We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding venue! Good for 2/3 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orange-Ville Guesthouse
Ranked #58 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding venue! Good for 2/3 nights”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The venue is stunning! 25k square meters surrounded by mountains! The property is huge therefore there's space for enjoying nature. Besides it's quite safe and easy connected to Stellenbosch and Franschoek!

The bathroom could be a little bit better, considering the wonderful venue and especially the price per night! That's the only "negative" feature.

The cottage are nice and well furnished. The owners are very friendly as the dog who run around and play with all the guests :).

Highly recommended for a two-three nights stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    13
    1
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
50
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We recently spent 2 nights at Orangeville and had the most fantastic time. Reading the other reviews (in English as I don't understand german!) is a bit strange as it sounds like they stayed at a different guesthouse.we were travelling with our 9 month old baby and could not have been made to feel more welcome. We stayed in the larger room which had a second bedroom for our baby and a huge, fully equipped kitchen. The bathroom was also lovely. There is a fab braii area so we could cook for ourselves in the evening which was great. The guesthouse is set on an old fruit plantation and it's cape Dutch style is just lovely. We spent a whole day enjoying the fabulous pool and it was so quiet and peaceful. The mountains make a stunning backdrop and orangeville is a great place for sun sets and star gazing! Thank you to the Hardy and his family for a wonderful stay- can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MegGlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

The location looks idyllic in the brochure, and in fact it is beautiful - two lovely pools, good sized room with its own patio area, beautiful scenery. However, for an expensive hotel the service let it down. We asked for ideas on where to go with our young daughter and were told to visit either Franschoek or Stellenbosch - I think we could have worked that one out ourselves. In the end it was easier to go to the tourist office and find our on our own. We were charged R400 each for a very average chinese banquet -drinks extra - a small fortune in South Africa.
All in all there are better places to visit and better value.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank fussyladyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2008

As this was the last 2 nights of our honeymoon we decided to splash out on a really nice place. When we arrived the first impressions were very good, the property is in a fantastic location at the foot of a spectacular mountain, the room we stayed in was a long way from the main house and only had one other room near it. On closer inspection there were quite a few things which just weren't right with the property such as one of the sinks in the bathroom didn't drain properly, the shower door didn't close properly (so the bathroom floor gets soaked and you have to keep remembering to put shoes on to go to the toilet), the cistern didn't fill up after flushing unless you shook it, and the worst of all was the room didn't have any curtains so as soon as the sun came up we were woken by the sunlight (it did have blinds but they didn't fit the windows properly and hardly kept any light out anyway). The property advertises that it has digital satellite tv but only one German channel is available, you also have to share your lounge (and TV) with another room. The notices in the property are also only in German so if you don't speak German then I wouldn't stay here.

We left after one night and told the owners about the issues we had encountered, they knew about all of them other than the blocked sink but hadn't done anything about any of them, they even told me they had been there 2 years but were waiting until next year to replace the useless blinds.

These issues may seem small ones but when you are paying 1300 rand for a double room these standards are unacceptable.

  • Liked — Stunning views
  • Disliked — So many problems with the room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bungle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
8.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
868 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lumley's Place
Lumley's Place
#1 of 1 in Pniel
87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 112 in Stellenbosch
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Pommier Wine Estate - Country Lodge
9.2 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Stellenbosch
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
#2 of 52 in Stellenbosch
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange-Ville Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange-Ville Guesthouse

Property: Orange-Ville Guesthouse
Address: Swart Street | Banghoek Valley, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Orange-Ville Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover. Experience. Live. Africa.DISCOVER the unrivaled beauty, relaxation and luxury of a 4-Star Guest House, a place where you can escape lifes everyday trials and allow yourself to drift from one beautiful day to the next. Set in the Western Cape of South Africa, only 40 km from the “Mother City”, lies the charming and historic town of Stellenbosch. Right here, in the very heart of the Winelands, nestling in a vertile valley of tranquil vineyards, fruit plantations, national parks and extensive golf courses,Orange-Ville Guest House invites you to EXPERIENCE german hospitality in an oasis of peace and comfort. Do you need a break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life? Come LIVE a little and spend your holidays in a relaxing atmosphere and splendid surroundings. Our cozy Cottages, comfortable Chalets, and spacious Suites are all designed in a mix of European and African styles and equipped with all the necessary amenities that will make your stay a truly unforgettable experience. Mini-Bar, Air-Condition, Satellite TV, Coffee & Tea Stations and lavishly decorated bathrooms are just some of the personal touches to make you feel right at home. All rooms feature a private patio where you can enjoy a good bottle of wine while marveling at the panoramic views of the surrounding mountains. Orange-Ville Guesthouse is an ideal place to restore the body and mind, whether it’s through starting your day with our delicious homemade breakfast on the patio, taking a refreshing dip in one of our two pools, or simply going on a walk through the 20’000 square meter tropical garden. Furthermore, we invite our guests to enjoy relaxing moments in the hands of our Chinese Masseuse Dao, or to round up day of activities with a traditional South African-style Braai. We invite you …… to discover what the Cape has to offer,… to experience the magic of a Rainbow Nation,… to live and breath Africa,… at Orange-Ville Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Orange-Ville Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing