We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting”
Review of De Zalze Golf Club

De Zalze Golf Club
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Attraction details
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Winding it's way through the Kleine Zalze wine estate with the beautiful Stellenbosch mountains as a backdrop, the course didn't disappoint with a variety of challenging, but playable holes with water a feature on a few. So even if your golf isn't great this is one walk that won't be spolit if you can content yourself with the stunning views and the beautiful weaver birds.

At the end of your round you can enjoy a drink on the clubhouse terrace which offers a wonderful view over the course to the mountains beyond.

Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeZalzeSilverFox, General Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Brian
Thanks for reviewing our golf course after your very recent visit. With the weather still struggling to decide whether it's still winter or spring, it looks like you may have found a gap for your golf! We live in one of the most beautiful valleys and share your enthusiasm for the scenery and the natural surroundings. We hope to see you again soon and look forward to meeting you. Many Thanks, Dave Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pro shop"
in 8 reviews
"great holes"
in 4 reviews
"challenging holes"
in 3 reviews
"caddy master"
in 3 reviews
"halfway house"
in 4 reviews
"ground staff"
in 2 reviews
"spectacular setting"
in 2 reviews
"surrounding mountains"
in 3 reviews
"clubhouse"
in 24 reviews
"fairways"
in 6 reviews
"caddies"
in 4 reviews
"marshalls"
in 3 reviews
"estate"
in 9 reviews
"backdrop"
in 3 reviews
"winelands"
in 6 reviews
"sa"
in 6 reviews
"restaurant"
in 8 reviews
Filter

79 - 83 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have played this course before it opened and I saw it's transformation over the years into the golfing housing estate which it is today. While not Matko's best layout, it fits in beautifully with it's surroundings of the Stellenbosch mountains and the rivulet of the Blaauwklip.While the course struggles with heavy winter rains, as do many in the Cape, it is generally well maintained and the greens remain in very good nick.
The club house and the watering hole of the 19th are stunning and have been vastly improved over the years. This course measures up very favourably with most of the others in it's league.

Thank Horst B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeZalzeSilverFox, General Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Horst,
Thanks so much for your review of De Zalze. The estate has blossomed into one of the top golf real estates in SA, whilst at the same time retaining that special 'natural' feel that Matko is famous for. We have worked hard to improve the golf experience and the facilities and we have also vastly improved the course conditioning through attention to detail. We look forward to welcoming you again for a round of golf and a chilled glass of superb Cape wine or lunch on our 19th terrace overlooking the fabulous scenery. Kind regards Ps! we have had the wettest winter in over 10 years!
Dave Hansen
Ps! we have had the wettest winter in over 10 years - but the warm spring is here already!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a spectacular setting setting for a golf course.. so much so, it might put you off your game mid swing!

Thank Greatest A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thanks for enjoying De Zalze with us. The views blow us away day by day, season by season. Hope to welcome you again soon, Tks Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is a beautiful place to play a game of golf and watch the beautiful surroundings...truly a marvellous experience!

Thank emerina_bakkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeZalzeSilverFox, General Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you very much for the kind posting. We are committed to improving the De Zalze 'experience' in every aspect and look forward to your next visit, Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The clubhouse is superb, library, fireplace, halfway house and bar all in one room! The golf course layout is very enjoyable, a stunning test of golf for the good golfer and a pleasant afternoon for the holiday maker. Very well maintained.

Thank Kalvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeZalzeSilverFox, General Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Thank you for your feedback we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Zalze Golf Club also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to De Zalze Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing