We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
26
41
32
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
41
32
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstyger valleymicrowave and fridgetable mountainclean roomscape townbuffet styleexcellent place to stayrooms are greathotel restaurantenjoyed my stayhot waterbusiness hotellovely hotelconference
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 124 reviews
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 17, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

The hotel was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. I was dissapointed to be charged 650 rand for a shuttle to and from the airport, I believe this charge was excessive and detracted from the value of the overall booking. I would stay again even though the hotel is slightly out of town.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank techdirBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel in late October 2008. Generally speaking it's not bad but it's a little out of town (you must have a car or hire a taxi to get into Cape Town) and it's just behind the highway. Unfortunatley it's not acoustically insulated and the traffic noise it's terrible at night.

If you do not have a car or friends that will pick you up and drop you down at the hotel like we had, I would say it's not a good choice for turistic purposes.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FTLPadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Protea hotels cover the whole range from 5 star to modest and from expensive to cheap. This one is below the middle of the range on price and ditto on facilities. Generally, I'm a Protea afficianado, but the Tyger Valley is not on my list of hotels to come back to. You need a car if you're going to be out here. The food is okay but not great. Rooms are a good size, though, and clean, and the beds are comfortable. Good views of Table Mountain, but it's quite a way away. Traffic noise is heavy. If you're a tourist and planning trips to Table Mountain and the Waterfront, you have a drive or a hefty taxi fare on your hands. The value is good, though -- I paid 480 rand per night and you can't quibble about that (if you're British, think £31).

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews