We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“plush & quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Delicieux

Cafe Delicieux
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Welgemoed
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Riebeek-West, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“plush & quirky”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was not the first time Mike & I ate at Cafe Delicieux, and we have enjoyed it every time. I love the quirkines of the interior and the plush pouffes.
The wine by the glass is a decent amount (more then 'normal') and served in a beautifully thin glass with a long stem.
The food various (so there's no reason to get bored) and is delicious, tasteful, and beautifully presented.
Service is attentive, but not overly so. All in all a most in enjoyable meal

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GPWfmPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe and Creative Food Presentation but Staff are Untrained!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The decor in this small cafe is tastefull with comfortable chairs, The menu presented is on a very basic plastic type card and not a nice menu folder as you would expect from a cafe that is trying to make a statement on decor, The staff are very mix matched in their clothes and with no nice uniforms that would do this cafe justice, The menu choice is very European style with its offerings so dont expect anything more and especially a normal type english breakfast? that would not go amiss here. The wording of the menu variety is creative and tempting which is great but what it says and what you get are two different things with my choice? It said on my choice "slow roasted tomatoes" and when this dish arrived the tomatoes were as big as Peas??
But generally the food was fine but not great! The prices at this Cafe is expensive for the meals and the owners need to readjust this area if they are to keep their customers in the future
The Waitrons are more busy gossiping in a group at the entrance to the Cafe rather than see to their customers who are seated in the Cafe that need their attention?
The Manager I assume that was present in the Cafe was ignoring his customers and not once greeted any of his customers at the tables but rather chat to a staff member.
Also goes for a guy who came out of the kitchen that I assume was the Cook/Chef In shabby chefs top and came through the cafe ignoring the customers ?
The experience at this Cafe was below average on food, service , and price but decor and seating was nice but not a Cafe that I would again go out my way to visit?
I would say that the locals would find this a nice meeting place though.
Before visiting this Cafe ensure you check the times of opening as it is only open during the day and not evenings except for Friday last checked?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
190 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“What a nice lunch”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was in the area for business and was looking for somewhere close I can go and relax and have something nice to eat. I had the goatscheese salad, which was delightfull and the baked pecan nut cheesecake was also great. What a good unexpected experience. The place is very interestingly decorated. It was very quite, so I didnt have any problems with service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mmmmm - licking my lips”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This little gem is well hidden in a small shopping centre in Welgemoed. They are only open for dinners on a Friday evening and you can choose a 2 or 3 course from the menu. Very reasonably priced for the quality of food served.

My Thai bief salad starter was great. Made with an ample portion of beef fillet, it could almost have been a main cource. I followed this with an awesome shredded choulder of lamb served on a lovely creamy rissotto and accompanied with overn roasted veg. I called the chef to the table and told him it was one of the best meals I've eating in a long time.

Service is not up to scratch whch is a great pity and was the only aspect that detracted from the meal, but the food made up for it - we'll be back...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeonvanZyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent menu and tasty food”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Excellent food prepared and served in a very pleasant venue. Staff were attentive and the restaurant was well patronised, but not full. The beef fillet I had was a work of art - I understand that presentation is a great contributor to the enjoyment of a meal and these folks have got it right!!

Other diners in our group all really enjoyed the meals and commented on the pleasant and tasty options ordered. We ended the meal with good coffee, and one comment that may be negative is the "desert menu" comprises cakes only. A small desert menu even with 3 or 4 items to choose from would have been super, but this in no ways distracted from the absolutely delightful evening we had! If the owners or managers read this - please keep on doing what you do!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterSB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Delicieux also viewed

Welgemoed, Cape Town
Welgemoed, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Delicieux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing