We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Waldorf-Astoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugarbird Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sugarbird Manor
Ranked #20 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than Waldorf-Astoria”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at the Sugarbird in July 2011. At is a beautiful, clean, modern little hotel. The location is stunning, on the slopes overlooking the vineyards. It's a 5-10 minutes drive from Stellenbosch. Since Stellenbosch itself is tiny - and you most probably will drive around to visit restaurants and wine producers anyway - it's much better to stay somewhere with a view.

The rooms are decent size. If this were in NY, it would be a 5-star room. It is much better than the Waldorf-Astoria, for example.

The owner and manager are very nice, and we wish them all the best.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NN&PN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    54
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
139
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2011

This was our last stop before home and three days at The Sugarbird was the perfect wind down after an energetic week here, there and everywhere! The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful (nothing was a problem.) We had a fantastic room with a balcony (worth paying the extra). It was a treat to get back after a hard day of wine tasting and eating(!) and sit out on our balcony and take in the glorious views of the vineyards and the grounds, whilst listening to some incredible bird song...a perfect end to a day...
We sat outside for Breakfast (other guests sat inside). Cooked breakfast is available along with fresh fruit and pastries.
Stellenbosch town is only 10mins by car, but if you fancy a day off from driving there are 2-3 wine estates near by.
A very special stay, thank you Sugarbird!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cully48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My friend and I traveled to Cape town and ended our trip in the gorgeous region of Stellenbosch. We stayed at the Sugarbird Manor and wish we had booked it for more than one night. To be surrounded by proteas and vineyards is such a treat for the senses. The Sugarbird Manor is a peaceful haven with a staff that is warm and respectful. There is a combination of intimacy without intrusion here. The rooms are immaculate and the Manor tastefully decorated with great art. It is only about 25 minutes to/from the airport. I highly recommend the Sugarbird Manor.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BornToBeAGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We recently traveled to South Africa for the first time and we were looking for a reasonably priced high, quality Inn or Hotel central to Cape Town and the wine Country in the Stellenbosch vicinity. We were visiting for 2 weeks so the hotel we chose was critical for us! We found Sugarbird Manor (a Guest House with 9 rooms and beautiful common spaces loaded with great art and an infinity pool perfect for swimming laps) to be the perfect spot to enjoy our stay. I would describe it as a "boutigue Inn", very charming in a beautiful setting with Big Views and easy access to all of the sites ( easy day trips) to see in the Cape Town and surrounding area. The owner, Ginny Poval and her staff could not have been nicer and more helpful to us in planning our activities and attending to our needs. If you are thinking about visiting Cape Town, you should consider Sugarbird Manor - we loved it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjcassidy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaud
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed here in October 2010 and we loved it! Peaceful, beautiful hotel. Staff was excellent - very attentive and helpful. They suggested where we should go for winetastings and gave some good advice. We had the suite overlooking the garden and pool - very beautiful. The only negative thing about the place was that there was no heating in the room - and we were freezing! With the AC we managed to heat up a little... Also we had to take the car to all wineyards and for dinner, but that is normal anyway in South Africa so it wasnt a problem. I recommend staying here! If you are staying in the area - go for dinner at Rust en Vrede!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We wanted a base from which to explore the Stellenbosch and Franschhoek areas, and Cape Town, not too far from the airport, not a city hotel but close enough to everything. And we wanted guest facilities that would allow one to "chew the fat" in the evenings.

Sugarbird Manor turned out to have been an inspired choice, The staff were very, very friendly and helpful, with excellent advice on what to do and where to go, the breakfasts were so-o good, the rooms were spotless and comfortable and tasteful, the views across the valley and the serenity of the place out of this world, and the large lounge combined with the outdoor areas and pool made for relaxed socialising.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olaf61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We had a really great stay and everyone at SugarBird really assisted to accomodate a hectic schedule of Weddings and MTB racing! Thanks for a great (all be it short) weekend!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenVenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.5 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
557 reviews
5.5 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,708 reviews
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
359 reviews
3.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarbird Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarbird Manor

Property: Sugarbird Manor
Address: Protea Heights | Devon Valley Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugarbird Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the picturesque Devon Valley, Sugarbird Manor is set on a tranquil 21-hectare vineyard and flower farm. With expansive views across vineyards and valleys, this beautiful farm is the perfect base to relax in total peace and quiet. Stylish guest rooms renovated in June 2016 include elegant and contemporary touches. Air-conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, WiFi, safe and tea/coffee tray. Delicious breakfast included. We also have 4 newly refurbished one bedroom cottages available. They have a kitchenette but breakfast at the main house is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sugarbird Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing