We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming guest house”
Review of Bonne Esperance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bonne Esperance
Ranked #7 of 111 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merrimac, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming guest house”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great guest house with friendly & helpful staff, comfortable rooms, and excellent hot breakfast! The gardens/grounds were inviting and the common rooms charming. The location, between the University and town center, was perfect for us, since we were visiting my daughter who was attending the University. We also thoroughly enjoyed the wine tour arranged by the guest house with their in-house wine tour guide, Annette. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PattyD440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    216
    33
    5
    1
See reviews for
115
341
37
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Bonn Esperance. It's a lovely home that is well cared for. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was a short walk to town so easy to get around. Our only concern was that it was a little loud, easy to hear your neighbors, but this didn't affect our sleep. We would stay there again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Twar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I've been traveling SA on business the past few months in a different accommodation every week. Well, Bonne Esperance was definitely the best of the best. From the amazing warmth and hospitality to the eclectic breakfast to the homey atmosphere, this experience was bar none! Thank you:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoofarted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George , South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Bon Esp for 3 nights , the guesthouse is a beautiful Victorian house , well situated , you can walk everywhere in Stellenbosch from there, The classic room was beautifully decorated and comfortable . The breakfast was superb ! I can really recommend this guesthouse,
Rodeen Botha

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rodeen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. They accomadated me when they did not have space in a certain room. The breakfast was amazing!!!!! The room was beautiful and the bed was to die for, so comfortable!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bronnyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Thanks for a lovely stay. We will be back!
The only complaint was that there was noise from the room above us. (e.g.walking on the wooden floors) But otherwise our room was very nice and had everything we needed.
Derek and Lynn Aron

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Bonne Esperance, Stellenbosch South Africa. Our stay here was perfect: We received a warm welcome back (we have stayed several times), beautiful rooms and fittings, courtyard, close to Stellenbosch town and university, free wifi, and just the best breakfast. My husband was there for business and I for luxury and and being close to town.
Thank
you very much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stirg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
601 reviews
5.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,846 reviews
4.0 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 111 in Stellenbosch
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonne Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonne Esperance

Property: Bonne Esperance
Address: 17 Van Riebeeck Street | Central Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonne Esperance 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonne Esperance is a charming Victorian Villa with wrap-around veranda, cast-iron moldings and corner-turret. The villa was originally built in 1901. The house retained the same charm and ambiance of that era but with the added luxuries of the modern age. Our 15 comfortable en suite Guest Rooms are lovingly decorated and include air-conditioning, hospitality tray, mini-bar fridge, wireless internet access, hairdryer and safe. Enjoy breakfast au Provence in our breakfast room or outside on the veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bonne Esperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonne Esperance Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing