We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wijnhuis

Wijnhuis
Ranked #29 of 244 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Every couple of years we give Wijnhuis another try, just to give them the benefit of the doubt. But as before we left disappointed. The menu is expensive, the wines exhorbitant, the dishes uninspired, and the waiters lack training and pizzazz. Dear Wijnhuis, please invest a bit of thought into your staff. So thankful we did not foot the bill on this particular occasion. I would have felt even more done in.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    292
    125
    55
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service needs serious help!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We went to the restaurant last night for a end of the year function. It was a great night, but mostly due to the company. The service we got from our waitress and 4 other random staff members was terrible. No smiles, not thank yous, short in her speech, barely spoke English, got the food orders wrong, and then when we still tipped her more than 10%, not even a thank you.

The food was good, plating was not, sauce with the fillet tasted like nothing, meat was cooked perfectly, but in the end, all the staff needs some serious training in etiquette when it comes to dinning

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RayvdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
222 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Overpiced wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Although the Wijnhuis is an excellent spot to sample a wide range of SA wines by the glass, the wines are seriously overpiced, especially for SA consumers. The markups can not be defended given that this restaurant is located in the heart of the winelands. Apart from the expensive wine, the food is above average, setting very interesting and service average.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paarlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“will never go back !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We got there at about 5pm, not too many customers so we expectet a good meal and service.
It took way too long to order, the staff was not up to speed, prices even higher than in Cape Town.
I ordered a fillet steak with a side of greens, 300g for 160R - it´s ok but - no vegies available to go with it, only some stranges sides - one included, others up to 45R and sauce another 20-30R.
So the main checked out with over 200R!!! The meat was good, the side and sauce was not.
No plate for bread, no oil and vinegar for my side greens, no fresh pepper for the steak - come on!!!
After that we decided to skip dessert and go somewhere else for it.

Expensive and very average - will never go back!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wijnhuis, Stellenbosch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Excellent fresh seafood and local wines! - Avoid sitting above the braai though as there is lots of smoke!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee_ALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wijnhuis also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Wijnhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing