We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing and a well managed place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Beautiful South Guest House
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing and a well managed place to stay”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We stayed here for two nights with my family group of 8. We all loved it. The house has real character and the pool and breakfast areas are so relaxing. The breakfast was good with "catch of the day" specials which was a nice touch. Peter and Alana ( sorry we missed you Katarina) were really really helpful and arranged restaurants, wine tours and recommended a safari etc which was magical and made our first stop in South africa such a fantastic experience. Thank you and all of your staff. Mike, Val & family

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSmith60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    42
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
89
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed for three nights at The Beautiful South. All staff was very friendly. The room is very Austin Powers, which is fun. We found it clean albeit a bit too small with hardly any space to hang cloth. As far as I know there are other rooms to choose from if you have to spend much time in the room. The bed was comfy. The breakfast was delicious, a cute idea is the catch of the day option. Ticked all boxes. We just got back and would stay again and recommend the Beautiful South to everyone who is after a sunny and cheerful place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelsFromAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Very friendly staff, large pool and spotless rooms.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bitten_Plesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

The Beautiful South (or TBS as it seems to be known) is a really nice place. Work and holidays for the past few years have spolit me a big and I've ended up in some amazing hotels and the thought of a guest house filled me with a little bit of concern - but it was totally misplaced! From the moment we arrived the place could not have been better - the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (I can't remember the lady's name (sorry...) but she pointed us in the right direction on food, drink and sights to see.

The rooms (I had the Austin Powers suite, beat that Marriott!) was comfortable, clean and just a little bit psychadelic - breakfast I missed owing to an overdose of the vineyards - but in the evening sitting by the pool drinking fantastic wines and eating the cheeseboards (both readily available in the honour bar) it was perfect.

The location is great for the centre, it's only a 20 minute stroll or a 5 minute car journey and Stellenbosch itself was a really good place to be and chill out for a few days.

Would definately stay there again. It was fun :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daifly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The guesthouse has been furnished very stylish. The rooms are small but comfortable. The house is located in a nice and friendly residential side, within (safe) walking distance (10 min) of the historic town center and the university.
The guesthouse is very well situated for visiting the wine estates of Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl.
The team at the guesthouse makes you feel welcome and is very helpful to provide a great stay in Stellenbosch. Having breakfast together with the other guests at a big table in the breakfast room, made it very easy to talk with the other guests and have interesting conversations with people from all over the world. Visiting the Township was very impressive. Altogether: a good place to stay and to return to.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goja_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The Beautiful South is a pleasant guest-house, located close to the centre of Stellenbosch, and acts as a convenient base to explore local wine reserves. We stayed in an african room overlooking the lovely swimming pool. Our room was clean and the bed comfy. Alana was very helpful in informing us about local facilities, wine reserves, and places to eat.

Breakfast was very refreshing as there was a good variety that was offered, with a different choice of food each morning. It was lovely to share breakfast around a communal table and chat with other guests.

There was a good lounge facility available, with a mini-bar and tea and coffee making facilities. We missed having tea and coffee in our room, but it was not far to walk to the lounge area.

Overall a clean and pleasant guest house.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomivictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

The Beautiful South is...well...beautiful. From the lovely, bright breakfast area to the gorgeous pool (which, sadly, we didn't make use of as we had too many other things to do) and the spacious, comfortable room (the Umdeni Suite), every part of this guest house is really lovely. Hosts Peter and Katarina were friendly and extremely helpful, giving us lots of advice for trips and restaurant locations, and all other members of staff we met were also very friendly and cheerful. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful and always served with a smile.

While the guest house is not far from the centre of Stellenbosch, and the 15 minute walk is very nice during the day, it wasn't so enjoyable when the temperature dropped at night, but it's an easy enough drive if you don't mind missing out on the area's famous wines!

Apart from the location, the only (very slight) downsides were that the room was very cold at night - we had a heater but it was in the bedroom, meaning the bathroom was freezing. And the blinds in the bedroom didn't seem to work very well (this may have been user error!) meaning that as soon as it started to get light, I woke up. Not a problem if you're a heavy sleeper, mind you.

All in all, though, The Beautiful South was a great place to stay and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuldReekieLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
826 reviews
6.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beautiful South Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beautiful South Guest House

Property: The Beautiful South Guest House
Address: 4 Hospitaal Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beautiful South Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house is a thatched jewel, centrally located but quiet, right in the heart of the university area. Surrounded by old trees and flowers, you find it with a dreamy garden and a big pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Beautiful South Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beautiful South Hotel Stellenbosch
Beautiful South Stellenbosch
Beautiful South Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing