We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain bikers delight - followed by a very elegant picnic ..”

Warwick Wine Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.64*
and up
Vine Hopper: Hop-On Hop-Off Wine Tour - Northern Route
More Info
$42.55*
and up
Vine Hopper: 2-Day Hop on Hop off Wine Tour Pass from Stellenbosch
Ranked #4 of 143 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The #1 winery on Trip Advisor in the Stellenbosch region for almost 3 years. Warwick has become known as one of the most welcoming destinations with a truly authentic experience & friendly ambience. Open 365 days a year, join us for our famed 'Gourmet Picnic', delicious 'Vineyard Tapas' and a tutored wine tasting. Bring your friends & family for a 'BIG 5 WINE SAFARI' or just laze around on our magnificent lawns under the trees. This kid-friendly historic property will wow you.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Mountain bikers delight - followed by a very elegant picnic ..”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

What and amazing experience. They have morphed themselves to attracts the ENTIRE family. Their wines are sensory heaven, they have created a easy to tough mountain bike trail on the farm and their picnics are exactly what the doctor order to relax, unwind and watch the kids run on the lawns. Their wine tasting rooms are open airy but maintain the celler experience with a modern twist...

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    100
    22
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely venue”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Loved the setting, friendly service, excellent wine. Very interesting history. Beautiful picnic spots. Suitable for families, business lunches alike.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karin406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wines, Wonderful Times”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We started of with the Big Five drive, and I would highly recommend that anyone visiting the farm should do it. Not only is it a ton of fun, but also highly informative.
Wine tasting overlooking the Stellenbosch mountains is just spectacular.
Returning to the tasting room, our picnic spots were ready.
The staff and waiters were very friendly and made us feel right at home.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dayne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a wonderful National Braai Day at the Warwick Wine Estate. We were a group of 6 adults and 3 children and the experience at Warwick from booking to eating and playing was just great. I booked online and had wonderful service from Lawrence and when we arrived we'd had to be moved from the lawn to one of the lovely picnic pods due to the weather. The picnic pod was truly fantastic, right next to our own jungle gym, some woods for exploring for treasure (the kids not the adults) and the lawn for playing on (I think our pod was the Lady Luck but can't be sure). The picnic baskets were lovely, the wine was great and all in all we had a wonderful relaxing afternoon in the sunshine of Stellenbosch. The service was great (although a little slow at times just because of the location of the pod), but I would highly recommend a picnic here for either couples, large groups, families or couples as it's a wonderful way to while away a few hours with great food and views and happy, worn out kids! Warwick gets my vote!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gosport_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Picnic Haven!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We can highly recommend the gourmet picnics at Warwick. The ambience is so relaxed, the whole concept, so well thought out, with umbrellas, blankets, pillows and wine glass holders all set up and ready for you just to indulge in the picnic. The food is delicious and the portions abundant.. not to mention their lovely wines. And for a supreme view over the vineyard to the surrounding areas, a 'Big 5' Wine safari with a wine tasting at their penthouse, is a must! Very informative and extremely friendly staff. Thank you for a wonderful Saturday Warwick team!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warwick Wine Estate also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Warwick Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing