We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect location to play good golf and to do some wine tasting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Zalze Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Zalze Lodge
Lendelede, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A perfect location to play good golf and to do some wine tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at the beginning of January 2014 for 4 nights at Kleine Zalze lodges.
Although the weather could have been better, we enjoyed it very much. The local golf is in excellent condition and it is a perfect place for good wine and dining.
We stayed in a superior room. Which was very clean. Only remark is the superior room was rather dark with only a small window. The breakfast was very good with an excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filip_rosselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    96
    33
    19
    17
See reviews for
43
154
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at Kleine Zalze Lodge on a groupon special. Wow! The accommodation is first class - we had a one-bedroom suite with a huge living room-dining room-kitchen. Even a fireplace which we did not need in the middle of summer! Massive bathroom with separate bath and shower, and double basins. Kingsize bed, big patio. The kitchen is fully equipped so you could spend time here and do self-catering. We, however, treated ourselves to dinner under the oaks at Terroir restaurant which we have been to before. It is outstanding. Kleine Zalze wines are also excellent. We loved the swimming pool at the lodge - beautiful views, warm water. There is even a small gym which we looked at but decided not to use - the pool was much more inviting for our summer visit. Breakfast at the lodge was very good - they even had a honeycomb from which we could spoon up some honey or some comb. I would definitely recommend this as a place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleTravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

From the first day we saw Kleine Zalze to the day after our wedding, it has been the perfect choice, from the gardens, function room to the honeymoon suite. Samantha Boshoff was a tremendous help and the entire staff efficient, friendly and helpful. Our wedding had no hitches, even the weather came to the party. It was a beautiful, awesome day and one that will remain with us forever.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammii Lottering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Recently returned from staying 3 nights. Stunning scenery, excellent food and wine. Thoroughly enjoyed sitting by the pool watching the world go by. As our first stop in South Africa was perfect to chill out before the rest of the trip.

Room Tip: Room overlooking golf course best, our room was at the back and looked onto the vineyards. Nothing w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbuDhabiHappybunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic weekend atthis amazing Lodge. The accommodation wad first class. The surroundings was picture perfect and the service excellent. Melvyn and his team are doing a fantastic job. Well done guys. We feel well spoiled. All the best.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ptlpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

All round good place to visit. On our 2 week trip through the Cape we mostly stayed in more wallet friendly b+b's but decided to treat ourselves to their Winter special package which included dinner at Terroir restaurant ( awesome), breakfast and wine tasting. Definitely got the most bang for my bucks and will definitely go back on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We hosted our daughters 21st at Kleine Zalze on 21 September 2013 and it was a most successful event with a Great Gatsby theme. Our heartfelt thanks go to the fabulous staff, especially Samantha, who went out of their way to meet every request, even at the last minute. They provided us with delicious food, friendly and effecient service and were most hospitable. The venue looking into the wine vats and winery was much admired by our guests. Our rooms at the Lodge were lovely and we enjoyed a superb breakfast on Sunday sitting out on the verandah overlooking the golf course and snowcapped mountains. Well done Kleine Zalze and thank you again for all your hard work and attention to detail. Everyone enjoyed a superb weekend celebration!!

Room Tip: We were lucky to have a superior room overlooking the golf course and beautiful mountains. I loved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.9 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
2.4 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
4.8 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
6.3 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zalze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zalze Lodge

Property: De Zalze Lodge
Address: Strand Road (R44), Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Zalze Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, with its stylishly decorated rooms and suites, is set alongside the first fairway of the championship De Zalze Golf Course. The clubhouse is just on the other side of the Blaauwklippen river and within walking distance. The rooms enjoy breath-taking views of the Stellenbosch Mountains and are surrounded by 120 hectares of vineyards. Accommodation is available in a variety of units: 6 x Two Bedroom Family Suites, 11 x Luxury One Bedroom Suites, 15 x Superior Rooms and 9 x Standard Rooms. Although the lodge offers all the comforts associated with a four star facility, our Two Bedroom Family Suites and Luxury One Bedroom Suites are available with kitchens or kitchenettes, complete with microwave, cutlery and crockery for those who prefer to self-cater. Our Superior Rooms are equipped with a small bar fridge as well as tea and coffee making facilities. There’s a rim-flow swimming pool, a range of vineyard trails for hiking or running, mountain bike trails, as well as wine tastings on the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your De Zalze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kleine Zalze Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing