We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Summerwood Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$147
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$124
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$140
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$69
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$131
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$97
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beautiful South Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$49
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveler rating
317
50
8
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
50
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houselovely guesthouselovely poolhonesty barour honeymoonbreakfast areacape townattention to detailour room was spaciousswimming poolquiet areaspent two nightsa wonderful place to staycold meatsgarden routewe loved our staynice stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 379 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

it was really an excellent stay! Very friendly staff was ready to greet me. The room was very comfortable, spacious and the sherry was well appreciated! The breakfast was of a high quality and much to choose from. It is very near to the inner circle of town, I can definitely recommended this Guest House.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GGVV2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while on our honeymoon. We arrived around 7pm and we were shown around the house straight away and led to our bedroom. They have a book with menus of local restaurants that they recommend so we picked one we liked and it was booked for us - great service! We went to De Cameron which is an Italian and it was lovely - just what we needed after the long drive. Back at the guesthouse we tucked into tea and cake which is provided in the guest living room. The decor in the house is stunning - the colour scheme seems to be grey and white which is really fresh and stylish. Our bedroom was no.2 downstairs. It is really spacious with a big king bed and a private patio. The only downside to the room is that it is next to the kitchen and breakfast room so there is a little noise in the morning which could wake you up if you fancy a lie in. The breakfast is lovely - cereals, yoghurt, fruit salad, croissants, meats and cheeses. They also cook a special breakfast to order. We booked a wine tour through the guesthouse. We visited 3 vineyards and it was great fun but maybe a tad expensive at around 50 eur per person for half a day including lunch when wine tastings at each of the vineyards were only a couple of euro.

Stellenbosch is a beautiful town with gorgeous restaurants. Lots of people were eating and drinking wine outside on the sat night - it created a lovely, safe atmosphere and we enjoyed walking around the town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Excellent location! Every effort to ensure that we had a memorable stay! The décor and personal touches were outstanding. The breakfast selection was of a the highest quality and very tasty. The running path to Jonkershoek must be experienced.

Room Tip: Visit Rickety Bridge winery
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Room was nice, and decor in the guesthouse stunning! We however did not have a good sleep as there was a bad smell coming from the bathroom. We mentioned it to the staff the next morning and they simply said it was because drains were cleaned the night before. Suggestion: maybe don't rent out rooms if drains are cleaned and smells! This was not a nice start to our honeymoon!!
We also requested to have breakfast only 30min earlier the morning of check out. The night manager assured us that it was not a problem at all. We got to the breakfast room and nothing was ready! I worked in the guesthouse industry myself for a few years, and from experience I can say that if a guest requires an early breakfast, you make sure that everything is ready for that guest!! (incl the hot breakfast!). We felt that we were just in the way, my husband eventually asked if they got the message that we wanted early breakfast, and they just answered yes. So that was a bit disappointing, and it also lead to us being rushed and almost late for our flight.
It is such a nice property, and we were really looking forward to our stay after all the positive comments here!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank annvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerwood S, General Manager at Summerwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear traveler


Please accept our sincerest apologies for what happened. We were not aware of the bathroom situation until early the following morning, when it was too late! Of course we would never book out a room that has a problem.

On the particular morning of your breakfast, our staff experienced transportation issues and the on duty manager had difficulty to cope. But still, this is not an excuse and we apologize for the inconvenience caused.


We accept full responsibility for these mistakes and we invite you to please contact us directly so that we can see how we can make it up to you.


Summerwood prides itself on offering both top notch service and quality, and we hope that we may persuade you to visit us again!


Sincerely,

Summerwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and it was absolutely wonderful! Rooms are spacious, clean and decorated beautiful. Service was excellent. The atmosphere was tranquil and peaceful and we enjoyed every moment of our stay! Thanks to the staff for making our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlize_Kukkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews