n bottles for consuming in room

I would never recommend anyone to go there waste of money and time useless hotel and useless peoples serving in the hotel, Its not at all worth for the money,
if u have budget to spend for this hotel, better book any other 5 star property

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time in writing your comments posted on trip advisor.

However ,our prices are not more than seven star but in comparison with all the other 5 Star hotels in Goa.

It is unfortunate when the security checks for prohibited objects while coming in the property they have to check your chips & vodka bottles that are not allowed as per our policies.

The safety of our guests and responsibility towards the tolerance level consumption of alcohol is extremely important to us.

Once again ,we thank you for staying with us.

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
0.7 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
6.3 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#4 of 18 in Anjuna
411 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#5 of 69 in Candolim
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Rio

Address: | Near Baga Beach, Tambudki, Arpora 403518, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arpora
#1 Spa Hotel in Arpora
Price Range: $93 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Resort Rio 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Rio, a five star luxury deluxe spa resort in Goa, is spread over 10 acres on the banks of the Baga River and is just a 5 minute drive from the world famous Baga Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Resort Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Rio Hotel Arpora
Resort Rio Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing