We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm
Ranked #35 of 111 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We only spent 1 night at Hawksmoor, it is a beautiful old Cape Homestead with lots of history attached to it. The Manor House itself is beautiful just a pity they cannot keep it warm. Stellensbosh had a very wet cold weekend when we were there and we were expecting big roaring log fires. No such luck and when we put the heater on in the room we tripped the whole house. Otherwise very nice, rooms comfortable and staff friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    77
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
55
246
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paterson Eastern Cape
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hawksmoor is a great place to unwind and explore the winelands. This authentic cape dutch farm house is rich in history and packed with antiques. The bedrooms are luxurious and fitted with contempory bathrooms. Allan and the dogs gave us a warm welcome and he was very attentive to our needs. Sunset on the veranda sipping Hawksmoor pinotage and looking at Table Mountain in the distance was a memory to keep forever.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSafariLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times and the past weekend visiting the farm again I remember why we keep coming back. The beautiful scenery and warm welcome from friendly staff and dogs make you feel at home instantly. Daily tea with a cake that is baked in the morning is well deserved treat at tea time. Breakfast are wholesome with a variety of choice. We were booked into the green room with beautiful antique furniture and modern bathroom. They also produce very good wines, which we were able to have on our first night. I can't wait to come back next year. Thank you very much to Kirsten and her team for always making us feel special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley UK
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great rooms very spacious, stylish and comfortable we stayed in a garden room with doors open to the garden with comfy sofa looking out where we were severed fresh coffee and cake what a wonderful start to our stay.
The friendly staff and dogs make your stay special the food was amazing. We would love to stay again. It was may when we stayed so it was chilly at night and plug in radiators were supplied they struggled a bit with such a big bedroom. I would also say if you don't want to drive or pay taxi's in & out of town then it's probably not the best choice for you, but we loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annettet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

One of my favourite scenes by novelist Kurt Vonnegut is where he describes the late night bonding between an insomniac war veteran and his faithful dog, where he writes “I let him know that I like him and he lets me know that he likes me.” This simple sentiment is what I wish to express about everything at Hawksmoor House, including their two easily likeable hounds. From the first email, to the reception at the hotel, to the tour of the grand Cape Dutch style homestead, one is made to feel warmly welcomed.

I run out of superlatives during the showing of the 300-year old homestead, with its original Aga stove and Oregon pine corner kitchen cupboard. The resplendent dining room is layered with priceless antiques, with enormous double doors and windows. The lounge has a cavernous fireplace and beautifully upholstered grand chairs. There is an elegant furnished verandah at the back of the building, overlooking a long Koi pond with thick purple lavender bushes back-lit by the setting sun.

I love a property with plenty of tumbling outbuildings, which abound here at Hawksmoor House. The accommodation has been expertly integrated into the outbuildings and the original manor house, such that no new additions have been built onto the property. It is hard to choose amongst the fabulously decorated suites, but finally I settle on a stay in the old Slave Quarters, in the grey room. The grey walls are so rich they almost look blue in the sunlight which streams into the room throughout the day. Even the elaborate French country-style dressing table, wardrobe and mirrors are painted in the same grey tones. The colour is enhanced by the white borders of the tall sash windows and double doors, and the cool, creamy limestone flagged floors. The room has views over the autumn-hued vineyards, across the valley to the mountains beyond. Indeed, I like this place very well.

What I love about Hawksmoor House:
The lovely approach into the estate, towards the original Cape Dutch homestead, flanked by two equally gracious oak trees
The celebration of the historical buildings, which have been sensitively restored to be light and spacious without losing any architectural integrity
Staying on a working farm, without preciousness or sterile blandness, but full of texture and warm country hospitality
Gentle pooches which elegantly decorate the Persian carpets in the impressive dining room
Individually decorated suites with lavish style and bold use of modern colour
Conveniently located just off the N1, with easy access to Stellenbosch, Paarl, Franschhoek and Cape Town, yet with a country feel which encourages a gentle slowing down of one’s usual frenetic pace of life

Accommodation Experience
If I stay here much longer I shall be a very clean prune – I find myself entering slow time and I have one of the lengthiest, loveliest baths ever. A deep Victoria and Albert bath is set up against a tall sash window, with views across the valley to the mountains beyond. I watch the setting sun turn the mountains and skies pink, enjoying the contrast of the cool breeze from the open window with the hot water. Some guinea fowl are outside the window making their musical tuck-tucking.

Single-tasking is the new buzz word on the spiritual and psychological block – the simple act of doing one thing at a time, with mindful attention and appreciation. An antidote to the stress and hectic pace of modern life, the idea is to be fully present to each activity, using this awareness to slow us down and become more awake to life. And what better place to try out this practice than at Hawksmoor House, in the beautiful Cape winelands.

We have so little time on this earth – do we really want to spend it living a kind of half-life – never slowing enough to feel the texture of fresh food, the grass under our feet or the sun on our skin? We lose hours, days, weeks to mindless rushing or dull drudgery. Instead we are invited to participate actively in the small everyday miracles of life – the full experience of tasting a cup of tea, not gulping it down while texting and planning when to fit in the shopping. I am having the privilege of entering into this slow time at this country retreat, where time is stretching before me in delicious, sacred moments. And I highly recommend it to you, wherever you find yourself now, in this moment of time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berenice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It will be difficult to describe our experience in words, we recently got married at Hawksmoor House and to sum it up our experience was majestically. A big thank you to Kirsten and her team, they made our experience memorable and magical in every way possible, everything was perfectly executed from the catering to the service. The team were very hospitable during our stay and made us all feel part of one big family, like us our guests were in awe . All the rooms are unique and breathtaking! The house gives you a modern yet antique feel. We highly recommend staying in this 300 year old house, a piece of treasure hidden in Stellenbosch, Cape Town. We look forward to our next visit :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandmjourieh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Hawksmoor for a wedding and although we were a small group, the whole place was blocked out for us, which made it feel very intimate and more special. We felt like we were at home. Kirsten and her team are hands on, yet never invading. I think they even arrange the stunning sunsets for their guests ...! Everything is so cosy and relaxing. The views are stunning (lovely view of table mountain) and the absence of TV gives you the opportunity to switch off and relax. Hawksmoor is barely 15km from Stellenbosch, with the wine route starting virtually from your doorstep. Don't forget to try out the Hawksmoor wine while you're there.
A little piece of paradis on earth!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.8 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#19 of 111 in Stellenbosch
227 reviews
7.0 mi away
Weltevreden Estate
Weltevreden Estate
#40 of 111 in Stellenbosch
84 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hoopenburg Guest House
Hoopenburg Guest House
#33 of 111 in Stellenbosch
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#29 of 111 in Stellenbosch
215 reviews
11.1 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 111 in Stellenbosch
220 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm

Property: Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm
Address: Matjieskuil Farm, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawksmoor House is an authentic Cape Dutch retreat located on a wine farm near Stellenbosch, only 25 minutes from Cape Town. Meticulously restored and decorated with exquisite antiques and stylish contemporary touches, it occupies a stunning location overlooking Table Mountain. Hawksmoor House offers a totally unspoilt, unpolished and relaxed country home experience. If you love dogs, dirt roads, sunsets, wine by candlelight and an owl outside your window, you have found your place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksmoor House At Matjieskuil Farm Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing