We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully furnished Guest House, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerwood Guest House
Ranked #11 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very warm welcome. We felt at home from the moment we got there. Beautifully furnished house. Very clean and large rooms. Excellent service. Great hospitallity. Owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Conveniently located, about 5 min from the centre. Very good, extended continental breakfast with fresh fruit, lots of different jams and juices, cereals, toasts, eggs, self made muffins, etc.We only stayed for one night but we are definitely coming back in the near future. Great place and we enjoyed it very much !!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WimHout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 364 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great guest house, outstanding breakfast, amazing service, very safe and quiet neighbourhood yet close to the center of Stellenbosch. The rooms are very clean and brand new, nice decoration, apparently the hotel was refurbished recently. Nice large bathroom with a tub and shower, the bed was very large and comfortable.
The owner were very friendly and helpful. I had forgotten a bag in the room and they went out of their way to contact me to get it back to me.
The staff at breakfast is also very nice, and the breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever seen anywhere.
I would stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nightflight707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stay here recently for a night after their refurbishment. Really love the decor n concept. Shame it was too cold to take a dip in the lovely pool. Loved the very comfortable beds n should have stay another night in lovely stellaborsch. The breakfast was also delicious one of the best I eaten on my whole trip. Service was of the usual warm n high standard.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank JeffreyOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Really best place to stay in stellenbosh! Huge rooms, very good decorated, very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere! There is a swimming pool and bycicles! Interiors are amazing!!! Close to city center in the same time very quite area)
Strongly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilay1457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The biggest asset is the staff. Tessa was so kind to move us to a ground floor room because I hurt my knee and would have had difficulties to climb the steps to the room that we booked. The room (no 1) was a lovely room, very big and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was delicious and the staff very helpfull. We loved everything and will certainly stay there again. The wine was very affordable. They also made reservations for us at a nearby italian restaurant that was very good.

Room Tip: Stayed in room no 1 and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Beautiful guest house, lovely garden (and pool), cozy rooms and styleful decor. Breakfast is served in serene surroundings with smooth jazz in the background. The owners are sweet and helpfull and the staff go to extra lengths to make you feel at home.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a comfy guest house close to Stellenbosch and its wineries this is the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our business stayed at Summerwood for a single night in March, We found the Guest house very easily. The accommodation was comfortable, clean and eclectic (modern/comfy). Great service and perfectly positioned within Stellenbosch. Breakfast was delicious.
Only negative: Pillows very hard.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merlin_mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.9 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
692 reviews
1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,033 reviews
4 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
938 reviews
1.2 mi away
Twice Central
Twice Central
#1 of 115 in Stellenbosch
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerwood Guest House

Address: 28 Jonkershoek Street | Mostertsdrif, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly Summerwood Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $143 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for that rare blend of contemporary comfort and old-fashioned hospitality, Summerwood Guesthouse is the perfect base from which to explore the soulful town of Stellenbosch and surrounding winelands. This late-Edwardian grand dame was built in 1904 and has since been creatively renovated to cater for the cosmopolitan tastes of the modern traveller. With its large swimming pool and location in a leafy suburb of Stellenbosch, Summerwood has become the go-to choice for visitors looking for something less formal than a hotel, but more luxurious than your run-of-the-mill guesthouse. The eight spacious rooms boast upmarket finishes and are tastefully decorated in neutral tones, while nice extras like bicycles with which to explore the charming town, air-conditioning, free WiFi, and secure off-street parking make it hard to compete with Summerwood in terms of value for money. This family-run guesthouse is a lush haven for the sophisticated traveller that seamlessly integrates the privacy and comfort of a guesthouse with the professionalism of friendly, efficient service. Summerwood Guesthouse offers bed and breakfast: 8 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Summerwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing