We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stables Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stables Lodge
Ranked #58 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had such a lovely short holidays over the December holidays. It is situated in a great location. Our room was clean, and welcoming. The staff were friendly, the breakfasts were good and the nice pool too. Excellent place, definitely stay there again when visit stellenbosch

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndivhuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    46
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
62
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The location of the guest house is in a lovely pretty area of Stellenbosch. We were slightly surprised with the room layout, as it was very strange with the shower, basins bath and toilet all being separated. The room itself was 'OK', quite large - we had another bedroom which we didn't need as only travelling as 2). The pool area is nice but the pool water needed maintenance after some heavy rain before we arrived. The breakfast was a a slight disappointment, it was 100% self service for tea and coffee and even toast etc. There were 2 ladies there to cook hot food but we didn't have any so I cannot comment.
The hosts we met, Fabio and Fredrico were very helpful and friendly, they recommended great vineyards to visit and we were not disappointed. Stellenbosch is a lovely town and we enjoyed the time spend there immensely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimosT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Nice stay in Stellenbosch. Unfortunately was raining when we arrived and was only there for 2 days so didn't get a lot of time to use the lovely pool. Bed was very comfortable and was quiet atmosphere. It's a very nice guest house and breakfast was nice. Has an honesty bar and seems quite safe as does Stellenbosch wherever we went.

Only negative was that hot water wasn't hot in morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstuartlee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great location in a quiet street just five minutes from the town centre. Very friendly, welcoming and secure. We were three, and the two bedrooms were fine - one with A/C and the other with a big pedestal fan - and with a bathroom and shower/wetroom. Nice little pool, and good breakfasts, too. Fabio was a super host, pointing out the best wineries and booking dinner for us in such a busy town. Happy landings with your imminent new baby, Ilaria, and thanks to you all for our happy two-night stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Stables has comfortable clean rooms, some with their own entrance. They are situated in a quiet residential area about a 5 minute drive to the centre. Very welcoming hosts and good information available regarding reataurants etc. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We only stayed in the Stables for one night. Because of our short stay we weren't able to try out all the amenities such as the pool or even their breakfast. However, we still enjoyed our short stay. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. We were most impressed with the service. We booked a room the morning we were to arrive and were immediately contacted to confirm and set up a check-in time. We were scheduled to arrive much later than their regular check-in time but they were extremely accommodating. Riccardo met us when we came and was extremely nice and helpful. Overall, great for a stay in Stellenbosch.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ast123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This past weekend myself, boyfriend, mother, father and our Jack Russell, Candy stayed over for one night. The decor and lighting make the lodge feel really cosy and warm.

Its a great B+B if you want to stay close to the central of Stellenbosch where all the lovely restaurants are situtated. Our dog felt welcome at the lodge and she had a great time there. I loved the books that was located in the common area, my boyfriend and I even played a board game while we were there. My family and I felt really comfortable and all of us enjoyed the breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.3 mi away
Orchard Lane Guest House
Orchard Lane Guest House
#62 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.4 mi away
Besigheim
Besigheim
#69 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rozendal Guest Farm
Rozendal Guest Farm
#16 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hazelwood House
Hazelwood House
#48 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orange-Ville Guesthouse
Orange-Ville Guesthouse
#55 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hoopenburg Guest House
Hoopenburg Guest House
#36 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stables Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stables Lodge

Property: The Stables Lodge
Address: 85 Jonkershoek Street | Mostertsdrift, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stables Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* ITALIAN WARM & FRIENDLY WELCOME IN STELLENBOSCH * South AfricaGuest House 
situated in an exclusive area of Stellenbosch, less than 5 minutes drive from the city centre, 'The Stables Lodge' offers panoramic views overlooking the mountains.
Accommodation in 4 comfortable rooms with en suite bathrooms, all equipped with air-conditioning-heating, coffee and tea facilities, hairdryer, radio cd players.
One self-catering unit is also available.
Enjoy a leisurely breakfast, relax in a quiet common area.
Secure parking, cosy common area, 'honesty bar' with cool drinks and snacks, internet available.
The guest house is ideally located to explore the famous wine lands and a lot of other excursions and day trips!
A beautiful atmosphere with a mix of italian & african styles make this affordable stay one to be repeated!
Italian and English spoken..German in progress! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Stables Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing