We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Style in Stellenbosch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Style in Stellenbosch”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My group travelled to Stellenbosch for business, 04-08 March 2013. We were referred to Batavia because the hotel that our team stayed in previously was booked on our requested dates. Suzaan and Hanco were amazingly prompt on their responses to our request and made booking the hotel accommodations so easy. We were delighted with our stay. Batavia is a beautiful boutique hotel from a renovation a few years back. The owners have decorated the hotel quite stunningly and each room is unique. The service was fantastic and we enjoyed our breakfast each morning. Even though we had to leave quite early each morning, Suzaan happily organized early breakfasts for us and catered to our liking. The rooms are so lovely and the internet worked well! I did have an issue with the room phone. Since we are international travelers, we did not have mobile phones. It was difficult for individuals to phone us after hours given that there was no direct number to our room, and the hotel representative had to use a switch board to transfer calls, and struggled with this at times. Also, the beds were not the softest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravlerPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    64
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
179
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at Batavia for 2 nights as we toured S Africa and it was a very good choice. It is not 5 star luxury but is not priced like that, it is a nicely decorated guest-house with an authentic Cape Dutch theme, which is in tune with the key style running throughout Stellenbosch. The guest house is just off Dorp Street and very convenient for town. The Village Museum is 5 minutes walk, as is the Village Green. The service was very helpful and you will see the same staff each morning. The breakfasts were very good. The other guests were mostly S African. We would pick this one again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colsue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Batavia for 4 nights. We arrived early but our room was ready within 10 minutes, during which time we were served coffee and cakes and given local information. It is excellently located with easy access to many local restaurants. For breakfast there was choice of fruit juices, cereals, croissants, toast and preserves, ham, cheese, along with choice of cooked breakfast. The coffee was exceptional. The bedroom had separate toilet, huge shower, bath and two handbasins. The accommodation was decorated with dried flowers, ornaments and the bathroom had candles (with matches provided) to provide a relaxing atmosphere. Other comments indicate the walls are thin, but we did not hear voices or television from neighbouring rooms. Overall, an excellent stay, and we would stay again should we visit the area again.

Room Tip: All rooms looked very attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Batavia for 4 nights including new year's eve.

We arrived literally straight off the plane from Heathrow to be greeted by Suzaan who showed us to room 6 and provided us with pot of tea. From then on we were made at home.

The room was well appointed with a large bed, fridge, wifi, seating area plus a separate toilet and a full bathroom with one of the biggest and most satisfying shower we have ever experienced. There was a small sitting area just outside the door on the open landing.

Elsewhere there is a plunge pool with loungers and secure parking behind remotely controlled security gates. Breakfast is taken downstairs in the dining room. The breakfasts are good rather than great but they do set you up for the day ahead.

The Batavia is very well located and is a very short walk to the sights, cafes and restaurants. We ate at the Stellenbosch Hotel, Wijinhuis, Volkskombuis and the Big Easy. All of them were very good and come recommended.

Stellenbosch felt very safe most of the time but we felt a little uncomfortbale on new year's eve when at about 10.30 in the evening we walked along deserted streets with restaurants and cafes closed for the evening.

So would we return to the Batavia and Stellenbosch - the answer is yes - and we would to thank Suzaan and Hanco for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Another excellent stay (our fourth) in Batavia. Thank you to Suzaan and Hancock for all they did for us. An excellently run establishment in the centre of Stellenbosch. We are booked in for 2014! Rosaleen and James

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosaleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The room was advertised as a double luxuary room, only to informed that it was a twin bedroom upon arrival. This made for very uncomfortable sleeping. The rooms do not provide privacy as the walls are too thin and thus we could hear the neighbours talk and their TV playing. The breakfast left much to be desired, with a very limited variety. Space also proved to be an issue as we ended up sharing a very uncomfortable seating arrangement with strangers at our table.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllendaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Central to walk to restaurants and close enough to walk to the start of the Winelands Marathon.
Comfortable bed and beautifully furnished room. Pool area is a bit of a squash. No view from the room - just a view of a wall but with a little patio area. Very welcoming at reception.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.1 mi away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#10 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batavia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batavia Boutique Hotel

Property: Batavia Boutique Hotel
Address: 12 Louw Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Batavia Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 50 meters walk from the historic Dorp Street and village center of Stellenbosch, our award-winning boutique hotel (Best Boutique Hotel 2005, 2006, 2007 – AA Accommodation Awards; Hall of Fame 2008, 2009) offers luxurious comfort, intimate, tailor-made hospitality and is ideally located to explore the Stellenbosch village life on foot. If it is a centrally located, intimate, boutique hotel with first class service you are looking for, look no further. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Batavia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing