We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, friendly service”
Review of UMAMI Restaurant - CLOSED

UMAMI Restaurant
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ate at Umami last weekend and was pleasantly surprised. Excellent food and good wines served by knowledgable staff. Small menu only downside. Cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dillm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    14
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Booked:yes - then no”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had booked a table for 9. Some days later we received an email that they did not have room for us anymore. Very disappointing as we liked umami from last time. We suspect they let us down since we had children with us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OrjanLavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toerie, Owner at UMAMI Restaurant, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Marta made the booking for the 1st of June via e-mail on the 22nd of May, to which I confirmed.
I only realized the next day that we previously made a booking for 27 guests a week prior to her booking, which meant that we were fully booked. The big group's booking was never written down because I know the guest well. Off course I made a mistake by not writing it down. (We are very quiet this time of the year and I didn't think it necessary.)

On the 24th of May I wrote Marta a sincere apology explaining my mistake. She replied "it is a pity, But I understand" and that Umami was her first choice. Marta also asked for other suggestions, and I replied with the names of 10 other restaurants in the area and more info about them.

Marta and her family were at Umami before and enjoyed it very much, but thought that we were not really catering for children.
This is not true. We have a small kiddies menu available, and often have kids at Umami. We do have white table cloths, wine glasses set at the tables, and is seen as a fine dining restaurant by the public. But I have always welcomed children, having a 1 and 3 year old daughter myself!
I think it completely unfair to rate 1 star on Tripadvisor if Marta assumed that we didn't want her group because of kids, and this after replying that she understood our situation.
And she didn't even have dinner at Umami on said evening.

My apologies again for double booking her a week before her dinner, but disappointed in her assumption, and rating us 1 star for an honest mistake.

Toerie
Umami Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not perfect, but nice!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The food was good. This is a small place with few tables. That is good. The atmosphere is nice. We brought with us small children one evening, and this is actually not a good place for that. And the children's menu is not to great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OrjanLavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service & Food”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

i'm delayed in writing this, but remember my meal perfectly - it was very memorable.
i had a tasting menu- each dish was amazing, absolutely brilliant! Wine pairings excellent.
I highly recommend the tasting menu, as Chef's always choose best. Everything we ordered was incredible, especially The Beet Risotto. The service was by far the Best we have experienced in many years, or many countries! Thank you for enhancing our journey through SA

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mknd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
341 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had lunch here today, but this is not the first time, but it is always excellent.
This hidden away gem is a real find. I think it's mostly locals only,
so you get good value for money. The service is good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UMAMI Restaurant also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing