We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugarbird Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sugarbird Manor
Ranked #20 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Litchfleld County, CT
2 reviews
“I loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

There's so much to see and do, but I had a hard time dragging myself away from our heavenly room at Sugarbird Manor! We looked out over the sparkling pool, gardens, a picture-perfect Jacaranda tree, and Helderberg Mountain. So stunning and peaceful, none of it even seemed real! Inside, every detail said, "Welcome--it's time to relax." Our bedding was cozy and luxurious, and the robes were so comfortable--exactly the right weight for the climate. The towels weren't "just" towels. They were extra-large, thick, soft, all-enveloping bath sheets. The bathroom was equally oversized, with a separate soaking tub, shower, and WC as well as two sinks and an assortment of amenities.

We had plenty of windows for a refreshing cross-breeze, but we could switch to air conditioning when we wanted it. We appreciated so many other details: a flat screen TV, free (and easy!) wifi access, tea and coffee service, and tasty baked treats left for us at turndown time.

In the mornings, the cozy dining room had a tempting selection of coffee, tea, juice, yogurt, cereal, fruit, and baked goods, along with a cooked breakfast. The weather was perfect, so we ate outside.

One afternoon, Ginny, the owner, took us for a tour of the farm and we enjoyed learning about the protea flower exports and her passion for her vineyards. Then I settled into one of the many comfortable nooks around the house and peacefully read a book.

Corne was my idea of the perfect manager: always there when we needed her, but never intrusive. One morning, I was drinking coffee outside, taking in the surroundings. Corne noticed me returning to the breakfast room for a refill; five minutes later, she came outside with a fresh pot of French Press just for my table! Another morning, she overheard us say that we were driving to Cape Town. She immediately appeared with a map.

Last but not least: Sugarbird Manor residents Gabby and Nacho must be two of the friendliest cats in the world. I swear they had a radar for guests (like me) who were homesick for their own pets. Their antics kept me smiling when I needed it most!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    54
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
135
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pendock Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

The views from this hotel cannot be bettered,Our room was spotless and comfortable,the breakfast and staff were excellent.Truely a great place to stay .If in Stellenbosch do not miss this hotel it is a real gem.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farmboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Very friendly service and great dinner recommendations. We only stayed one night, but enjoyed our time. There is a nice infinity style pool with a great view on the region as well as a nice little inside garden. Rooms were small and without a view, but very clean. Breakfast was great. I'd definitely come back next time I'm in the area

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

An absolutely wonderful an charming guesthouse in one the world's most beautiful places. Make sure to get one the "better" rooms with a view towards the mountains (near the pool). Ask Corneille (sorry if your name ist spelt wrongly) for tips about the best vineyards and restaurants around the guesthouse after her amazing breakfast. There is simply no other place to stay in Stellenbosch.

Room Tip: Make sure to get one of the rooms to the front near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UliPhuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We an excellent view from the room in front of the pool. The rooms were comfortable and the house is beautiful. Breakfast was enjoyable and we had something different everyday. We also liked the fact that there were a variety of drinks in the pantry where we could get anytime. On the whole, very good value for the cost.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Syllow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Sugarbird Manor is quiet, peaceful, and amazingly beautiful! I like the views, and I also felt so good when I opened the window, I saw a green hill, and amazing vineyards everywhere, and I heard all kinds of birds' singing, .... Everything is like a dream, staying there, had made my time in SA so unforgetable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Sugarbird is a nice hotel to stay. I like especially its beautiful views, the quietness, and the personnel is very friendly, attentive and helpful. I hope next time I spent my vacation there with my family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frida X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.7 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
3.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarbird Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarbird Manor

Property: Sugarbird Manor
Address: Protea Heights | Devon Valley Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugarbird Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the picturesque Devon Valley, Sugarbird Manor is set on a tranquil 21-hectare vineyard and flower farm. With expansive views across vineyards and valleys, this beautiful farm is the perfect base to relax in total peace and quiet. Stylish guest rooms renovated in June 2016 include elegant and contemporary touches. Air-conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, WiFi, safe and tea/coffee tray. Delicious breakfast included. We also have 4 newly refurbished one bedroom cottages available. They have a kitchenette but breakfast at the main house is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Sugarbird Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing