We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable B&B with lovely amenities.”
Review of Eendracht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eendracht Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

In the right spot for wandering the area and designed to be a quiet and luxurious respite. There is a really nice dinging room with a good breakfast. The room I stayed in opened onto a gorgeous courtyard.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 406 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here for three days towards the end of our holiday in South Africa.

The standard of service was comparable to much more expensive hotels. We were most impressed with the attentive staff from the first minute and it continued throughout our stay.

The location on Dorp Street was ideal for foot tours into town and very close to a number of very good restaurants. If you are driving it is a relatively easily accessible hotel with good parking.

All in all a very pleasant stay. And a special mention for the lady who served breakfast.....always smiling and helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear DavidGCooke
I have to praise our staff and will definitely show them this review. Even when we are full, they a;ways manage to get everything done and still smile! Thank you for the big compliment! That is why we are in the hospitality business - to make people happy. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed here for one night during a brief tour of the Cape. check-in was efficient and I opted for one of the rooms in the older wing of the hotel, with a small balcony facing on to the car park. I first stayed here seventeen years ago when it was a guest house; since then the facilities have been expanded and the hotel is very comfortable with all facilities (fast Internet, large TV in room, a/c, minibar, bathroom with separate bath & shower, etc.). My room was spotless and had a very comfortable bed. (Limited) free parking is available at the rear of the hotel. Breakfast was included in the room rate, and was adequate. There are lots of restaurants within a hundred yards of the hotel.
Recommended!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Whirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Whirob
WELCOME BACK! Yes we are still the same owners and most of the same staff as well. We try our best to keep up with the times, but still serves it up in the same Stellenbosch home-like style package. For instance we were one of the first privately owned hotels in RSA that offered Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and installed Solar Geysers. Hopefully the next visit would not be in another 17 years! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stellenbosch in addition to being a tourist attraction is a college town. The good part of this is there is a wide variety of restaurants and bars covering several blocks. The downside is that there could be a bit of noise. Not a problem with the Eendracht Hotel as it is located on Dorp Street, a block away from where much of the activity occurs.
Parking is available behind the hotel and the staff was helpful on arrival. Initially the feel was a bit formal but things warmed up later on.
The rooms are well appointed and the two we had were upstairs on the street side, one with a small terrace outside.
Breakfast was good with cooked to order eggs and sides.
A good choice in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratch37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear ratch37
Thank you for staying with us. Yes we pride ourselves as being in the centre of the historic town without having all the challenges of being in the centre of a town. And luckily we have our own on-site parking which normally is a scarcity in old town centres like ours. Sorry about the "Initially the feel was a bit formal" - we have ironed out those “kinks”. Hope to see you soon again! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I chose Eendracht after really debating between two or three small hotels in and near Stellenbosch, and when we arrived it was clear we had made the right choice -- and decided it wasn't really all that much of a choice once we had seen the other hotels. Our bed was wonderful -- not too soft not too firm, and the room introduced us to the very large bath tubs found at hotels throughout South Africa. Eendracht is a few blocks from the historic areas covered by walking tours of Stellenbosch, so was well located for what we wanted to do and see. Other hotels and restaurants are quite close by for lunch. The off street parking behind was perfect for us.

Room Tip: We wanted a quiet room and took one at the end of an outdoor corridor open to the street (and opposi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Reamor
We value all the reviews that we get. But we cherish those from a top contributor like yourself! We try to learn from every review we get. Thank you for having stayed with us and I am specifically glad that we did not oversell ourselves and gave what we promised. Just for interest sake, did you know that the first building on this property was erected in 1710 by Sarah Couchet and that we have an exhibition of the artifacts we found on the property, which include some rare clay pipes?
Thank you! Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for a week. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfasts were excellent - good coffee and eggs always cooked perfectly. Would definitely recommend a stay here and it is within walking distance of very good restaurants and galleries.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philbert415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Good day philbert415
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad that we met with your expectations. We are all ears for any suggestions that you may have to improve our place, especially from a well-traveled person like yourself! Hope to see you soon again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We love the location as it was easily accessible to town without a car.
Eendracht is so easy to locate for taxi drivers and friends who came to fetch us to Franshoek.

Room was cozy and we could feel the staff were genuinely interested in making their guests feel comfortable and proud of their association with the hotel.I must add their attitude was like-they are ladies and gentlemen treating their guests as ladies and gentlemen. From reception, housekeeping to kitchen,they were very professional, passionate and proud to be part of Eendracht!
I was offered an adapter for my electronic devices by housekeeping staff on my first night.
The next morning, we were offered breakfast made with lots of love- completely served with much warmth and hospitality. 2 thumbs up for the teamwork and personality - they have the answers to start your day right ,in the morning !

We also grateful to Wilmi, Jolene and all the staff for sharing their bran muffin secret recipe with us. We hope to make our bran muffins and share with our loved ones at home.

Eendracht deserves a million stars for making our first trip to SAfrica so enjoyable. We love to come back and will highly recommend anyone to stay at Eendracht!
Thank you so much - Elephant Hugs from June & Julia from Singapore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear JuneJersey
I cannot tell you how good it was to have you as a guest at Eendracht! We are so glad that you chose Eendracht as part of your first trip to South Africa. We really enjoyed "spoiling" you. We know that you loved our muffins but I sincerely hope that you also had a taste of our traditional homemade "soetkoekies" (Sweet cakes) and "gemmerkoekies" (Ginger cakes). They will always be complimentary. Hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
864 reviews
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
636 reviews
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beautiful South Guest House
The Beautiful South Guest House
#15 of 17 in Stellenbosch
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eendracht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eendracht Hotel

Address: 161 Dorp Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $66 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eendracht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning (perfectly located) Village hotel - ambiance of a Stellenbosch house - consist of 13 rooms and 3 fully serviced semi self-catering units in a nearby 1928 listed house in the historic centre-Stellenbosch. Walk to 60+ restaurants, antique shops, museums, art galleries and the University. At the Minserie Str House we have 3 semi self-catering units. In keeping with the established standards which you would expect from Eendracht, we have added another building 5 minutes’ walk from Eendracht. The same - but totally different. The building is a 1928 listed house that was restored in its original Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eendracht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eendracht Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing