We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine down”
Review of Bonne Esperance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bonne Esperance
Ranked #7 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

excellent location in Stellenbosch, friendly reception very good breakfast, Ask for a quiet room, some of the rooms are on a common area, and you can hear other guest come and go, not a big problem, but could wake you up if they don't pay attention.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stopeter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 699 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Used this B&B as a pitstop after new years. Was a pleasure to stay there. Friendly staff and excellent service. Beds good have been n bit longer, as I am a tall person and this is the first thing I pick up on.

Very good indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

we had a great stay. the staff were exellent.gave great advice and booked a couple of trips that were very enjoyable,and two great restaurants. the room was big and spacious and spotlessly clean.breakfast was good and served with a smile. it was homely and relaxed. great location for town

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Spent a night here on route to Cape Town. Comfortable rooms.Pretty gardens. Great location, within walking distance of nice restaurants and town. Good hearty breakfast.Would return if we were in the area again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanyab9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent guest-house, friendly people, clean, cozzy, nice decoration and very well maintained for a victorian house, beatifull garden, good location related to the city center - 5 minuts walking, free parking and wifi.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hi there,

We had a most enjoyable time there and enjoyed the home baked biscuits in our room as well as the superb breakfast and homely atmosphere. Friendly reception staff who informed us well on arrival re breakfast times and other facilities. Will definitely recommend it to others.

Warm wishes,
Jeanette & Matthew Lawrence

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

A very relaxing and peaceful overnight stay at Bonne Esperance. Ideally situated. Friendly and efficient staff. Comfortable rooms with aircon which was most welcome in the Stellenbosch heat. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
901 reviews
3.3 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
0.7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#4 of 115 in Stellenbosch
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonne Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonne Esperance

Address: 17 Van Riebeeck Street | Central Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $93 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonne Esperance 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonne Esperance is a charming Victorian Villa with wrap-around veranda, cast-iron moldings and corner-turret. The villa was originally built in 1901. The house retained the same charm and ambiance of that era but with the added luxuries of the modern age. Our 15 comfortable en suite Guest Rooms are lovingly decorated and include air-conditioning, hospitality tray, mini-bar fridge, wireless internet access, hairdryer and safe. Enjoy breakfast au Provence in our breakfast room or outside on the veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bonne Esperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonne Esperance Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing