We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to Stay in Srellenbosch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Place to Stay in Srellenbosch”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My wife and I had very good stay at this quality hotel to start our South Africa holiday. Rooms, food and location were everything we could have asked for. Annine, Leane and Suzaan went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We will be back !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadieTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    66
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
181
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This is a very nice place in a quiet street and very close to the city center. The property is very neat and clean and the staff is extremely kind and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseJorgeSilvaFilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at Batavia for 2 nights at the end of our holiday. The overall decor of the hotel had nice touches but was a little quaint, and not for you if you like modern and trendy hotels. The only point I actively disliked was the religious reference, with crosses in the room and Christian quotes on the wall. The bathroom was great with a huge relaxing bath.

Staff were helpful. Breakfast was okay but not up to the standard of other places we had stayed. Particularly the cold selection, where they would be better off offering less choice, but making what they had much fresher, as the rolls were stale and fruit and cheese looked like it had been sitting there a good few days.

Overall a nice hotel, but some attention to less obvious details needed to make it truly 5*

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at this delightfiul hotel. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The town of Stellenbosch is pretty and safe. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance and more a short car journey away. Ideal base for exploring the wine country

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Excellent attention to detail with a five star room. Nice pool but a sun trap with little air but it was hot when we stayed. Great off road parking. No dinner served but walking distance to many restaurants. We both both felt breakfast was rushed and only between 7-9am. Stayed 2 nights and fresh towels would have been nice the second day as we had to shower often as very hot. Overall would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Well sign posted. Try and do wine routes yourself without guide offered. Didn't get the organise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feetofflames35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We spent New Year 2011/2012 at this lovely quirky boutique hotel and had a lovely time. We has the suite which had its own little garden and a wonderful decadent bathroom filled with red glass hearts, wonderful luxury toiletries and an enormous jacuzzi bath. The service was excellent and the individual touches made our brief stay special. A great base for touring Stellenbosch and the wine region. Breakfast is great but there is no restaurant - however, there are plenty of super places to eat and drink within 2 minutes.

Room Tip: We had the suite downstairs at the front which was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcevoyrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Batavia very much and can recommend it to anyone wanting a hotel out of the rush and noise of Stellenbosch! The atmosphere is relaxing and the stylish decorated rooms and living/dining area makes it an unforgettable stay. We definitely felt spoiled :-)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
616 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
603 reviews
5.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batavia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batavia Boutique Hotel

Property: Batavia Boutique Hotel
Address: 12 Louw Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Batavia Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 50 meters walk from the historic Dorp Street and village center of Stellenbosch, our award-winning boutique hotel (Best Boutique Hotel 2005, 2006, 2007 – AA Accommodation Awards; Hall of Fame 2008, 2009) offers luxurious comfort, intimate, tailor-made hospitality and is ideally located to explore the Stellenbosch village life on foot. If it is a centrally located, intimate, boutique hotel with first class service you are looking for, look no further. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Batavia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing