We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely trip”
Review of Majeka House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majeka House
Ranked #3 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2011

With four poster beds, beautiful bathrooms and all the luxuries you could want, the bedrooms at Majeka House are a real delight. If you add on the fabulous breakfasts, spoiling spa and gourmet dinners, you've got yourself the ideal couples escape.We had a great time!

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms are lovely, but in mid summer try to get a pool suite as the communal pool i...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Majeka House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 537 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

I'd like to take this opportunity to thank the whole Majeka House team for accomodating us on our special day. Myself & my bridal party had a great time in the spacious mountain view suite, having our make-up done, being photographed, getting dressed & enjoying a splendid room service lunch. The staff were all cheerful and efficient in handling all the various complicated logistics involved in our event; it was always a pleasure dealing with them. We certainly recommend Majeka House to anyone requesting similar good service, comfort & luxury :-)

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank BiancaMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I spent a most memorable and romantic evening at this beautiful establishment! Our room was beautiful and clean and the staff very friendly and welcoming. The restaurant, Makaron, was the highlight of our stay. We were spoilt with beautifully presented and delicious food paired with great wines.This is definitely the place to go when in need of luxury and indulgence!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee-Zanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The Majeka is a hotel with a lot of potential:
- good location, central, but quiet
- nice rooms if (see below)
- nice view from the terrasse
- competent massages in the Spa

But:

- reception personnal generally no up to sought after standard
- rooms not really clean
- toilet was not cleaned on one day and we had to get paper in late evening as it was not replenished
- restaurant is below standard compared to other venues in Stellenbosch but expensive
- staff needs training in friendliness and guest orientation
- senior management (owner??) could at least greet its guests when walking around during breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hieschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LloydMajekaHouse, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

I was most distressed to read your comments about your stay at Majeka House.

We have in the last few weeks, since reopening in mid August, been inundated with great comments about our offering.
I therefore appreciate your taking the time to write your comments as we never want to become complacent and highly value each and every comment whether it is good or bad.
We are really striving to be / become a hotel which meets our guests needs in all respects.

A meeting was immediately arranged with all the relevant persons on reading your comments and would love the opportunity of welcoming you back and have you experience the kind of stay you would have liked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I enjoyed another super stay at Majeka House in their amazing Pool Suites. It is gracious, heated and my wife and I had a romantic and relaxing stay. The nights were beginning to be chilly in the winelands, and the leaves were turning a beautiful orange and red. The Staff were welcoming, friendly and always helpful. The food was incredible and both our dinners were comparable to the best in Europe. We have stayed in the Premium rooms and in the pool suite, and the basic level of the rooms is top class. They all have their own Lavazza Coffee machines, which was a real treat for us coffee lovers.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeHip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

What a lovely place to stay! My partner and i had a stunning romantic evening away. We felt like royalty, the staff were so friendly and helpful. Our room was extremely comfortable and had everything and more that we needed. We did not have time to use the indoor pool but we will be back to try the pool and spa.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellerenaud24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Majeka House was gorgeous. I was travelling through South Africa on my honeymoon and Majeka House was everything we could have hoped for. Tasteful rooms, beautiful gardens/pool area and wonderful food. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had fantastic massages in the spa and I definitely reccomed making use of the bath and the divine moya products! The wineries in Stellenbosch are stunning and there's so many great restaraunts that we didn't get to try them all. If you can make a reservation, I definitely reccommend Rusten Vrede

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy0277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,871 reviews
3.4 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 17 in Stellenbosch
632 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
623 reviews
5.4 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majeka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $172 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing