We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done Alluvia!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alluvia Wine Estate
Ranked #101 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Free State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well done Alluvia!!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2007

I must admit I was shocked by the remarks from the two people from Cape Town. Our recent experience was a very different one. We did our booking through the internet and got a response almost immediately to confirm a booking. On our arrival we were greeted with friendliness, were taken personally to our cottage ( the same one where the obove mentioned people stayed), firewood was readily available as it was a freezing day. All the heaters and warm blankets on our beds was already turned on and the welcome was everything but cold. We had sherry and snacks on arrival and the mini fridge was stocked with the local wines. We are a family of four and the furniture (which I think is extremely cosy) was suitable for our children as the leather couches don't leave stains! The view as mentioned by everyone, is gorgeous! We were even invited to the owners house!!!!

Forgive me, but firstly I believe that dissatisfied clients should speak to the owner immediately about their dissatisfaction, he could have sorted out your grievances if he only knew. If one does and they do not respond , that would be a different story! Lucky for us we had a totally different experience! Well done Alluvia!

  • Liked — View and hospitaltiy
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerFreeState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    12
    13
    12
See reviews for
7
58
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town/Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Other than the stunning view, I can't find anything good to say about this place. From the freezing-cold house to the damp beds to the shoddy, damp fittings and the cheap "whole family to a room" style of furniture, this place screams rip-off. When we asked for wood for the fire (the grate had not been cleaned), we were told that guests are expected to bring their own firewood...An intelligence-insulting excuse for being too lazy to get it that even a 5 year old could see through. The less-than-interested receptionist did apologise to us for the fact that there was no light in the main en suite bathroom, but offerd no indication of when this might be fixed.

There is absolutely NO correlation between the advertised "exclusivity" of Alluvia and the actual product.

Yes, we booked at short-notice (having been double-booked at our other accommodation) but if they weren't able to offer us high-quality accommodation, they should either have declined our business or offered the place at a reduced rate. The over-riding impression we left with was that all these people are interested in is extracting as much money as possible from their guests while doing as little as possible to earn it. Even the snacks and drinks in the minibar are over-priced beyond all reason and a full search of the kitchen for a can-opener proved fruitless. Breakfast beginning at 8.30am isn't much use to anyone with 9am appointments either...

The view is fantastic but be aware that this is not the only accommodation on offer in the area - this entire neck of the woods is gorgeous. And those in search of retreat should take note of the fact that the accommodation is situated next to a noisy and busy road.

Perhaps if "Effluvium" didn't advertise itself as a high class retreat I wouldn't feel so let down, but there is absolutely NO value in this place. For a lot less money you can stay somewhere like the Spier wine estate where they actually do understand the concept of good quality service and recognise that paying customers do like to get something for their money.

Give Alluvia a big miss.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The whole bang-shoot was appalling.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Marthacork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stellenbosch hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

I have long been wanting to visit Alluvia, purely based on the strength of their website which I had stumbled across. It says it's luxury, it says its prime quality, blah blah blah. We made a very last-minute reservation and arrived for two nights. Next morning we checked out with alacrity.

There is one plus - the setting is lovely (although there are many lovely settings in the area).

The cottage itself is furnished with truly revolting furniture - something out of the apartheid era with nasty lacquered wooden furniture and badly marked leather couches. The floor is cheaply tiled. The outside furniture was covered in bird poo.

The night we arrived, it was extremely cold, but the fireplace grate had sweet wrappers in it and old ash and no wood. I asked for wood but was told that guests are expected to bring their own. For R850 pppn, frankly outrageous! And I suspect not even true, just lazy.

The beds in all bedrooms were very small (the smallest double I've ever seen) and extremely damp. Despite having a portable heater on all night, we still had to sleep with all our clothes on to stay vaguely warm.

Highly unwelcoming, cold, without atmosphere or style, cold, nasty and petty. An utterly vile experience.

We checked out early and checked into the Spier Hotel instead - not as expensive as Alluvia, and an absolutely fabulous experience. In fact, for a similar price elsewhere in the Winelands you really can experience true luxury, and in many cases for a lot less you can get a lot more and leave feeling happy and relaxed rather than cross and ripped-off.

My partner and I now refer to our Alluvia 'experience' as "Effluvia". Says it all.

  • Liked — Nice spot
  • Disliked — Everything other than the view.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capejanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

I'll start with the positives. The quality of the accomodation in this wine farm is second to none. Probably the best bed I have ever slept in. Also the setting is beautiful. However you WILL need a car if you are staying here seeing as it is about 5 miles outside Stellenbosch.
However I do have gripes about the accomodation. The fact that there was no door separating the bedroom from the bathroom area was strange to say the least. Also most of the sattelite TV channels did not work.

However the worst thing about this wine farm is the staff. The initial greeting by the owner was not at all friendly. Overall the running of the place was very disorganised. Our taxi which they booked to take us to the farm from Cape Town turned up 3 hours early and left the poor driver hanging around! We got a call a week after we left there wondering why we hadn't paid when we checked out that morning even though we'd been gone from there for a week. They mixed us up with other guests and were quite nasty on the phone demanding money even though we didn't. They also forced us to pay for a taxi we had booked and cancelled hours before we needed it. Also we booked spa treatments while there (which was something we were really looking forward to) only to turn up at the spa to be told they were booked out.

Overall this is a beautful place with beautiful 5* accomodation but I would not return here due to the disorganised manner in which it is run. There are plenty of other equally beautiful wine farms in the area offering accomodation so I would try one of those instead.

  • Liked — The quality of the accomodation
  • Disliked — The disorganistion!
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you get a receipt when you leave. Bring a car!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank radar0976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.5 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
7.5 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
868 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 112 in Stellenbosch
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
0.5 mi away
Le Pommier Wine Estate - Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alluvia Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alluvia Wine Estate

Property: Alluvia Wine Estate
Address: Glen Arum Road | Helshoogte Pass, Stellenbosch 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alluvia Wine Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a working wine estate in the heart of the Stellenbosch Winelands, lies a unique cult wine producer called Alluvia Specialist Winery.Alluvia’s award winning wine estate and its luxury accommodation provides a match made in heaven, which we simply describe as “the vineyard lifestyle”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Alluvia Wine Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alluvia Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing