We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful spot in Stellenbosch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerwood Guest House
Ranked #5 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful spot in Stellenbosch”
Reviewed March 30, 2009

My family and I stayed at Summerwood for two nights (in two rooms) in the course of a two week trip in South Africa. The service was friendly, the breakfasts were excellent, the rooms were excellent and the location was perfect. We could walk or drive into the city centre and were near the university as well as the nature reserve. It was a good location for jogging too.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkyMarkinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    45
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
227
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary in a romantic setting and stumbled across this little gem recommended by one of your reviewers. We received a very warm welcome by the staff and owner at Summerwood Guest House and were pampered throughout our stay. At Summerwood they have found the right balance in the way of always being there when you need some advice for where to go or what to do in the area, without being intrusive. We had lots of fun and felt right at home from the moment we arrived. 16th, 17th, 18th, .... 40th wedding anniversary here we come!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyagersolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2009

Tripadvisor reviews helped us deciding to stay at Summerwood. Like the other guests before us, we were enchanted by the exceptional service provided by Ann and her team. Immaculate rooms, luxurious bedding and divine breakfasts just did it for us. Ann's eagerness to help, without being imposing, made such a difference. She managed to get us tables at the finest restaurants, got us tee-off times that we wanted at select golf clubs and booked us at the best Spa's in town. We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We chose Summerwood for its excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and were delighted to find that it actually exceeded our expectations (which were very high!). It is a beautiful building in a glorious garden setting. The room we had was large with an extremely comfortable king bed and fantastic bathroom. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful - nothing was too much for them. Breakfast is taken on the veranda overlooking the large swimming pool and is wonderful. You could actually have a fantastic time staying in the garden all day and relaxing or enjoying all the reading material in the sumptuous lounge but the city is a short walk away for sightseeing and many of the excellent wineries are an easy drive. Summerwood is a perfect choice to stay in Stellenbosch and we will certainly return and stay longer next time!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2008

A nice stay in a well regarded property. We were well taken care of and enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful in making arrangements for meals and excursions. They were polite and well-versed in the things to do in and around Stellenbosch.

The structure is older but well taken care of. Some updating of fixtures and conversion to single, en-suite rooms has compromised the charm of the original layout. But it works.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Arrangement and quality of bathroon fixtures
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CasaLaguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey, usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

"Someplace truly special" is how our travel agent described Summerwood - and was he absolutely correct! From the moment my wife and I arrived and parked in the courtyard, when Ann (the owner) met us outside and then proceeded to help us take our luggage to our room, we both knew this was a really good choice. We stayed in the guesthouse adjacent to the main property and the room was wonderful - really spacious with vaulted ceilings and tastefully decorated and both a shower and soaking tub to boot. My wife dubbed it our honeymoon suite for two nights.

It's hard to say more than all of the accolades given by other guests in their reviews (they're all true by the way), but what really stands out for us are two things. First, the entire staff was always friendly and sincere, greeted us everyday with smiles and were always more than willing to help out with any questions about restaurants, wineries or the like, or even just take the time to chat with us. It seemed as if they all felt they had a personal stake in making sure we were being well cared for.

Second are the details. From the sprig of herb neatly tucked into your carefully folded breakfast napkin, to the tasteful decor throughout the house, to the piece of chocolate perched on top of your pillow at night along with tomorrow's weather forecast - which did we appreciate the most? It's hard to say, because we loved them all.

My wife and I have globetrotted all around the world over the past twenty years usually staying at guesthouses/B&B's when we go. This property, and the people that run it, make it hands down one of the nicest places we have ever been to. It really is someplace truly special.

  • Liked — The staff and the details
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lata-and-bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

PROS: Attentive service, clean, comfortable rooms

CONS: Electrical outlets not easily compatible with U.S. electronics (though likely not the property's fault)

Very nice bed & breakfast, highlighted by exemplary service from the staff. The property is located a mile or so from the heart of Stellenbosch; you'll pass the university dormitories on your way in. It's a fantastic starting point for those interested in touring the wine country.

We stayed for three nights, which was plenty of time to spend a day visiting five vineyards and another day at a wine festival. We would recommend trying to coincide your trip with their annual wine festival - the people of Stellenbosch have been putting this on for years and it is a wonderful time and very well run (however, try going Sunday if you can as Saturdays are quite busy).

Theresa is the owner of Summerwood and resides on the premises. She and her team did a fabulous job of making us feel at home and helping us plan our wine excursions.

We were turned on to Summerwood by Glen at Vineyard Ventures. We would highly recommend Glen to help plan your S. African adventures, as she is candid, easy to work with, and very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank strech662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.9 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
629 reviews
1.4 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#1 of 112 in Stellenbosch
426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#8 of 112 in Stellenbosch
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerwood Guest House

Property: Summerwood Guest House
Address: 28 Jonkershoek Street | Mostertsdrif, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly Summerwood Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for that rare blend of contemporary comfort and old-fashioned hospitality, Summerwood Guesthouse is the perfect base from which to explore the soulful town of Stellenbosch and surrounding winelands. This late-Edwardian grand dame was built in 1904 and has since been creatively renovated to cater for the cosmopolitan tastes of the modern traveller. With its large swimming pool and location in a leafy suburb of Stellenbosch, Summerwood has become the go-to choice for visitors looking for something less formal than a hotel, but more luxurious than your run-of-the-mill guesthouse. The eight spacious rooms boast upmarket finishes and are tastefully decorated in neutral tones, while nice extras like bicycles with which to explore the charming town, air-conditioning, free WiFi, and secure off-street parking make it hard to compete with Summerwood in terms of value for money. This family-run guesthouse is a lush haven for the sophisticated traveller that seamlessly integrates the privacy and comfort of a guesthouse with the professionalism of friendly, efficient service. Summerwood Guesthouse offers bed and breakfast: 8 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Summerwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing