We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welgemoed
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is situated close to a motorway, so some rooms are noisier than others. However, the rooms are spacious and clean. They have air conditioning fitted. However, the one I had in my room was not the most efficient. Either it was too small and needed servicing. The Hotel restaurant tends to serve buffet food for dinner and breakfast. I was told that if I wanted to order a la carte, I would probably have to wait at least 45 minutes. The problem with the buffet is, if there is a large crowd in the restaurant before you, the food selection that you might want, may no longer be available.
The staff are exceedingly friendly and helpful and are a plus for the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms starting with number 150 or so, should be quieter as they are more sheltered from the motorway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Costly internet makes no sense, here or anywhere. 500mb free is nice, but then why so expensive? ISPs such as Axxess sell at R19/gb. All hotel chains ought to supply at, say, R40/gb.

That aside, food was tasty and fresh, staff cheerful and efficient, background music not too loud (mix representing diverse tastes).

Protea generally are excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Hi,
I have been going to this Protea Hotel regularly, about once a week, for coffee and/or a meal for business meetings.
I have found in the past that their service was average and very similar to every other place I'd been to, and we'd even had one or 2 below average experiences.

However, in the last week I have noticed that their service really has improved, and although not yet perfect (can't wait to rate them Excellent!) they are really trying hard. Today and yesterday, their Managers were 'on the floor' asking customers for impressions on service and even went the extra mile today with an issue we had.

Good Luck Management Team, this kind of hard work will pay off. Thanks for today's lunch and coffee :)

Nikki

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very average hotel - very noise and rooms are loacted far from the main building. I arrived late and found the staff unattentive, room was okay in that it was an upgrade well maintained exceutive suite compared to some of the others rooms I have stayed in at this establishment ..... there is better accomodation in the area, this is a last resort!

Room Tip: Ask for an excutive room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POTaylor62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siyanda D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear POTaylor62

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit to Protea Hotel Tyger Valley. Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced.

Your feedback regarding the noise coming from the highway by no means reflect the high standard of quality and service that we are usually proud to offer. I have updated your profile to always get a room away from the high way if available.

Regarding your feedback about our TEAM members in the late shift being inattentive we highly value your feedback and we have used it constructively to improve our standards

Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence. My apologies once again for the inconvenience caused and thank you for the feedback.

Kind regards
Siyanda Dlamini
General Manager
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I see many people complain about the noisy rooms. I can understand that. I stayed here before and that is why I requested, before arriving, that I wanted a room away from the highway. The rooms next to the highway can be noisy indeed. Our rooms were comfortable, clean and not too bad in general. The basin in the bathroom was leaking but we reported it when we checked out. The chef prepared a delicious special, not on the standard menu, pasta dish for us the evening before the race and it was nothing short of delicious. Thank you. Breakfast was also nice, not wow, but nice.

One thing I can still not understand of Protea Hotels though is the so-called Prokard perk of early check-in and late check out, it is always but always an issue and never a pleasure. How come the hotels are always so called "fully booked" and this perk is not available? This should also means that the rooms we booked needed to be ready at 14:00, because the people needed to vacate because the hotel was "fully booked", not so ? How come the exceptions ? I do not understand this. I also gather that that is why they state clearly "subject to availability", that is where the excuse and cover-up lies.

Room Tip: When you book a room, go through the extra trouble and request a room away from the highway - hopefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siyanda D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Douw

Thank you for providing us with great feedback and comments regarding your stay.

We definitely do try to accommodate where we can when there is a request for a room away from the highway.

With regard to the early check in and checkout, preference gets to be given to Prokard holders should availability allow.

Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence. My apologies once again for the inconvenience caused and thank you for the feedback.

Kind regards
Siyanda Dlamini
General Manager
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked at this hotel because it was advertised as centrally situated.
From the word GO, it was a disappointment:
We arrived late at night, after a long and tedious day of airports and flights - and we had to wait for 45 minutes outside our room because the electronic key did not work. This frustration continued day after day for the total 4 days we stayed there (you don't appreciate this after exhausting working days!!!).
The rooms are build almost on top of the N2 high way (only 50m away) - therefore NO chance of a good night's rest - while you have to work and be productive the next day.
The rooms and bathrooms are clean, but old and rundown.
We booked for bed & breakfast - but were charged again on departure for breakfasts (which was rather dull and plain - any coffee shop will provide a better breakfast and cheaper for that matter)
In short:
Definitely NOT a good option to stay at!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EBotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siyanda D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear EBotes

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit to Protea Hotel Tyger Valley. Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced.

Please accept our apology for the wait while we sorted out your key card. It is unacceptable that you had to wait that long to get access to your room.

Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence. My apologies once again for the inconvenience caused and thank you for the feedback.

Kind regards
Siyanda Dlamini
General Manager
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I'm in Room 169 which backs onto a 3 lane highway about 50m from my room. The room window is a standard single pane glass, and the roar of traffic in the room is really bad. I asked reception to move me to a room further away from the highway, but the hotel is full they say.
I booked for three nights, but am now planning to check out tomorrow.
Proteas are good hotels and I've had some great stays at others, but this one - never again!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeLuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siyanda D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear MikeLuana

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit to Protea Hotel Tyger Valley. Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced.

Your feedback regarding the noise from the highway by no means reflect the high standard of quality and service that we are usually proud to offer. I have updated your profile to always get a room away from the high way if available.

Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence. My apologies once again for the inconvenience caused and thank you for the feedback.

Kind regards
Siyanda Dlamini
General Manager
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgemoed
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
8.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
2.2 mi away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
3.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
1.9 mi away
Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley

Address: 278 Hendrik Verwoerd Drive | Jip de Jager off-ramp, ext 20, Welgemoed 7530, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Tygervalley)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Welgemoed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welgemoed
Price Range: $75 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley is now a full service 3 star Cape Town hotel overlooking scenic views of Table Mountain and offers unrivalled convenience and value for money. As a budget hotel in Cape Town the Protea Hotel Tyger Valley is strategically located near the airport and CBD and is tailor-made for the executive traveller. All rooms have individually controlled air-conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, 32" flat screen TVs with DVD players in all rooms and en-suite bathrooms. The hotel's new a la carte restaurant, Point of View, caters for breakfast and dinner, whilst the exclusive residents' bar and lounge is ideal for informal meetings or sundowners. Secure, individual parking bays are strategically located outside each room. Off the restaurant, situated in the park-like surrounds, is the hotel's swimming pool and sundeck. Various other sporting activities are available nearby, including golf only a few minutes away. A cozy lounge facility off the reception area offers comfortable seating and a fireplace. For the Corporate traveller, the 3 star hotel in Cape Town offers a small business centre with internet and word processing facilities. Tyger Valley Shopping Centre and Willowbridge Mall is only 5 km away from the Protea Hotel Tygervalley. Within a 5 km radius, there are more than 30 restaurants to choose from. There is a Virgin Active Gym 5 km away. Shuttle services can be arranged to all destinations at a cost to the guest. For the adventure seeker, the hotel is only 8 km from Ratanga Junction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyger Valley Hotel
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley Welgemoed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing