We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great service, cosy room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Grande Guest House
Ranked #47 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holland
1 review
“Great place, great service, cosy room!”
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I stayed four nights at Villa Grande and I am very enthousiastic about it. The place is great, a historic villa with all the ambiance that goes with it, and with all the modern luxuries. Breakfast at the terrace outside was phantastic. I recommend this place to anyone who wishes to visit Stellenbosch and/or make trips in the surrounding beautiful countryside!
Lodewijk van Hofwegen

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodewijk20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    16
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
36
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wooburn Green
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

All of Niel's team could not do enough to help us during our 4 night stay. Nothing was too much trouble and there was always time for a friendly chat. Niel and his team were always on hand. The rooms were spacious and clean - the bathrooms excellent.
Don't let any previous reviews put you off staying at Villa Grande.
Great value - great location - great people.
Thank you for making our stay with you a memorable and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarlee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2009

This was our third stay at Villa Grande and it will be our last. We had booked the honeymoon suite but as with our last trip, despite confirming and reconfirming our booking they had allowed another guest to stay an extra night and we arrived to find us moved to a lower room. They simply do not seem able to manage a simple room booking and confirmation system so don't be surprised if you find yourself in a different room to the one you think you booked. Compared to the previous visit (12 months before) the hotel appeared run-down with many items broken or damaged and just left in that state. It appeared that the owner simply doesn't want to spend any money on keeping the property in the condition that it was when we previously stayed there. Examples: broken window shutters with missing slats; smashed bathroom wall tiles; filthy (and we mean filthy(, stained carpets; stair lighting with most bulbs not working; bedside mirrored cabinet cracked; sunloungers with backrest broken; TV with melted surround (clearly having overheated at some point in the past). At no point during our stay were the rooms cleaned properly. In our first room we found toe-nail clippings in the bedside rugs (yuck!) and when we eventually got into the honeymoon suite the daily cleaning routine seemed to miss most of the dirt, at least in the bathroom. They also have an ant problem - not uncommon in a hot climate but when you find them crawling all over the breakfast food, in the beds (in both rooms we spent time in) and in the bathrooms then they clearly need sorting out. To top all of this off, we asked for a taxi to be booked for one evening to take us to Franschoek for a special occasion dinner, only to find that evening that they had forgotten to make the booking and we ended up having to drive ourselves.

Having seen a number of years ago what this place could be like it was like the owner had simply given up caring and was happy to carry on charging high rates for what was tired, sub-standard and dirty accommodation. We were really disappointed and would advise others to stay away until some money is spent on taking it back to what it once was.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamescsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We stayed the weekend at Villa Grande and wish we could have stayed longer. The staff was very helpful -- from making restaurant recomendations to helping hire cars when we needed to even passing messages between the different parties in our group when we went out separately. Breakfast each morning was always quite tasty, as was the chocolate and port left in our room each night. Plus the Villa Grande's location couldn't be beat--on a quiet treelined street just a few blocks walking to downtown Stellenbosch.

  • Liked — Port! No seriously the attention from the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miknam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed for one night and loved the Villa Grande. The staff was very helpful and gave terrific recommendations for dinner (Wijnhuis). Location was a quiet cul-de-sac four or five blocks from downtown. Breakfast was standard South African continental plus eggs, with a few nice extra touches.

The inn itself is beautifully decorated, with marble stairs and classic but not stuffy Tuscan furniture and fabrics. Our room was likewise nicely appointed, with a large, modern yet classic bathroom, luxe amenities and a very comfortable bed. Complimentary evening service included brandy and chocolates.

I regret we only had one night in Stellenbosch and would gladly return for another stay at the Villa Grande if we get the chance.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtraub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

After reading Ratbike's review I felt I had to write as we had the same experience. We reserved our 2 delux rooms some 9 months in advance, kept the confirmation but when we arrived one of the rooms was already taken. Not much help offered by the owner Niel so part of our group had the nice room, we had the more basic room. We even had to barter for free air-con. Apart from that though the Villa Grande was nice enough with a nice roof terrace for drinks, nice breakfast and good location to walk into town.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overall treatment by owner
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Harps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Well we weren't originally meant to be staying at the Villa Grande but the travel agent had stuffed up .. and we were lucky!! It's not a bad location and is a lovely place with friendly and attentive staff.

I thought the extra Rand for the aircon was a bit much (even though it wasn't big money I just thought it was a bit off).
Breakfast was lovely.

The roof terrace was a nice place to get away to too.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the fact you had to pay extra to use the aircon.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyagevole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.4 mi away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#11 of 16 in Stellenbosch
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#8 of 112 in Stellenbosch
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#49 of 112 in Stellenbosch
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eendracht
Eendracht
#12 of 50 in Stellenbosch
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Hoek Manor
De Hoek Manor
#37 of 112 in Stellenbosch
163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#7 of 112 in Stellenbosch
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Grande Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Grande Guest House

Property: Villa Grande Guest House
Address: 1 Keerom Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Grande Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Villa Grande Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing