We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerwood Guest House
Ranked #9 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2007

This is the sixth time I have stayed at Summerwood; it is outstanding in every respect with great attention to detail. The decor in the rooms is lovely, the service is excellent; the staff are courteous, friendly, and make the visit memorable every time. The rooms are lovely, modern, spacious, spotless and well appointed. The facilities give the feeling of being in a small stately home. I will return and can thoroughly recommend a truly outstanding residence.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank British-traveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 352 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2007

We have just returned from a two night stay at summerwood and would recommend it most highly if you wish to stay in Stellenbosch. We had visited SA before ,staying in guest houses ,so we were able to compare with past experiences. (we found Greenwoods guide a most useful reference) From our initial correspondence by email to our departure we had excellent service. Our room was spacious and tastfully decorated and easily accommodated ourselves and 8 year old daughter. The breakfast was delicious and served on a patio overlooking the pool and wonderful gardens.
Best of all though - the staff . So helpful without being 'in your face' and happy to book restaurants , suggest wine tastings etc.
So we really couldn't fault it and would stay there again if in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Steve-and-jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

This was our third visit to Stellenbosch and staying at Summerwood was definitely third time lucky.

Summerwood is a lovely proprty standing in its own immaculately tended grounds, which include a well-sized swimming pool. It is situated less than tem minutes by car from the centre of Stellenbosch with its many delightful restaurants and shops. Twenty minutes in the opposite direction finds you in the Joenkershoek Nature reserve, ideal for mountain biking and walking, or in one of the many vinyards at the start of the Winelands,delicious winesand gourmet food.

Our accomodation was superb - spacious and beautifully presented.
Most of all though Summerwood is about people. Every member of staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant but it is when you meet Ann, the owner, that the source of this standard becomes apparent. Ann is vivacious, gregarious but has a rare eye for attention to detail. She sees it as her personal mission to ensure you enjoy every second in Stellenbosch and is a fount of information and help. We have been fortunate in our trips to have stayed at some award winning establishments but Summerwood been the best.
Six stars.!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrogateVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dunblane, Scotland
11
Reviewed April 24, 2006

We stayed in Summerwood and cannot recommend it enough.Beautifull rooms and the hostess Annaleise was charming and knowledgeable pointing us in the direction of the best places to go.She went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable booking restuarants etc for us.Lovely house with swimming pool highly recommended. We will return next year.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank reesle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rainer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Andreas-Freytag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,907 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
1.4 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
447 reviews
3.3 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerwood Guest House

Address: 28 Jonkershoek Street | Mostertsdrif, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly Summerwood Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $109 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for that rare blend of contemporary comfort and old-fashioned hospitality, Summerwood Guesthouse is the perfect base from which to explore the soulful town of Stellenbosch and surrounding winelands. This late-Edwardian grand dame was built in 1904 and has since been creatively renovated to cater for the cosmopolitan tastes of the modern traveller. With its large swimming pool and location in a leafy suburb of Stellenbosch, Summerwood has become the go-to choice for visitors looking for something less formal than a hotel, but more luxurious than your run-of-the-mill guesthouse. The eight spacious rooms boast upmarket finishes and are tastefully decorated in neutral tones, while nice extras like bicycles with which to explore the charming town, air-conditioning, free WiFi, and secure off-street parking make it hard to compete with Summerwood in terms of value for money. This family-run guesthouse is a lush haven for the sophisticated traveller that seamlessly integrates the privacy and comfort of a guesthouse with the professionalism of friendly, efficient service. Summerwood Guesthouse offers bed and breakfast: 8 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Summerwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing