We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lack of maintenance disappointing”
Review of Resort Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Resort Rio
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Arpora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our air conditioning went flap flap flap for some reason instead of a low whirr. Maintenance arrived promptly and discovered a clogged air filter that had obviously not been cleaned in some time. I could not see my hand through the lint. Both my partner and I got scalded when a faulty valve in the shower switched to hot rather than the temp we had chosen - two separate instances. When maintenance was sent they could find nothing wrong (we guess they didn't wait long enough or were dressed!!) To a newcomer the separate buildings are a maze - need more signage or art works to help get bearings - or perhaps a little map?

Room Tip: be sure to see the room before you accept it. All three rooms we were shown were set up with the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ted s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our 5 Star Deluxe Resort & for your feedback on trip advisor.

With regards to the technical concern related to the water temperature in the shower ,we deeply regret the inconvenience caused and have rectified the technical problem that occurred.

We do have prominent signage giving directions within the resort and the room numbers displayed.

We hope to welcome you again and ensure that your experience with us be a memorable one.

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Lovely room .Beds large and comfy. Bathroom is spotless and excellent shower .Nice touches like mozzy plug ins by the bed. Some areas in the bedroom are grubby such as the cream chairs and sofa.We had the deluxe room.
Pool area nice as is the pool .
Staff lovely ..they wave and smile .BUT ........The noise ! Oh my goodness music blasts out from the pool area .Whilst we have been here they have had two weddings and three conferences .We did have a room that overlooked the pool the music was so loud it almost shakes the room .We asked to be moved ..it was no problem . Sadly some of the guests at the weddings and other functions are just so rude ..shouting and singing until 3 am with not a care for other guests , this is also a big let down by the management as they didn't ask them to shut up ! Good job we packed ear plugs !
Really I think that this hotel will loose any Western guests are they are only concerned with weddings etc
One other note today we can't use the pool are as there is a wedding but can sit by a tiny pool at the other side of the hotel ,
The breakfast was just chaos ,so busy and children running around dangerously .We went once in two weeks !

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking small pool .
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EffieElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your views with us.

We have made a note of all your comments and have discussed the same with our team members who have made amends at various levels to ensure that all our guests are taken care of and house rules strictly maintained.

We do hope to give us another opportunity to serve you once again and see the difference your feedback has made.

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza - Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed in Rio on the long weekend of Jan 26th... Had an Almost perfect weekend and thanks mainly to the staff and atmosphere of Resort Rio...Excellent in every thing...down to the last details like the quality of toiletries in the bathrooms.. There was Durgesh to help us check in..Excellent service by Durgesh... The personal touch in everything u did was an amazing experience...

Only issue that i think is that it is too far from action and u do remain cut off from some of the fun..

Keep it up Team RIO...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tijucmathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback shared on trip advisor.

Durgesh too is delighted to read your feedback and the special mention of his personal touch that we all pride ourselves upon at Resort Rio!

We do hope you visit us again soon and give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is worse Hotel , the food they serve is of low category & the prices they charge are more then 7 star , the security at hotel, instead of checking for harmful articles, they are more interested in checking ur chips n vodka bottles
they wont allow u to take ur snack n bottles for consuming in room

I would never recommend anyone to go there waste of money and time useless hotel and useless peoples serving in the hotel, Its not at all worth for the money,
if u have budget to spend for this hotel, better book any other 5 star property

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time in writing your comments posted on trip advisor.

However ,our prices are not more than seven star but in comparison with all the other 5 Star hotels in Goa.

It is unfortunate when the security checks for prohibited objects while coming in the property they have to check your chips & vodka bottles that are not allowed as per our policies.

The safety of our guests and responsibility towards the tolerance level consumption of alcohol is extremely important to us.

Once again ,we thank you for staying with us.

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

As soon as we walked into the Resort Rio lobby and were met with a welcome drink and a cool towel we knew we were off to a good start!
We were walked up to our room and the room was STUNNING! Spacious and well laid out, with a balcony and full black out door, and an amazing bathroom! The only oddity was that the toilet had no privacy door.
The pool was a nice size with a swim-up bar and nice fountains. The lobby bar was nice, and the servers there were very personable and informative. They even provided us with a map and pamphlet of the local area happenings. We did not eat at the Resort Rio as the prices were high considering within 5 minutes you could walk to a restaurant and pay a fraction for the same dishes. A couple of kilometres away was a restaurant called Sai that one of our taxi drivers recommended. Sai had fantastic Goan food for a fantastic price!
Baga beach was about a 10 minute drive away from the resort through a windy back road but there is a taxi stand right outside the front steps.
My only issue with Resort Rio was with the service at the front desk. On check-in the front desk staff were cold, and failed to provide any kind of welcome or information about the hotel (ie. wifi, fitness/yoga classes, pool hours, etc) or the local area. Many of the hotel features we discovered on our own, some not until we were checking out. :( We found that anytime we approached the front desk for something we were interrupting their conversations and bothering them.
I definitely recommend staying here providing you aren't looking for beachfront. Hopefully the staff members at the front desk take a lesson from the rest of the staff on how to smile and treat their guests!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fierykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our 5 Star Deluxe Resort and for posting your valuable comments on trip advisor!

The toilets are in the bathrooms which do have doors ,however to have privacy while using the toilet one has to use the bathroom alone so that they lock the bathroom door.

With regards to the service from our front office staff ...we have made amends and you shall see the difference your feedback has made.

We await to welcoming you back soon!!

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Landed at the hotel at 9 ish in the morning, check-in was 12 ish but the reception staff made us super comfortable and allowed early checkin, they upgraded our room on realizing it was out anniversary and also presented us with a cake and wine. Coming to the hotel infra, excellent rooms, spacious, clean and super decked up. Great café, Large pool to chill out. The only missing part is hotel is not on the beach, its roughly 2 km from baga beach, hotel has shuttle to beach but only twice a day. Overall Fab. Worth it

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IVY_Hitesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Resort Rio for your anniversary and we are glad of the excellent review that you have posted on trip advisor!

We do look forward to welcoming you back again year after year for many more anniversaries at our 5 Star Deluxe Resort !

Thank you once again for your feedback !

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hotel is excellent. Would go back. The staff are very pleasant and treated us like a family. The chef Chandan Singh was amazing. He would ask us if we needed anything. The food was excellent. So much choice didn't know what to eat. The bar person Joel Kuruvachira was very helpful and friendly. The room & bathroom were clean & tidy. The reception staff (some of them) needs a little bit of more English to understand otherwise was fine. Would definitely recommend and looking forward going back some day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saroj_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our 5 Star Deluxe Resort in North Goa!!

Our Chef Chandan Singh feels highly motivated by your comments and so is Joel and the other team members that served you!

We have made a special note of your suggestions and you shall see the difference your feedback has made soon.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
0.7 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
3.1 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,477 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#5 of 69 in Candolim
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Rio

Address: | Near Baga Beach, Tambudki, Arpora 403518, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
#1 Spa Hotel in Arpora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arpora
Price Range: $96 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Resort Rio 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Rio, a five star luxury deluxe spa resort in Goa, is spread over 10 acres on the banks of the Baga River and is just a 5 minute drive from the world famous Baga Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Resort Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Rio Hotel Arpora
Resort Rio Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing