We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our trip to the Cape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyngrove Wines and Guesthouse
Ranked #82 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 24, 2012

After years of visiting South Africa we finally got to go to the Cape. My cousin booked us into Lyngrove Estate. I was apprehensive as I wanted to stay in Cape Town city. I should not have been. The place is great. Only half an hours drive from the city. The setting is so peaceful and beautiful. The rooms were lovely and spacious. Ours opened out to the pool. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, making suggestions of places to visit and restaurants to eat in. The breakfasts were great, served on the terrace with the mountains as a backdrop. The Honesty Bar is a great idea and we had many a nightcap in the sitting room with bottles of the delicious Lyngrove Chardonnay (am still trying to source some in Dublin!!). We will definitely be back. Thanks Iea and your staff for a great holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms we had beside the pool were great
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Lyngrove Wines and Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 30 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stayed at Lyngrove last month when we were in Stellenbosch for a friend´s wedding. The B&B itself was lovely -- generously sized rooms, scrumptous breakfast, friendly staff.

However, we had quite a bit of trouble getting to the inn itself. We´d hired a car & driver for the weekend (wanted to be able to enjoy that delish South African vino!) and the inn was not setup well to accomodate guests who were not driving themselves.

Lyngrove is located behind 2 security fences, so you need someone to buzz you in to reach the property. Since guests room keys have a buzzer, we had no problem getting into the B&B after the wedding (about 1:30am). But once we got in, there was no way for our driver to get back out! So we had to ride back to the gate, buzz him out, and then walk back to the inn (a fair distance in heels).

If you´re hiring a driver, I´d probably recommend finding a more easily accessible place to stay. But if you´ve got your own wheels, Lyngrove is a beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rtr2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

The conclusion of our SA trip & the this was planned as a highlight and the most expensive accomodation we encountered on this trip.

Booking by e/mail we negotiated a rate reduction over the rack rate, additionally we were offered a superior house room as opposed to the more recently added on courtyard style rooms.

A lovely location remote from the hurly burly of the Stellenbosch area, the approach to Lyngrove is lovely. Despite it's remote location the whole complex is within it's own security enclosure!!!!

Staff attentive & polite just about the right level of customer awareness without being to intrusive. Shown to our claimed superior house room on the first floor, "not superior at all" verrry verrry hot, dull & dark.

Requested to see other rooms, shown various house first floor rooms all equally glum & hot, suggested to move to a courtyard room by the pool, nice but jaded and somewhat tired & in clear need of reburbishment, dirty carpet and stange patio area that needed a good sweeping. Comfy bed and super quiet air/con. Bathroom very eighties with gold taps and mould around the tile grouting, everything worked though.

Decided to sooth our selves with a swim after our long journey, pool dirty with cloudy water covered in flies, either the filters were US or nobody cared, loungers in various state of repair, towels available.

Dinner not available so a local restaurant was endorsed and a booking was made for us by the staff, it was quite good as well.

Breakfast was served al fresco on the verandah "not deck" a wonderful place to take in the ambiance & only spoiled by some rather loud american guests who seemingly sadly wanted everybody to who they were and what their business was worth, otherwise perfect.

A five star accreditation if tested today would probably fail on the counts previously mentioned, this apart the property has charm and old world ambiance it is well situated. The public rooms, lounge bar area/snooker room were an oasis to relax and read the honesty bar system works well, if not abused.

Some seriously required TLC would revitalise this establishment & bring the colour back to this jaded old girl.

Would we return, to the area yes & the hotel if it is spruced up.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VanguardAction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

We stayed at the Lyngrove in Nov. of 2006 for our honeymoon. The Lyngrove was certainly one of the highlights of our trip. The house and the grounds are kept very well and the service was great. We were only able to stay one night in the area, but wanted to stay much longer.

Everything from the greeting upon arrival, to the rosepetals in our bath in the evening, to the breakfast on the deck in the morning was above our expectations. We wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newman_5a_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2006

We stayed at Lyngrove over new years 2006. At first I was a bit concerned as we couldn’t find any review online, but all worries were erased the moment we arrived. The house (or should I say complex) is located in the middle of the fields, surrounded by vineyards with access through a dirt road that is used only by the few guests of the house, so real tranquility is achieved (as opposed to the bigger hotels that have hundreds of visitors a day for wine tasting etc.) yet it is close to Stellenbosch and is in the heart of the wine route. The staff is EXTREMLY nice and helpful and can arrange anything from wine tours to dinner reservation and even a private supper outside on the porch, they literally made us feel like this was our home. The room was HUGE and the bath room was one of the biggest I have seen in a hotel (and I have seen plenty) with a bath for 2 and a shower. The house also has a swimming pool (beautifully maintained) and a tennis court.

We plan to return again and again and to send all our friends there!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank in_the_know044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eines der zwei Zimmer im Haupthaus (Nr. 3 & 4)
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Africa-Traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes différentes mais agréables, certaines sont autour de la piscine
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serpouillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Soverby Guest House
Soverby Guest House
#16 of 55 in Stellenbosch
50 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
3.3 mi away
Coronata20 B&B
Coronata20 B&B
#52 of 113 in Stellenbosch
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Majeka House
Majeka House
#3 of 113 in Stellenbosch
537 reviews
3.3 mi away
Edelweiss Bed & Breakfast
Edelweiss Bed & Breakfast
#59 of 113 in Stellenbosch
30 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rosenview Guest House
Rosenview Guest House
#74 of 113 in Stellenbosch
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyngrove Wines and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyngrove Wines and Guesthouse

Address: Raithby-Annandale Road, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa (Formerly Lyngrove Country House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $112 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyngrove Wines and Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine sitting on the patio of a charming country house surrounded by vineyards and breathtaking mountains. A mere 30 minutes from Cape Town airport! This is just the beginning of what Lyngrove Guesthouse has to offer. With its English colonial style overtones and individually decorated bedrooms be certain to enjoy all the luxuries you would expect from a prestigious establishment with the added bonus of enjoying fresh sea breezes and lovely views. This 5 star rated establishment is situated in the heart of the Stellenbosch Winelands and is the ideal place to stay over when you want to do sightseeing of this beautiful part of South Africa yet still experience peace and harmony. In the evenings the comfortable lounge with fireplace is the perfect place to relax with a book or to enjoy a glass of Lyngrove wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lyngrove Wines and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing