We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudest person I have ever met in a wine farm”

Hartenberg Wine Estate
Ranked #36 of 142 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On the slopes of Bottelary Hills bordering Stellenbosch, we are a family estate where nature provides the perfect backdrop to grow, produce and share award-winning wines. Summer at Hartenberg brings lunches on the terrace or picnics on the lawns followed by buoyant games of boule. Winter invites you to intimate fireside lunches and sumptuous reds, smoky charcuterie and olives, and sensorial cellar tours. Our Wetland Conservation Area, alongside the vineyards, makes for a beautiful setting for walks and shared family fun.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Rudest person I have ever met in a wine farm”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A group of us recently visited this wine farm for the afternoon and were actually stunned by how rude the elderly woman was who "welcomed" us.

She sighed when she saw a dozen people walk in and gave us lip, told us to be quiet and tested us on what she told us! At first it seemed a joke, but then we realised that that was it! That was the real thing. We had the wine tasting, paid and departed for Simonsig where, all told, the group bought something like R 6,000 worth of wine to take home.

I could understand if we were a loud, drunken mob. But this was a very well behaved group with business visitors to show around. Very, very embarrassing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    34
    7
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor service and bad attitude”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

During our recent sales conference in the Stellenbosch area we booked a bus to take around twenty people on a wine tasting experience during our free afternoon. Our first stop was Hartenberg. What a disaster. We were treated very badly, and the person serving us acted as if she was doing us a favour. Needless to say, we left and went to Simonsig across the road, where we had a wonderful time, were treated like royalty and where everyone bought lots of wine.
The Hartenberg experience was hugely disappointing and embarrassing, especially as we had a number of overseas colleagues with us.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rinette187870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Picnic Locale”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our tour guide from PG Tops took us to Hartenberg Estate for a picnic which was the highlight of our day in the winelands. The picnic area is private, looking out to the vineyards in the area and the food and presentation was just delightful. Definitely a romantic and special experience, especially as we were there celebrating our honeymoon. Highly recommended for anyone looking for an amazing winelands picnic.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank oneroadnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding Wine and Service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a wine tasting which compares with no other, we lost count how wines we had presented to us at least 8. This was accompanies with a beautifully presented cheese board and home grown olives. All in it came to 200 Rand it was a good job we walked to the Hartenburg as we left very merry !! Dominic was outstanding both in his knowledge of wine and Namibia !
Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Heathrowdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great lunch venue”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We booked for a lunch at the Hartenberg estate since we knew it from long time ago. We took the picknick lunch outside. The food and the wines were great and the staff was fantastic. They also provided, next to our table in the grass, comfortable mats and pillows for an ultra relaxing time.
We had a superb time here at the estate. Recommendable.

Helpful?
Thank Pimmetje_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hartenberg Wine Estate also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Hartenberg Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing