We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Bonne Esperance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bonne Esperance
Ranked #6 of 111 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Changchun, China
1 review
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I came for a conference in the university of stellenbosch. This hotel is in the center and easy to reach everything you need. More important is that the people is friendly and always willing to help. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ygliu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    217
    33
    5
    1
See reviews for
115
342
37
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It would be nice to consider having a breakfast box option available if guests need to leave early. Normally when breakfast is only served from 7, then you can request a take away breakfast. We completely missed our breakfast as we had to leave at 7 and kitchen staff only arrived at 7. We did request an early breakfast but were told that it was not possible.

Waterpipes in room 1 were a bit disturbing during the night.

Apart from the above small matters, we had a lovely stay and would recommend the guest house to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vroutjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good-Hope, Owner at Bonne Esperance, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Vroutjie

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am sorry about the breakfast, we always offer a "take-away" breakfast if guests depart too early for our breakfast times. I spoke to the receptionist on duty and reminded her that we always offer "take-away" breakfast and she assured me that she would prepare one in the future.

It is the first time that we received a complaint about the pipes being noisy, I will definitely look into that.

I am glad that despite these two small matters your general experience was lovely and that you would recommend our special guest house to others.

We hope to welcome you in the near future for a proper breakfast!

Kind regards
Annemien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Comfortable room, great location, ample buffet breakfast, and the bonus -- a beautiful garden, and flowers,flowers, all over the hotel. Staff are helpful and friendly. The best we have been to in Stellenbosch, and very good value for money. We will be back.

Caution: you have to climb stairs to get to some rooms, and there appears to be no wheelchair access to them.


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MillyNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Everyone that we came across on our stay was kind and welcoming and very helpful. The room was beautiful and spotless and the pool was gorgeous, surrounded in beautiful plants. The breakfast was one of the best we had in South Africa, gorgeous home made muffins, breakfast cooked to order and an excellent continental selection in addition to this. A total bonus is that the area feels really safe and we felt comfortable walking to the local bars and restaurants- our favorite restaurant from a previous visit to South Africa is DeCameron's, which is less than a five minute walk away- wonderful! The bed was very comfortable and we had a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triumph_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Bonne Esperance was our second stop on the garden route and it set a standard that was hard to beat. We loved the authenticity of the guest house and attention to detail. The gardens are charming ( and almost opposite the Botanical Gardens)
We will hope to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The best stay of our South African trip - Bonne Esperance is well located and very comfortable, with helpful and friendly staff.. The room was spacious, well equipped (even down to a jar of home-made biscuits) and scrupulously clean, and the breakfasts are superb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Bonne Esperance is a charming building inside and out with a nice wrap-around porch and well established garden. Breakfast is the standard Western / English style: continental, with fresh fruits, cheese and deli meats, but they throw in hot options as well, like fresh French toast or English Breakfast, and you can eat it on the porch outside.

The rooms are everything you expect from a quality guest house: clean, comfortable beds, good water pressure and heat. Our room was on the ground floor with a small private area outside. I highly recommend reserving one of these rooms.

The selling feature is staff: friendly, engaging, and incredibly proud of the house, town and area. They're why we will come back to Bonne Esperance, and why we went to places in Stellenbosch that the tourist pamphlets don't tell you about (like the Saturday market at Oude Libertas. Make sure you go and get the biltong).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TristanSpiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good-Hope, Owner at Bonne Esperance, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear TristanSpiere

My heart burst with pride as I read your review. It has captured the essence of what we stand for.

We want to be ambassadors for our special town and beautiful country and help guests to have a unique and unforgettable experience while staying with us.

Thank you for your compliments regarding the house, rooms and the breakfast. I cannot wait to read the review to the rest of the team. It makes all out dedication and hard work worth while.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards
Annemien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
603 reviews
5.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,853 reviews
4.0 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 111 in Stellenbosch
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonne Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonne Esperance

Property: Bonne Esperance
Address: 17 Van Riebeeck Street | Central Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonne Esperance 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonne Esperance is a charming Victorian Villa with wrap-around veranda, cast-iron moldings and corner-turret. The villa was originally built in 1901. The house retained the same charm and ambiance of that era but with the added luxuries of the modern age. Our 15 comfortable en suite Guest Rooms are lovingly decorated and include air-conditioning, hospitality tray, mini-bar fridge, wireless internet access, hairdryer and safe. Enjoy breakfast au Provence in our breakfast room or outside on the veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bonne Esperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonne Esperance Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing