We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerwood Guest House
Ranked #7 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Spent two nights with Ann, Anneline and staff at Summerwood on our honeymoon - absolutely AMAZING old house with massive rooms, superb breakfasts and attention to details...It's the smallest things that makes the difference!!!

Willingness to go above and beyond and made us feel right at home!

Thank you so much for everything!

We WILL be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Summerwood Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 349 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2010

Everything at this guest house was positive – good location, secure, immaculately clean, the room spacious and the breakfast first-class. What really stood out for me however was the courtesy, and professionalism of the staff who all made us feel so welcome and at ease. Other service-driven businesses could learn a lot from who ever manages staff training at Summerwood Guest House!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We started our holiday along the Garden Route at Summerwood. The only thing we can say about the hotel is it is a masterclass in running a small boutique hotel. The booking system is seamless. We asked for a pick up from the airport and easily found the driver waiting for us. The house is beautiful and our room was lovely. Ann and her team are so friendly and the perfect hosts. All the staff are very knowledgeable with regard to where to eat and what to visit in the region. They will also give advice on other locations to stay on your journey. You are totally spoilt for choice with regard to restaurants and Stellenboch is very pretty with lots of good shops. We felt completely safe and quite happy to walk into town from our hotel. The wine tasting tour that the hotel booked for us was excellent and the guide very knowledgeable. They serve delicious breakfasts looking out onto the pool and lovely secluded garden. The hotel, pool, rooms and garden are all immaculate. We would highly recommend the hotel to friends and family. All we can say is thank you for the best start to our holiday in South Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarkesSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights arriving on Christmas day and we were made to feel so welcome. Our room was lovely, beautifully furnished and very clean.
All the staff were so friendly and helpful and breakfast was delicious. We will definitely come again !

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whirlwind5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We only stayed two nights here during our stay in South Africa and my only regret about the whole holiday is that I'd like to have stayed here longer. It's a beautiful spot, quiet, relaxed, extremely tranquil but not far from the centre of Stellenbosch where you can eat, drink and party so it's not just for the oldies! We arrived after 8 days in Cape Town on our honeymoon and it was just perfect. We were allocated an amazing room with a veranda and were greeted with a complimentary bottle of fizz which is always lovely :)

The staff couldn't do enough for us and we spent our first day relaxing by the lovely pool being brought cool ice tea. The feeling is of somewhere very refined and classic, as opposed to ultra modern, but it really is very comfortable and relaxing. The staff then arranged for a half day wine tour when we asked, and also a picnic at the nearby Warwick wine estate in the afternoon. We were collected in the morning for our tour and had the most wonderful day - the winelands are amazing - and it all ran so smoothly thanks to the staff's help. Nothing was pre-arranged, they did this all on a Friday afternoon for us.

I would recommend this mainly for couples or small groups of friends looking to chill out, but it would suit any age group. The only downside about the stay in Stellenbosch is a real lack of taxis - if you walk the 10 or 15 minutes into the centre of town, be prepared to walk home again afterwards!

A real honeymoon moment for us and comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKateG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Summerwood is a beautiful hotel with excellent service and both the house and garden are immaculately maintained.
All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful - nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms are gorgeously designed with all the little extra touches that make the difference. (e.g.sweets, port) This was the cleanest swimming pool of any of the 11 places we stayed in South Africa - it was sparkling!
It is walkable to town but our advice would be take a cab as they are cheap and easy to get.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farnhogals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Simply Wonderfull. They are so nice. It was an unforgetable experience.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank maalno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.9 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
399 reviews
6.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
446 reviews
3.3 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#6 of 113 in Stellenbosch
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerwood Guest House

Address: 28 Jonkershoek Street | Mostertsdrif, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly Summerwood Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $112 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for that rare blend of contemporary comfort and old-fashioned hospitality, Summerwood Guesthouse is the perfect base from which to explore the soulful town of Stellenbosch and surrounding winelands. This late-Edwardian grand dame was built in 1904 and has since been creatively renovated to cater for the cosmopolitan tastes of the modern traveller. With its large swimming pool and location in a leafy suburb of Stellenbosch, Summerwood has become the go-to choice for visitors looking for something less formal than a hotel, but more luxurious than your run-of-the-mill guesthouse. The eight spacious rooms boast upmarket finishes and are tastefully decorated in neutral tones, while nice extras like bicycles with which to explore the charming town, air-conditioning, free WiFi, and secure off-street parking make it hard to compete with Summerwood in terms of value for money. This family-run guesthouse is a lush haven for the sophisticated traveller that seamlessly integrates the privacy and comfort of a guesthouse with the professionalism of friendly, efficient service. Summerwood Guesthouse offers bed and breakfast: 8 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Summerwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing