We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Summerwood Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$113
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$66
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$143
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$114
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa(Stellenbosch)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
321
50
8
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
50
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houselovely guesthouselovely poolhonesty barour honeymoonbreakfast areacape townattention to detailour room was spaciousswimming poolquiet areaspent two nightsa wonderful place to staycold meatsgarden routewe loved our staynice stay
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 383 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

After many visits, we continue to return to this delightful boutique hotel.
Ideally located for visiting Stellenbosch and exploring the many delightful vineyards in the area.
Now under new ownership and about to receive a major renovation, this can only improve what is already a delightful accommodation. We have already booked for next year!

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we only stayed one night but the staff were very accommodating and helpful. The room was very good and well equipped for a better class guest house. The location is close to town and near enough to walk if you ignore the warnings about walking at night.
The pool is great and all in all a good experience.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent two nights at Summerwood and found it an excellent base for visiting the surrounding winelands. It is located in a quiet and leafy area of town with a lovely peaceful, shady garden in which to relax. It is under new management and we were impressed with the friendliness and enthusiasm of the new young owners. When we arrived, we found that neither the bedside light nor the tv were working in our room but they were fixed within minutes and with much apology! The room itself was very comfortable although, being on the ground floor, it lacked privacy so that we had to keep the windows and net curtains closed. A pity as the view of the garden was lovely. I would go for an upstairs room for choice. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice and the staff were attentive and cheerful. Stellenbosch itself is well worth a visit as of course are the vineyards and their wonderful restaurants!

Room Tip: Probably better to be upstairs
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed 9 nights at the Summerwood Guesthouse and it was just gorgeous.
Friendly, clean, exelent service, lovely place. We will definitely stay there next time where in Stellenbosch. Just great! The prices are high, but you will not regret it.
Only one thing i'd like to criticize: pls. cover cheese and cold meats at the buffet with a bonnet. Not all guests go for Breakfast at 8 o' clock.
Specialy we would like to thank Thessa for here kindness. Hole team is great!

Room Tip: each room has it's own charme
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kame D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

i can't pass up a bottle of wine so stellenbosch was a must on my trip list. summerwood turned out to be just as advertised and more. lovely location, a bit secluded, and i love a good walk, which was just the right distance from the center of town. breakfasts were especially nice as there was true variety from one day to the next. very kind service. there was the temptation just to sit and relax at home but of course i had to get around to the vineyards, too. lovely!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews