We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm
Nearby Hotels
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$140
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$116
$113
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banhoek Lodge(Stellenbosch)
$167
$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,012
$946
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
286
81
26
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
81
26
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstable mountainwhite roomthe main housecape towncheese and meat platterother guestsunderfloor heatinglong tablebeautiful antique furnitureown wineold housegorgeous placehonesty barcity lifecape dutch stylelittle thingssouth africa
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 407 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Try the Hawksmoor wine and cold meat platter whilst sat on the stoop watching the sun set over Table Mountain.

Employ a guide/driver and enjoy a wine and cheese tasting afternoon. The staff are fabulous at the Hotel and if they recommend a place to visit or a restaurant take heed - you will find they were right.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPaul007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Very attractive large old farmhouse full of antiques. All bedrooms large and well appointed - some in main house and some in converted outbuildings. Spotlessly clean and comfortable with modern bathrooms - we could have done with air conditioning as it was so hot but a fan helped. Nice pool with comfortasble sunbeds and umberellas with great views. Everybody joins together at a long table outside for a delicious breakfast and afternoon tea and homemade cakes were available. We stayed in one evening and watched the sunset on the verandah dringing Hawksmoor wine and eating their meat and cheese platter which was wonderful. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, full of suggestions and recommendations for the area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NannyBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Off the beaten route R304, 1 Km of unpaved road leads you back in history of the pioner immigrants from The Netherlands.
A large, active and romantic Dutch farm and wine estate with a 300 years old main building full of old and beautiful furnitures, surrounded by a beautiful garden, fish pond and a discrete pleasant swimming pool.

Delicious and healthy breakfast is served in the veranda/patio facing the garden, the fish pond, the surrounding valley and the Cape Town Table Mountain.

We were welcomed by a charming Lady named Liza (Elizabeth), giving us a feeling of familiy; "feel free to wonder in the entire house, even with your pajamas as if at your home, use any public room you want, enjoy our wines, beverages, the public minibar as you wish, just write down your consumption, have free fruit, coffee and tea, use freely the llibrary, the swimming pool and wander around in the farm, use our free Wi-Fi or the public computer...."

Always with her smiling eyes giving you a feeling of hapiness.

Stay at this farm several days and make it a base for short reasonable drive to many wine estates and the fine restaurants, see Stelllenbosch and do not miss Hugenote Franschhoek and its fascinating wine estates, here the wine making started.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ori888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We have stayed at Hawksmoor on at least four occasions in the last few years - we even got married there last February! All in all, this is a magical place - a beautiful Cape Dutch house in the middle of vineyards and with excellent staff. What more could you want!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesPeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Hawksmoor House provided the perfect end to our honeymoon. From furnishings to service to quality of sleep, everything was excellent. Thank you Maike and team for making our experience so unforgettable.
While rooms are only assigned prior to check in, we strongly recommend all rooms in the main manor house for the complete Cape Dutch experience. We stayed in the Green Room, and regard this as the best room for its decor, space, and comfort. We recommend a minimum of three nights stay to enjoy the Hawksmoor experience. We stayed for four nights but could have easily extended our stay for additional days.
We must also praise the Hawksmoor team for being incredibly accommodating. At the end of our honeymoon we were affected by Europe's air travel chaos in Dec'10. Our flight was cancelled with the next available flight 48hours later. Hawkmoor House was due to close for those two days for staff training but manage to sort out our room and staff from a partner guest house to manage the property while we were there. We had the entire manor house for ourselves to enjoy. The experience was magical. Once again, thank you Hawksmoor Team. You have exceeded all expectations and we look forward to being back.
p.s. We also adore their German Pointers. Ooo if only we could take them with us. :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelineip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews