We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stellenbosch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mana Guest Accommodation
Ranked #43 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Cambridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Great Place to stay”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I you want to relax and be comfortable Mana is the place to be. We had a studio room which was spacious with a hall entrance and a large bathroom with superb views over the country side. Our hosts could not have been more helpful and, as other reviewers have commented, the breakfast is just superb.
The location is a little way out of Stellenbosch but the drive in is easy (once you get the hang of it). The town is really pleasant with plenty of shops and restaurants and a gentle atmosphere.and nice people. Apart from Stellenbosch many beaches, Cape Town and other places of interest are within easy driving and, of course, the vineyards are very available.
If you are thinking of a holiday in the region then Mana is the ideal

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxhunterCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2011

One word, three syllables - fab-u-lous. Stay number three at this beautiful luxury retreat hidden in the midst of undulating vineyard views in the heart of wine country. I think this may be South Africa's best kept secret for anyone of taste - wanting somewhere truly special to stay when visiting the Cape. Position and views that'll knock your socks off (tick); Huge rooms decorated and furnished with exceptional taste, plus fridge plus generous tea tray (tick); massive bathrooms with showers big enough for two (and a stand-alone roll-top bath-a-dieu if you stay in Pinotage) all complete with thick towels, bath robes and Molten Brown products (tick); private swimming pool with stunning views, shade and big comfy sunbeds (tick); breakfast cooked by amazing chef/co-owner (Jon) who is UK trained, globally influenced and uses many ingredients he's grown himself (tick); other co-owner (Heather - and also a chef) knows everything you'll ever need to know about the best places to eat, drink/taste wine, visit, shop (tick); I can't wait for trip number four.

Room Tip: If you want something romantic - go for Pinotage. If you are there for a while and would like even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Mana Guest Accommodation is an amazing place to stay. Each appartment has its own front door so you feel like you have your own little house to stay in. Inside the decoration was luxurious with a huge wet room. The best thing about this place is the views from the well tended gardens. You have breakfast on the patio looking out over the Devon Valley mountains. You get a similarly spectacular view from the pool. The breakfasts are very well presented and tasty. The host Heather was very friendly and helpful and gave very good advice about which vineyards to visit. We couldn't fault this place...simply gorgeous! Very romantic location, would be great for a honeymoon.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LouiseG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

My husband & I have stayed at Mana for the last five years, usually in February. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious. However the highlight for me is breakfast which is served on the terrace with the most incredible view of the vineyards. John is an oustanding cook and everything is perfect, his partner Heather is the gifted host. What I think makes Mana so special, is that Heather will go out of her way to give you reccomendations for restuarants, wineries and make bookings for you. It is no coincidence that many of the people you meet at Mana are repeat customers. This is a special place to unwind, eat great food and above all relax. Judy & Chris

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillipsj0792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

What a find! This was our first stay in South Africa, and the Mana B&B was a fabulous place to find. Beautiful, tasteful individual rooms which are set in the most idilic garden , with a view that will stay with us forever. A lovely swimming pool to dip in and out of when the heat got the better of us. Breakfast was served outside, the quality of which surpassed all expectation - thank you Jonathan !
Heather is a lovely host, with a wealth of local knowledge! Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judithNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

This was our second stay at mana, and it was just as good both times. The rooms are well furnished, clean and large. The breakfast is great, the pool lovely for a dip and the views and location amazing (just by j c le roux, surrounded by vineyards). Heather, the owner is very knowledgeable and helpful about which wine farm to visit and where to eat etc. It's close to stellenbosch town if and when you need to go. What else can we say, we'll definitely stay there again when we return to do more wine tasting!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2336056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

The guesthouse sits on a hillside amidst many acres of champagne vines, right across the street from JC Leroux sparkling wine vineyard. Owners John and Heather have exquisite taste. The rooms are chic, modern, warm and vibrant. They are quite large. Ours had a separate seating area, huge shower, and separate commode.

Heather serves breakfast cooked by John, in their lovely gardens with an awe-inspiring view. Heather helped us organize a driver and recommended gardens and vineyards for us to visit. We had one of the best meals I have ever had at Rust en Vrede, a short drive from the guest house. I hope to visit again soon, and highly recommend Mana!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.3 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.9 mi away
Penelope's Guesthouse
Penelope's Guesthouse
#10 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aaldering Vineyards & Wines Luxury Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
0.7 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#20 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aan-den-Weg Bed & Breakfast
Aan-den-Weg Bed & Breakfast
#83 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Guest Accommodation

Property: Mana Guest Accommodation
Address: JC Le Roux Farm | Devon Valley Road, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing