We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful and a good Hotel to Stay at;the Protea Hotel Cumberland.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Worcester
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“A wonderful and a good Hotel to Stay at;the Protea Hotel Cumberland.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The last time I was at Cumberland was in 2010, I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel and now 2013 it was even more beautifully renovated. The rooms are spotlessly clean , STAFF are awesomely friendly and helpful. I really felt like a queen. The furniture at the restaurent is so warm and welcoming to top it all their food is so lovely. Coming back to the location of the hotel, excellent; WHY?? it is closer to the train station and most of the public transport one don't have to say I dont drive. Ordinary people like me can afford to stay at this hotel and get the best service I was with my grandchildren and friends from Bermuda who also enjoyed themselves. This hotel caters for every member of the family including kids and the elderly folks. You get the relaxing feeling the minute you walk in the hotel. A home away from home. The excellent service, the warm and welcoming furniture makes it worse.
. My grandchildren are already asking me, when are we going back to visit Charl, Arie,Johan and Mr Cardoso these are the managers which befriended us as my grandson asked me why are the managers working like that when they are supposed to oversee the STAFF members? To be taken around the hotel was as if we were there for sight inspection and that felt special to us. At check out time the kids were still enjoying themselves and we sat waiting oh the beautiful smiles and service re offered makes a person want to stay more , when I go back there it will be for a holiday not a week end for it is too short moreover you do not have to go out everything is here for you to enjoy. I would like to thank the STAFF and management at Protea Hotel Cumberland.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kholiswa Doroth... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
20
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Although the Hotel doesn't seem much attractive from the outside, it is really has so much to offer once you step in. The unforgettable memories of this hotel is the excellent service from the MD and Staff.. They were genuinely friendly, energetic, professional and met all our needs during our weeks stay. The facilities such as the gym, sauna, Jacuzzi, squash court, pool and other activities offered was really awesome!! There is also a casino in the hotel for those that prefer slots. The room was clean and neat... and the beddings and towels was great!! Thank you for making out stay a pleasurable one and the greater customer service!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannerie S, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Gourie R

Thank you for the magnificent review , We are very proud of your comments and it is highly appreciated.

We take pride in our service delivery and our high quality of our cuisine and our accommodation.

We are delighted that you enjoy your stay with us.and are looking forward to receiving you again.

Have a great day

Kind regards

Egidio Cardoso
MD/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuils River, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

After 25 years we decided to go back to where it all started. To our biggest surprise as we walked in it was nothing what we have imagined it to be.So much so that our one night stay turned out to be a weekend stay. Our focus was to enjoy the hotel and not its surroundings.

The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms make you feel at home with its living space and brand new bathrooms and extremely modern decor of dark-stained wood and some of the rooms have a private jacuzzi.They have free WIFI available in the rooms and public areas.

This hotel has a leisure centre with fully equipped gym, pool, sauna, jacuzzi, pool table and tennis court. The big TV screens allowed the rugby fanatics to watch the game in a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere in the bar area. Safe and secure parking with camera surveilance and electronic remote controlled safety gate and intercom system.

Wining and dining at the hotel is traditional, home style and elegant. The restaurant is located around the pool and their prices are very reasonable. Wide variety on breakfast buffet and an a la carte menu. They had a private function on the Saturday with 300 "oumensies" that was done in poise and elegant style to make it special for the aged.

A big thank you to the management and staff for their unbelieveable hospitality and friendliness. Arrie,(the GM on duty) and Dinelle (at reception) were of great assistance.

This hotel will definitely see us again! soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannerie S, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Cheryl T

Thank you for your most valuable review concerning our Property.
Your comments are very important to us and enables us to deliver great Hospitality to our Guests
The P H Cumberland Team, are delighted with your kind comments.
The Cumberland Team always strive do deliver Great Service, Great Food and Hospitality

Have a Great Day
Egidio Cardoso
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was quite easy to find, but offers no free secure parking. Check-in was quick enough, but once you are in the secure parking area it's a very long walk back to reception or your room.
The public facilities looked okay but we didn't try it as it was quite late.
The room was pretty standard, spacious enough and well equipped. Strange to see an old fashioned key in this day and age.
Negatives were a funny rounded shape bath bottom which made showering quite hazardous, an aircon that emitted bad smells and damp issues on the walls.
My main issue with this hotel is that it's overpriced by about 40% for what it is. For the kind of money they charge one expects better.
However, all the staff were very friendly and helpfull, and the service was very good, and for that reason alone I will consider staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarmaTraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hoteom offers a lot, from tenniscourt to sauna and from (serious) swimming pool to bar to watch the sports. Interior isfine but a bit outdated. Rooms are sufficient, Bed and sanitations are very fine (comfortable and hygienic), although airco can be noisy. Personel is very friendly.
Free nternet is availabe for up to 100mb a day.

Room Tip: Ik ben er nu twe keer geweest. Ik vond de kamers 235 en verder beter dan die in de uitbouw. Reden di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at the Protea Hotel , Cumberland and really had a very relaxing time. The hotel dors not look like much from the outside. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff. We were 3 hours early and our room key was given to us. The kids are also free to roam the hotel. There are games for them to play, the kids had lots of fum in the pool. All in all friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
4.7 mi away
Fairy Glen Private Game Reserve
23.7 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aan De Doorns Guest House
Aan De Doorns Guest House
#1 of 17 in Worcester
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
19th Hole Golf Villa
19th Hole Golf Villa
#2 of 17 in Worcester
84 reviews
8.4 mi away
Rawsonville House
Rawsonville House
#3 of 6 in Rawsonville
33 reviews
506.4 mi away
Uitvlugt Guest House
Uitvlugt Guest House
#12 of 17 in Worcester
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland
Address: 2 Srockenstroom Street | City Centre, Worcester 6850, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Worcester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Cumberland - Experience the best hospitality in the Boland. The Protea Hotel Cumberland is located in the charming Boland town of Worcester, the heart of the Breede River Valley. Accommodation ranges from standard to deluxe, all fully air-conditioned, or you could spoil yourself and enjoy the luxury of the Presidential Suite. Wining and dining at the hotel is traditional, homestyle and elegant. We offer a variety of leisure facilities at the hotel, with a fully-equipped gym, pool, spa, sauna and steam bath, tennis court and a glass-backed squash court. Venture out of the hotel and explore the Kleinplasie Open Air Museum, Karoo National Botanical Gardens or the Worcester Winelands Wine Tasting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing