We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon part 2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summerwood Guest House
Ranked #2 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Honeymoon part 2”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We started our honeymoon part 2 in Stellenbosch at the Summerwood Guest House. The location of the guest house is approximately 15 walking minutes distance from the city center (you will need some exercise when enjoying all the South African food during your vacation!)

It is a very cosy hide away with a beautiful garden and a nice pool.

The whole area including the rooms are looking very new and well maintained. Because of the warm hearted personnel, which are there when you need them and retreat when you like privacy you feel more than welcome and at home than at many other places we have experienced before.

This guest house was a perfect start for our 2nd honeymoon and we will be back whenever we are around.

P.S. Stellenbosch is also a place to go, don't go to this part of the world without seeing it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina_und_Henning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    45
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
227
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We had 4 beautifully days in Stellenbosch at this great B&B, where the owners and all staff take really good care to each little detail. The rooms, breakfast, garden and pool and nicely decorated. Breakfast items and set-up changes every day.
The Summerwood is well located, close enough to the center, where you can walk or borough a bike free of charge. Really a nice place, where you would like to stay much longer and feel sorry to leave.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in Summerwood during a wine tasting get-away, and glad we were to have selected it. Situated in a very quiet part of Stellenbosch no too far from the town center, it provided a real haven of peace. The gardens, even in winter, added much to the ambiance- we sat with a bottle of wine in its tranquility. The rooms had a very comfortable decor, beds slept well. Very clean. Breakfast was excellent. The ladies we spoke with were very welcoming and friendly.

Overall, though the place is lovely from top to bottom, it was the peacefulness that really brought it all together for me. We have stayed in some of the larger places in the Stellenbosch area, but if it is personal attention and detail, the smaller properties really are the way to go, and Summerwood certainly fits our criteria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RestlessTravelBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at the Summerwood for 4 nights. It is a great place, very quite and not too far from the town center. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The owners pay a lot attention to the detail. Don't miss out their best-ever breakfast! The best way to start your day in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We are here now in the attic room. Great place super big, really comfortable. The ladies who work here really help you plan your day seeing the area and the best wineries. We love it even the wind that blowing now is cool to hear. We will stay here again if we come back to South Africa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeinmiami56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have stayed at Summerwood twice and enjoyed both visits. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The breakfasts are super - the freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast earns a full star on its own! The new owners have installed new TVs in all the rooms so the grainy TV mentioned in some of the reviews is a thing of the past. Another review mentions that there isn't hot water. One does need to let the water run for a long time before it becomes hot. As long as one knows this, it is not an inconvenience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had the honor of being the guest house's first customers after new owners renovated and re-opened the place.
The house is an old country house, renovated to luxurious standards without losing its country charm. Each room is decorated differently, but all are spacious, clean, extremely comfortable and equipped with all sorts of gadgets and treats.
The location is excellent, only 3 min. (tops) drive from Stellenbosch center (or a short bicycle ride, provided by the guest house).
The owners were especially kind, and made our stay even more special. They treat the house as their home, and the guests as their own personal guests. They are a wonderful, caring and real (as oppose to fake for-tourists approach you might encounter) couple.
Bottom line - highly recommended, perfect value for money. You would probably stay an extra day...

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. We stayed in the corner room on the ground floor, which is recommended for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EyalZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.9 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
6.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerwood Guest House

Property: Summerwood Guest House
Address: 28 Jonkershoek Street | Mostertsdrif, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly Summerwood Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for that rare blend of contemporary comfort and old-fashioned hospitality, Summerwood Guesthouse is the perfect base from which to explore the soulful town of Stellenbosch and surrounding winelands. This late-Edwardian grand dame was built in 1904 and has since been creatively renovated to cater for the cosmopolitan tastes of the modern traveller. With its large swimming pool and location in a leafy suburb of Stellenbosch, Summerwood has become the go-to choice for visitors looking for something less formal than a hotel, but more luxurious than your run-of-the-mill guesthouse. The eight spacious rooms boast upmarket finishes and are tastefully decorated in neutral tones, while nice extras like bicycles with which to explore the charming town, air-conditioning, free WiFi, and secure off-street parking make it hard to compete with Summerwood in terms of value for money. This family-run guesthouse is a lush haven for the sophisticated traveller that seamlessly integrates the privacy and comfort of a guesthouse with the professionalism of friendly, efficient service. Summerwood Guesthouse offers bed and breakfast: 8 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Summerwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing