We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“December 2013” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roosenwijn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roosenwijn Guest House
Ranked #14 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“December 2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been staying at this guest house for some years now but this will definitely be the last time. On our arrival Friday no help was offered with our luggage. The stoep infront of our bedroom door was so full of leaves that we had to close the door. There was only milk for one in the fridge. The mattress is very hard. On our arrival Saturday afternoon the stoep was still not swept, the swimming pool has so many leaves in we dont feel like swimming. There is still only milk for one. (We never used Fridays milk). Also found the lampshade tilted over....broken. Owners of this guest house will have to wake up, we are shocked that the standard has dropped tremendously.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    97
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
120
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jhb
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

you should specify that the rooms are not suitable for business men travelling. a lot of noise and no desk in room. breakfast only at 7:30, needed to be in meeting by 7 so didn't eat 4 out of 5 days..





  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pmwoodhatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I absolutely LOVE the guest house. The room was very spacious, clean, beautiful and staff was so nice and efficient. I highly recommend it and would love to come back. I was there for work and had to have my laundry done and it was done very well and quickly. The breakfast was delicious and the views from the hotel are breathtaking. I would love to come on holiday. I was there on business but it's defenitely a place where one can go with family or as a couple.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lianettdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stellenbosch is a charming and relaxing town in the center of the beautiful South African wine region - for people from the US, think Sonoma (not Napa). The Roosenwijn guest house is a lovely property, over a hundred years old and nicely preserved. It has its idiosyncrasies, which only add to the charm. Breakfast is excellent, price is right. Unreservedly positive recommendation for a relaxing couple of days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin T, Owner at Roosenwijn Guest House, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Roosenwijn Guest House. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Pierre & Karin Theron (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

It was very noisy when opening windows in the evening which my parents didnt enjoy, however service was good and we were offered to move. I was alone in a room with a 9 month old baby and we were placed upstairs (no lift) so had to carry baby and pram up and down which wasnt ideal.
I think it was very over priced

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LindaJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin T, Owner at Roosenwijn Guest House, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Roosenwijn Guest House. We would like you to know that all our guest reviews are important to us whether they are good or bad. We apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay with us. Please let us know in advance if you are travelling with an infant and we will be sure to book you into one of our ground floor rooms. Kind regards, Pierre & Karin Theron (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Beautiful Guest House. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept on, quality rooms and lovely bathroom. Would definatley come back to stay if I visit Stellenbosch again, lovely location too. We had a problem with the hot water in our room, and they quickly moved us to a new room with no hassle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin T, Owner at Roosenwijn Guest House, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Roosenwijn Guest House. It is always good to hear that our guests were happy as we continually strive to improve our rooms, amenities and service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you for choosing Roosenwijn Guest House. Kind regards, Pierre & Karin Theron (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Have stayed at Roosenwijn twice. The location is great. Very central, close to shops, major attractions and restaurants. The breakfasts are great, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Would definitely recommend this establishment to anyone wishing to stay in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin T, Owner at Roosenwijn Guest House, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Roosenwijn Guest House. We are always happy when our guests enjoy their stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Pierre and Karin Theron (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#8 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosenwijn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosenwijn Guest House

Property: Roosenwijn Guest House
Address: 14 van Riebeeck Street | P.O. Box 669, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roosenwijn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Roosenwijn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing