We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful setting and views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bellevue Manor Guesthouse
Ranked #74 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Meriden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting and views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lovely Dutch style thatched cottages set amoungst the vine yards of Stellenbosch. The rooms are spacious and have tea and coffee facilities, fridge, hair dryer etc all home from home comforts. The bathrooms are a victorian style, nice deep baths to relax in. Before our arrival Debbie was a great help and even arranged transport for our friends who flew in from the UK and to Spier for the day which is a great wine tasting experience. We used the braai (bbq) which is next to the pool area and we had a great night eating and drinking surrounded by the vine yards and hills of Stellenbosch. The breakfast is good and the staff are very helpful and cannot do enough for you. Next time we go back we will stay longer. Only one small concern, you can hear the road noise from the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Bellevue is one of my favorites! I've returned to South Africa twice, staying around the winelands for a month each time. I've stayed at a number of guesthouses in the area, and I have to say, Bellevue stands out from the rest for it's location and service. There's free wifi, and Debbie (the manager) goes out of her way to make sure you're relaxed and comfortable (she's also very knowledgeable about the area and recommended a wonderful winery for dinner). The hotel is right in the center of the winelands, and also close to a really great and restaurant called La Pineta (just down the road), which we just loved. The staff are super relaxed, and we had a wonderful sunset picnic on the property, sitting next to the grapes and watching the sun set on the mountains (the view is gorgeous). Thank you for two wonderful stays!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardSmith122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family and I arrived on boxing day, after a disappointing stay in Cape Town, and wondered why we didn't come sooner. The rooms are quaint and rustic, but quite charming and surrounded by vineyards. Breakfast is good, the staff are quite attentive, and we enjoyed lounging around the pool. The highway that passes by the entrance has nice wide shoulders that are great for long runs or bicycle rides, and there is an excellent mall close by. The Spier Winery and other tourist attractions are quite close. If you like dogs, they come to welcome you but make a nuisance of themselves. I would enjoy a much longer stay, and it would be perfect for a motorcycle trip since the grounds are secured by a gate that can only be accessed by guests and staff.

Room Tip: I believe they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My third time in Bellvue and I was as delighted this time as ever before. It is a peaceful haven in some of the most beautiful countryside in the world and I think that if offers great value, great location and is the perfect way to ease yourself into the whole Cape Town experience. The staff are great, the cottages are huge and extremely comfortable and the breakfast is fresh and plentiful, what more could you want. There is a pool for cooling off, dogs to play with, birdlife everywhere and views that stun. you are 5 mins by car from a huge selection of places to eat and drink, and you are safe and secure.
I have one small gripe, but this is common to loads of places, the bathrooms are bit small, but I am a big guy anyway, and the bath is completely redundant in my opinion, whip it out and make the shower bigger, but if that was all I had to complain about here I would still be a very happy visitor.
A great place, with great people in a great country, all and all what more could you want.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but ones close to the road can be a tiny bit noisy early in the working day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampala
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent 5 nights on a belated honeymoon at Bellevue manor. And we got exactly what we were seeking. Solitude, fresh air, great service, good food. The staff were very obliging to our needs and went out of their way to make us comfortable. It was great to use the baroque are every evening withe the two dogs as our companions. The residential units could do with a makeover of the bathrooms and the TV. Looked more like a computer screen but then we were not there to watch tv! Transport to and fro stellenbosch can be a challenge if you don't have your own car

Room Tip: Room 1 has the least traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorthuizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

As returning visitors we dare to book a 15 days stay at Bellevue Manor Guesthouse this February. As we expected on forehand we had a great stay. Every cottage has its own entrance, wich make your stay very private. Bellevue Manor is situated near the R44, wich can effect some traffic noise if you stay in cottages 7 and 8 (although you have the most privacy in these cottages). But from all cottages the view of the lawn, the vineyard, the pool and the Cape Dutch manor house is excellent.
And there is another plus, named space! Our 6 year old daughter could run, play and splash in the pool and noboby had any unconvenience. She turned into a little farm girl making a stroll with the dogs everyday.

The service of Debi and her staff was very helpfull after hour daughter got sick after a swimm with the pinguins at Boulders Beach. With a clean bed and a specialy made breakfast for her she was in no time a happy girl again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roanlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bellevue Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Aaawww...it warms our hearts to read comments like these. We love to hear when we have made our guests happy, that's wonderful to know, thank you for the very valuable comments, we really do appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you and your adoreable little girl back to Bellevue next time!

Warm Regards,

Debi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have stayed over the guesthouse for three days. Debbie and her staff gave us a warm welcome. The garden the BBQ (or Braai) area are very nice. Yes you can hear the road a bit, but we were not disturbed.
The location is excellent and there are plenty of nice restaurants around, the best one the in the Hidden Valley!
The rooms are comfortable and give you a more home feeling than some sterile hotel rooms. Bring some time so you enjoy the nice garden, play with the dogs or arrange your own Braai. Three days was not enough for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer2012734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellevueManor, General Manager at Bellevue Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Sven,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and booking your group to stay with us. We really appreciate it and loved your group's positive pleasant attitude whilst staying with us.

We certain hope to welcome you back on the next trip!

Warm Regards,

Debi Rossouw
GM-Bellevue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Onze Rust Guesthouse
Onze Rust Guesthouse
#61 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
0.0 mi away
Kleinbosch Lodge
Kleinbosch Lodge
#17 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Manor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Manor Guesthouse

Property: Bellevue Manor Guesthouse
Address: R44 Strand Road | Jamestown, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue Manor Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellevue Manor Guesthouse & Wellness Retreat offers country style accommodation in Stellenbosch, situated in the heart of the R44 Stellenbosch wine lands, in the Western Cape Wine Region. Bellevue is located on a boutique wine farm estate, offering Stellenbosch accommodation. Guests check in on wellness programs from all over the world, enjoying our unique MINDspa. SUITES:Eight Cape Dutch Style cottages - spacious 45sqm suites, with private lounges and patio's, overlooking breathtaking views of the mountains, vineyards, swimming pool and garden area. Our suites are all en-suite with bath & shower, air-conditioned, with heaters, fireplace, television, tea/coffee, minibar fridge, and in-room massage & beauty treatment facilities are available upon request. Most rooms have a queen size double bed plus a three-quarter bed and we can easily add a baby cot and/or extra mattress for the kids. You park your car right in front of your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bellevue Manor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing