We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Can One Say” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simonsig

Simonsig
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.68*
and up
Vine Hopper: Hop-On Hop-Off Wine Tour - Northern Route
Ranked #24 of 141 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Simonsig Estate upholds the legendary status of pioneering wine excellence shaped by the Malan Family's devotion to quality and innovative winemaking. Named after its dramatic views of the Simonsberg Mountain, the estate is ideally situated in Stellenbosch, South Africa's premier wine region, 45 km east of Cape Town. Tasting & Tours: Taste and learn more about our award winning wines from our knowledgeable team at our tasting room, set amidst the tranquil gardens on the estate. As a founding member of the Stellenbosch Wine Route, Simonsig enjoys widespread popularity and attracts visitors from all over the world. With a cosy fire crackling in the tasting room during winter or flutes of chilled Kaapse Vonkel served on the cool, shady veranda during summer, we welcome our visitors to cellar tour experiences all year round. Opening Hours Tasting and Wine Sales Mon to Fri: 08:30 - 17:00 Saturdays & Public Holidays: 08:30 - 16:00 Sunday: 11:00 - 15:00 Closed on Christmas, New Year's Day & Good Friday Cellar Tours Mon to Fri: 10:00 & 15:00 Saturdays: 10:00 Closed on Sunday, Christmas, New Year's Day & Good Friday
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
173 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What Can One Say”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

It's our Second Visit to this Incredible Wine Estate.They have several Award Winning Wines a very Friendly Comfortable Wine Tasting Room & Knowledgeable Staff.Its hard to Leave here without a Couple Award Winning Wines in your Possession.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    45
    9
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not great”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I went to several wine farms around this area.

Simonsig was thr worst. You pay a fee and get a glass. You get a price list and must go to a bar and order a taste of wine.

No information is given about the wines. I actually felt that I was at a bar with disinterested staff. We had our first taste and left as we felt like we were a bother to the staff. Also no knife if you want to buy a cheese platter. I did ask and was advised that Simonsig wine tasting is 'informal'.

Rather go to Warwick wine farms 4 kilometres down the road. Fabulous venue and staff who actually attend to you very well, and for the same fee.

Helpful?
1 Thank Delene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonsigWine, Public Relations Manager at Simonsig, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Goodday Delene!

Thank you so much for your feedback, every little bit helps. Unfortunately, this time of year the farm is extremely busy and accommodating all the visitors can be quite a challenge! We would love to impress you, let us know when you can come back for a visit!

Kind Regards

The Simonsig Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing wine from a beautiful estate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Simonsig is a beautiful estate with great scenery, and hasn't fallen prey to the impersonal practices stemming stemming from over-commercialisation, such as some of the other more well-known estates in the area. It is an upmarket estate with personal, knowledgeable service to match, yet they do not overcharge for their tasting.

The real draw card, however, is the quality of the wine with the Tiara, Frans Malan, Redhill Pinotage and Merndol Syrah all being particular highlights. They sometimes even have the odd vintage wine available at a very reasonable price. The restaurant is also worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DieRooiGevaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Tasting Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Visited this winery a few weeks ago for a tasting. The setting was absolutely gorgeous! We were there on a slow day with only a handful of others on the property. It provided a fun opportunity to chat with two of the workers doing our tasting about a variety of interesting topics. They were very sweet to our 20 month old daughter and let her roam free while we enjoyed our tasting. None of the wines blew us away. There is a restaurant on site but we did not try it. My favorite was probably the Chenin Avec Chene. Overall, it was an enjoyable and intimate tasting experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Beautifull place stunning scenery well worth a visit .lovely buildings and courtyard feels very upmarket but is not expensive.About 25 rand for 5 samples of the simonsig range all were lovely .staff were very knowledgeble and friendly ,it's a great way to pass a few hours chilling in the stunning courtyard getting tipsy.All the wines are for sale very cheaply and come in a nice box.Other winery's in area weren't up to this standard so simonsig is worth visiting ,easy trip out from Cape Town following stellenbosh signs. You won't be disappointed wish I could have carried more wine home on plane

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank clarioBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simonsig also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Simonsig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing