We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money!”
Review of Bonne Esperance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bonne Esperance
Ranked #9 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The staff was very kind and friendly. The accommodation consists of a bueatiful Victorian Mansion decorated in a charming old-style, located in a nice and quiet area close to the city center. The courtyard with a plunge pool and a well looked after garden is very nice for relaxing. Our room was spacious, clean and with a convenient access to the courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrej M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    213
    32
    4
    1
See reviews for
115
337
35
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sainte Marie, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Nice guesthouse where personal is friendly. Very nice breakfast with a lot of diversity (cereals, bread, lot of different jams, many fruits, yogourt, even fresh pancakes one day! and different choices for the salted part)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Audrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Lovely Guesthouse a few minutes walk from restaurants and shopping. Hotel staff arranged wine tour with pick-up from hotel. Excellent breakfast on verandah.
The only criticism was the lack of sufficient sun beds around the pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Relaxed environment with friendly, helpful staff and comfortable rooms. Although bathroom was very basic, it was a pleasure to stay and the breakfasts were definitely a highlight. Great service and experience overall.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TJ19642014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Well situated, well kept, quaint guest lodge with beautiful rooms which had all the necessary amenities. Would recommended it! The breakfasts on the porch were lovely and the staff extremely helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg Sa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I loved this Guest House! Eating Breakfast on the wrap-around verandah overlooking a lovely garden and watching the passers-by! It was a really genteel time. The staff were wonderful and everything ran very smoothly. I was greeted with smiles and made to feel very welcome.

Just one tip. When putting this guest house destination in the Garmin, don't use the street address, I ended up in Franschoek, same street same number, different town! Search for points of interest and put in the guest house name.

Thank you very much for looking after me so well.

Regards
Judy Lindsay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight at the start of the holiday and loved our stay here. Victorian building with a lovely courtyard, excellent breakfast and very helpful staff. Beautifully positioned to explore stellenschbosch. We ate at a small Thai cafe just down the street which was friendly and food was excellent

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
0.7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#1 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#2 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonne Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonne Esperance

Property: Bonne Esperance
Address: 17 Van Riebeeck Street | Central Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonne Esperance 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonne Esperance is a charming Victorian Villa with wrap-around veranda, cast-iron moldings and corner-turret. The villa was originally built in 1901. The house retained the same charm and ambiance of that era but with the added luxuries of the modern age. Our 15 comfortable en suite Guest Rooms are lovingly decorated and include air-conditioning, hospitality tray, mini-bar fridge, wireless internet access, hairdryer and safe. Enjoy breakfast au Provence in our breakfast room or outside on the veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Bonne Esperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonne Esperance Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing