We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, perfect.”
Review of Bonne Esperance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bonne Esperance
Ranked #6 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2010

I researched guest houses in Stellenbosch in detail and Bonne Esperance looked like the nicest and best value for our needs, at around R750 for a double room. We stayed during a busy time of year, and the staff were nevertheless extremely helpful. We stayed in the basic room, which was quite small, but clean and comfortable, pretty decor and all the essential facilities including a safe. We needed to do some ironing and it was no problem for the staff to show us to the laundry room. They also gave us a free wifi voucher, and said if we needed more then it'd be no problem. However, the internet speed in SA is generally poor - not their fault! The location is quite central to shops and restaurants, and the area felt safe to walk. There is ample parking in Stellenbosch anyway. If you're looking for good value and delicious wine and food, go to Madame Lafayette.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elliesophiebeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
There are newer reviews for Bonne Esperance
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 678 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2010

This is a great place to stay if you want to be able to walk to town and enjoy the wine tours. The staff is extremely helpful and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvler4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Loved this place the minute we set eyes on it. It has so much character and Stellenbosch was our favourite place in SA. Just wish we had more than two nights here. The rooms, the courtyard and the exterior ooze character and i could see myself growing old reading a book on the front porch. Breakfast was also great and the staff were very jolly and helpful. All the good restaurants are only 5 - 10 mins walk away and the walks are so enjoyable. One of the nicest towns we've ever been to. Will definitely stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chitown98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I spent one night at Bonne Esperance following a day of wine tasting in Stellenbosch and had a very pleasant experience.
Our room was the closest to reception and was light and airy and hardly any noise from other guests in spite of being close to reception.
The bed was very comfy and room amenities were sufficient (my husband paricularly liked the home made biscuits). We also had a flat screen TV with a good selection of channels.
Breakfast was really nice. There was a good choice of fruit, cereals, toast etc and then a choice of a daily special or bacon and eggs.
The location is within easy walking distance of the town centre, we had a lovely dinner at a Lebanese restaurant called Manouche on the recommendation of a friend from the area. They specialise in flat bread wraps with a huge choice of fillings which were delicious and very good value.
On the morning we checked out, the lady on reception was very helpful in booking me a doctors appointment to sort out an ear infection.
I would definately recommend Bonne Esperance for a good value central B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucywhite1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Bonne Esperance occupies a historic building close to the places of main interest in Stellenbosch, such as the University campus and shopping areas. In spite of the location, the hotel is homey and quiet. Room and common areas decor is pleasant. There is space outside to sit by the flower garden or by the pool. The staff gladly helps the travelers with practicalities. Breakfast comes with a variety of choices. Rooms have safety boxes and air-conditioning. Free wireless comes with a data limit that can expire in the middle of the night when there is nobody around to extend the data allocation, leaving you dry. There is parking on the premises that usually accommodates all of the guest cars.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Bonne Esperance makes you really feel at home: it is a beautiful, well kept and well run property right in the center of Stellenbosch. The atmosphere is rather unique, the rooms very comfortable and some of the main attractions are at a short walking distance, including the university gardens, the shopping and many restaurants. The breakfast is remarkably good and changes every day. The personnel is friendly and caring and the manager, Sandra, just outstanding. Very highly recommended for the experienced travelers, for business and vacation

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giorgio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I stayed in the cosy guest room in the loft with en suite bathroom with shower. They have great service and ficilities.

* LCD Screen Television with DSTV
* Air-conditioning
* Hospitality tray
* Mini-Bar and fridge
* Wireless Internet access
* Hairdryer
* Information Folder
* Electronic safe
* Airport shuttle service
* Off street parking
* Plunge pool
* Fireplace and lounge
* Television Lounge with DSTV
* Fax and copier
* Laundry service
* Garden
* Wine tours

Be sure to check out Bonne Esperance if you're looking for Stellenbosch accommodation or guest house in stellenbosch. http://www.bonneesperance.com/accommodation.html

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,871 reviews
3.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
622 reviews
0.7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonne Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonne Esperance

Address: 17 Van Riebeeck Street | Central Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $82 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonne Esperance 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonne Esperance is a charming Victorian Villa with wrap-around veranda, cast-iron moldings and corner-turret. The villa was originally built in 1901. The house retained the same charm and ambiance of that era but with the added luxuries of the modern age. Our 15 comfortable en suite Guest Rooms are lovingly decorated and include air-conditioning, hospitality tray, mini-bar fridge, wireless internet access, hairdryer and safe. Enjoy breakfast au Provence in our breakfast room or outside on the veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Bonne Esperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonne Esperance Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing