We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best maids ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Ranked #31 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best maids ever!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed here with my fellow trainee teachers and our tutor. We each enjoyed our stay at Fynbos Guest House. Our only 'complain' was that there wasn't enough sun on the pool, however on our last day the started chopping down some trees. :)

The staff are amazing, very helpful and the maids and kitchen staff can't do enough. A perfect location within walking distance from the town and a half an hour drive from Cape Town. Lovely views, clean rooms and a very homely feel. Thanks to everyone who looked after us- we hope Michelle and co liked the gift we left them! :)

Room Tip: The family room on the top floor, by the pool is fab :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fynbosVilla, Manager at Fynbos Villa Guest House, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your visit here at Fynbos Villa! Michelle and the other personnel enjoyed your gift thoroughly and while you enjoyed you last day elsewhere, professional pruners attended to the trees. For your next visit we guarantee plenty of sun on the swimming pool. Greetings from all of our staff at Fynbos Villa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    73
    24
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
68
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Fynos Villa,set a few minutes out of the centre of Stellenbosch, is a very welcoming place.Our room (7) was clean, spacious and well stocked with home comforts.Secure car parking was available, this being beneath our first floor room.We took breakfast outside on the patio each morning,the menu was full of choice to suit all tastes.The ladies that served from the kitchen all spoke excellent English and took an interest in our plans for the day.The building is a beautiful Victorian Villa with ornate ironwork and pleasant garden.There is a swimming pool which is clean and well maintained.We found the use of a guest shower room a bonus,as we had a late night flight home.Nothing was to much trouble for the ladies on reception, they made us so welcome that we were sad to leave.

Room Tip: Room 7 on the end of block
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuffolkTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

FYNBOS VILLA

The little university town of Stellenbosch is the hart of the Cape winelands. The second oldest town in South Africa (after Cape Town), its oak tree-shaded streets are lined with old Cape Dutch and Victorian buildings. In a quiet avenue of gracious Victorian houses set in spacious gardens is the guest-house Fynbos Villa. (‘Fynbos’ is the Afrikaans word for indigenous Cape flora.) The house itself, its garden and grounds (containing a secluded swimming-pool) are a delight to the eye. Inside one is immediately struck by the spirit of tranquility and ease that pervades the suites and public rooms. Run by the same owner for over twenty years, the whole place exudes a comfort and attention to detail that makes one feel at home. And the friendliness and thoughtfulness of the staff reinforces this impression. The décor is old-fashioned country style with the emphasis on comfort and simplicity. We appreciated the spotless cleanliness of everything – as well as the ‘goodnight’ glasses of port we found by our bedside! A five-minute walk takes one into the historic heart of the town, in another direction to banks of the river that runs along its edge. Immediately opposite are the exquisite botanical gardens. We could not imagine a better place from which to enjoy the most beautiful town in South Africa.

Room Tip: Speak to the receptionist, she is very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acilia1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Sweet, lovely villa, clean and quiet. Super servis, nice atmosphere full
of hospitality and unique climate of old times. Ideal place for bussiness trips
and family vacations!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyCrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
788 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#8 of 112 in Stellenbosch
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roosenwijn Guest House
Roosenwijn Guest House
#10 of 112 in Stellenbosch
324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#41 of 112 in Stellenbosch
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caledon Villa
Caledon Villa
#27 of 112 in Stellenbosch
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fynbos Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fynbos Villa Guest House

Property: Fynbos Villa Guest House
Address: 14 Neethling Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fynbos Villa Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fynbos Villa is a lovely 14 room Victorian style Guest House, equipped with modern facilities, where we offer our guests comfort and tranquility; whilst only a 5 minute stroll to town! Fynbos Villa offers its guests two types of accommodation: Bed & Breakfast and Self-catering.Fynbos Villa also offers:Our beautiful Guesthouse offers charm, character and atmosphereOur Rooms are clean and non smokingIdyllic located, with walking distance to Museums, Traditional Restaurants, University, Music Conservatoire, Coetzenburg International Sports Grounds and the Botanical Garden.Located in a peaceful and quiet areaTraditional and fresh breakfast is served every morningWe offer safe off street parking for our guestsAnd a beautiful solar heated swimming pool is available on premisesOur friendly personnel can assist our guests with:Flight confirmations, The organizing of tours and transfers, Car hire and general recommendations of places to visit. Afrikaans, English, German and Dutch are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fynbos Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing