We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big surprise”
Review of Eaglevlei

Eaglevlei
Ranked #152 of 257 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Cuisines: African, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
jeffreysbay
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Big surprise”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

A wine farm with a playpark to make kids crazy!!!!!!
Parents can sit down under trees , enjoy "good" wine ,food!
Relax and forget the kids
A great venue
Please be sure to visit if you have kids ,enjoy your glass of wine and food.
The play park is any toddler to teens dream
Nice restuarant

Helpful?
Thank Tappie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    19
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great kids play area, food very poor indeed.”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We went to Eaglevlei on a recommendation of a friend. The plus points were a wonderful play area with large inflatable castles, pools etc, it's very child friendly. The staff were great, the blonde lady on front of house could not have been more helpful. It's a very picturesque setting to visit, the views of the surrounding area are great as is the wine. However the food is a different matter, it was poor, I asked my eldest daughter if she wanted a dessert and she said only if it was better than her main course, she is 5. I think that sums up our culinary experience there, with better food this could be an incredible venue.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Titanic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

-1.5 hour wait for food in a restaurant that was 10% full
-food arrived but no cutlery
-two orders overcooked and another two so inedible they were sent back
-no-one came to follow up or replace orders that were returned
-returned orders appeared on the bill (although later removed on request)

Truly one of the worst experiences ever at a Cape Town restaurant.

A note for parents making use of the playpark - the supervision is cursory. While we were there a boy fell off a jumping castle and was taken away in an ambulance. The ambulance did seemed to be a precautionary measure and apparently the boy was told not to climb on the wall of the castle.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SaffiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great place to take your family”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We took our two children there to play on the playground, bounce in their inflatables, and have an early dinner. Staff was delightful and the food was good. The children (aged 3 and 1.5) loved playing on the equipment. It was a great way to burn some energy and finish the day.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank iamarugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Park, Florida
1 review
“worst day ever”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I had my wedding there,the worst ever omg, they realy didnt care.It was so disappionted.I guess its just a place for whites......

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eaglevlei also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Eaglevlei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing