We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Majeka House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majeka House
Ranked #3 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights at Majeka House in a pool suite. The room was large and the idea of the pool suite was excellent. The furnishings and fittings were of a high quality but "funky", I mean that in a positive way. A high quality and peaceful boutique hotel. We will return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alec J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Alec J,
Thank you very much for your kind words about Majeka House.
It is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    76
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
63
297
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend at Majeka House and we both really enjoyed everything about it. Friendly professional staff, comfortable rooms, great location to explore Stellenbosch,great meals and generally a luxurious experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable but the rooms facing the semi-private pool are the best in our opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Brendan,
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Majeka House.
We appreciate your taking the time to write on Tripadvisor and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Both my husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Majeka House, everyone was very friendly, warm and accommodating. Will highly recommend to family and friends, and would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mca2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear M&C Steelman,
It is most gratifying to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back someday soon.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Both my husband and I had a wonderful stay at Majeka House and appreciated all the effort and attention to detail that is made by the owners and staff in all that they do. Everyone is very friendly, warm, welcoming and accomodating. Majeka's furnishings are luxurious and warm with an abundance of attention to detail being given within every aspect of the hotel, from entering the hotel reception to the service, bar, food, gardens, pool, rooms, laundry and cleaning. The food was delicious at every meal and beautifully presented, breakfast was an absolute treat! Even the dishes from the tapas menu are served with delicious perfection. Well done Chef and her team. The setting of Majeka is quite and tranquil, yet minutes away from the centre of Stellenbosch. The pool is magnificent. Couldn't fault anything, Thank you Majeka House for our fantastic relaxing few days and it is definitely the place to stay when in Stellenbosch. We will be back when next visiting Stellenbosch! Diane & Solly Heyns

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Diane and Solly,
It is reviews like your which really make all the work so worthwhile. Thank you very much.
I do hope that next time you visit us we do get the opportunity to have a chat with you and buy you a drink.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newlands, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just have come back from a wonderful one night stay-over kicked off with a superb dinner at Makaron Restaurant, together with friends, accompanied by perfectly chosen wines by professional sommeliere Josephine. Our suite had two (!) secluded balconies where we afterwords reviewed the evening on the loungers under the stars before finally diving into our king size bed.The area is dead quiet and so we slept deeply and undisturbed.The suite was faultlessly appointed, with a Lavazza espresso/coffee maker, a strong hairdryer, double shower (plus full bathtub!), even a laminated hang-around- your-neck jogging map of the area! All this was topped by the most sumptuous breakfast buffet (warm dishes at your order) including even a bowl of whipped cream for the smoked salmon or french pastries! Next time we will bring a little more time to enjoy the beautiful SPA as well. Thank you to all at Majeka House!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horst F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Horst,
Thank you very much for your extremely kind words. It is so appreciated.
We look forward to your next visit to Majeka House.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in early Janaury for 3 nights in a pool suite. It is located in a peaceful, tranquil setting just a few minutes from the centre of Stellenbosch. The owners are omnipresent and run a very friendly and luxurious hotel where every request and detail is attended to with applomb.

We loved the fresh, contemporary funishings which set it apart from many properties in the area. We ate twice in Makaron, which is a very special restaurant, the quality of cuisine from Chef Tanya would hold it's own with some of the very best from both South Africa and indeed the UK. The tapas lunch in the hotel bar was also a treat and quite different from the usual fayre.

Overall, a fantastic stay and we hope to visit again soon. Thank you Karine and the team for making this memorable.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, pool suite was very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spireite65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Spireite65,
Your comments are very much appreciated.
It is so motivating to Karine and I and our whole team to get feedback like this.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Majeka House on your next visit to South Africa.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsmonden
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Have been going in Majeka hs for a number of years now. The ambience is friendly and warm at the same time. All staff always have a smile for you.
The kitchen delivers tasty and surprising dishes. Chef's surprise appetiser took us all by surprise and was delicious. A sign of what was to come. Will not tell you what it was, to not spoil the surprise. The wines were a perfect match.Well done Josephine, a bubbly sommelier with a great taste and feel for what the guests like.
We were a group of 20 guests and all left the table excited and satisfied.
Many of us also stayed in the hotel. The variety of rooms enables you to choose for complete privacy with your own pool to cosy rooms with quirky deco. They are all very quiet. My hope is that the WiFi will work better when back in July....

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious in all categories. If you can, go for a suite. There are several to choose fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenriLambriex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Henri L,
I am thrilled that you enjoyed you stay with us and that you decided that your group would have dinner with us.
Comments like yours regarding your dinner really does make all our efforts worthwhile.
Point taken regarding the WiFi. We do take this very seriously and are always looking for ways to improve the connectivity.
Warm regards and we look forward to seeing you in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,824 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
868 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
5.4 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 112 in Stellenbosch
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majeka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majeka House

Property: Majeka House
Address: 26 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing