We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zorgvliet Country Lodge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Decided to stop by today for some wine tastings. Edward assisted us and was very welcoming and friendly. We had the cheese platters which are reasonably priced at R60. Each block of cheese is individually wrapped and plesantly served with an assortment of biscuits. I would reccommend the Sauvignon Blanc 2010.The garden setting is relaxing and atmosphere is slow paced. Also stopped at the deli which is well stocked with sweet and savoury, their picincs were well priced...unfortunately were fully booked so important to phone ahead for a reservation. Picnic prices were also okay, R355. 00 for a family of 4 including a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylercole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    22
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Zorgvliet is something else - what a place. The setting is fabulous, the restaurants are friendly with excellent food, but also - what most forget - the wines are world class. Richelle has to be the best value quality bordeaux blend in the country, and the Petit Verdot and Tannat are a joy to behold. My favourite wine farm in SA so far.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawk345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My husband and I and 2 friends spent 6 nights at Zorgvliet Lodge. An absolute treat! Crystal Schmidt and her professional staff made us feel like royalty. It has a magnificent location on the Hellshoogte pass, conveniently situated for visiting Stellenbosch town and Franschhoek . There are wonderful restaurants and delis in the area, many situated on wine farms. Although breakfast was on offer at Zorgvliet we chose to eat breakfast out. We used the spa facility at adjacent Le Pommier. The rooms in which we stayed had spectacular views over the vineyards and were luxuriously appointed and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreedSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the Lodge which is the best of the accomodation options at Zorgvliet Wine Estate. The setting of the lodge and wine estate is in one of the most beautiful valleys in the world. The rooms were luxurious and our cleaner was excellent. The views from our room and balcony were mind blowing. This review would have been 5 star but for the following: * pool was not kept looking perfect and was dirty for part of our stay * breakfast was not 5 star * no one offered to carry our bags at any point even though we would have tipped generously and really needed the help.

Members of staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was not stuffy. The lounge area was great with its books and free internet. Hopefully things are improved by new management, for the price it is not yet quite up to standard.

The Zorgvliet Suites (as described in reviews below) are located at the spa but suffer from noise from the nearby main road.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
office
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We had similar experiences to the previous reviews, no service at all, badly managed. One wonders how some people get their 5 stars. Would not recommend and would not return, glad we only stayed for 1 night. Breakfast not up to standard.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — rude staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank he1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanlieSmuts, Public Relations Manager at Zorgvliet Country Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2008
Dear he1943,

Our hospitality management division took over the management of Zorgvliet Vineyard Lodge & Spa in January 2008 and it was with great regret that we read your comment on TripAdvisor. We promise “special experiences for special people” and if your experience was one of such disappointment, something is hindering us from delivering on our brand promise.
Please assist us in rectifying any issues.
Please contact me (Hanlie Smuts) at hanlie@mvcommunications.co.za at your earliest convenience.
We would really appreciate your detailed feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Zorgvliet complex Nov 4th &
5th 2007. We were very disappointed with the experience.

We were sold and paid for "five-star luxury and elegance", what we got was more like a self-catering remote lodge.

We were in direct contact with the Hotel during the booking process but feel we were mislead by both staff and the hotel website as to the location of our room.

We booked a Zorgvliet Suite which was the most expensive room because the website map and staff presented this as the central location on the Estate and we were prepared to pay Suite prices so that we would be staying centrally. We were never informed in advance that what we had actually reserved, was a room so remote that it does not even appear on the map and it is a drive to each of the restaurants and the vineyard facilites.

When we tried to complain by phone, the phones were broken. We tried to complian in person and every reception area in the 3 seperate accomodation locations were locked up & closed.

We paid for and were looking forward to 5 star service. What we got was no room service, no shuttle service to the restaurants, no staff in our area after 5 pm and no breakfast in bed option. We asked for an iron and we were told it would be delivered the following day. None of the above falls into the 5
star category of service that the estate charges for.

When we finally got a chance to talk to someone we got very little satisfaction. We even got in our car to try and find accomodation somewhere else but everywhere we tried was full.

On the morning of checkout, we were unable to pay the balance as there were no records available. We were charged later and we never got to sign any charge slip. When we were finally driving away and glad to be leaving to catch our flight, the complex gates were locked. We had to call reception using an international mobile for someone to come and let us out.

We complained to the managment when we arrived home. They apologised and offered us a disingenous free weekend in the hotel, knowing a trip from Ireland to South Africa is not something you do regularly and would never avail of.

  • Liked — The room and view was lovely
  • Disliked — The complete lack of service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank SudinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humansdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

Zorgvliet joined the African Pride Portfolio during July 2006.It consists of 3 accommodation areas scattered over a huge area of the farm,the Banhoek Vineyard Lodge,le Pommier Country Lodge and the Zorgvliet Suites(6 suites plus honeymoon suite)As it was our 27th Wedding Anniversary,we had booked a weekend at the Zorgvliet Suites.From Cape Town Airport we had hired a car and had driven to the Zorgvliet winefarm,but had some problems finding our accommodation as there are no signs to direct one to the above accommodation.Eventually we ended up at the wine tasting were Auburn managed to telephone and then direct us to the suites.One had to leave the farm area,drive on the mainroad and take a turn marked Aluvia,le Pommiere.Our suite was called "Coot" It is very nice and spacious and had all the accruments one can think of.There is a small pool(woodendecking needs urgent attention and a spa which was fully booked with only 1 therapist on hand.We had a meal at the Herenhuis which was excellent as well as the le Pommiere restaurant which was bad.Breakfast was also at le Pommiere but really not up to 5 star standard.The wines of the estate are great.The thing we disliked the most about Zorgvliet was that the suites had been buildt right next to the highway.Noise was a constant factor and everybody driving past could look down on the pool and the areas for relaxing. Secondly one had to drive to the restaurants as they are far away from the accommodations( allthough one can walk to le Pommier from the suites during the day,there is no adequate lighting during the night time)Not altogether a bad experience,but I will not visit again.

  • Liked — scenery and the wine
  • Disliked — proximity to highway and lousy food at le Pommiere
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tokkelosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
9.9 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,795 reviews
7.5 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
863 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
0.9 mi away
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
#1 of 51 in Stellenbosch
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorgvliet Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorgvliet Country Lodge

Property: Zorgvliet Country Lodge
Address: Helshoogte Pass | Banhoek, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zorgvliet Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zorgvliet Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing