We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central in Stellenbosch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rusthuiz Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rusthuiz Guest House
Ranked #29 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
185 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Central in Stellenbosch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit and we booked 4 nights in Feb. Lots of staff, beautiful gardens and stoop. Bedroom was excellent with lots of storage given the volume of luggage that we take on H. Really comfortable bed, the bathroom however let down the whole experience, a tiny bath and a really shabby interior including the shower. We were informed however that these will be upgraded during the close season.
A very friendly environment but check the taxi prices if they sort this out for you as we got totally ripped by their choice.
The house is on a busy main road so can be bit noisy, however the garden just oozes solitude and we found the whole experience both a pleasant one, and one we would repeat again with the refurbed bathrooms.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank WineHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Winehighlander

It was a pleasure to have met you and accommodate you on your visit to Stellenbosch. Thank you for your detailed feedback on Rusthuiz. As Hannelize have told you we are re-doing the bathrooms of our balcony room in our off-season that is coming up. I hope to welcome you back to Rusthuiz with brand new bathrooms in the future..

Kind regards from Stellenbosch

Rene Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    48
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
117
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Excellent Guest house, superb location, very friendly and helpful staff. Furnished to a high standard throughout. Large sumptuous bedrooms with very fluffy white towels. Breakfast to set you up for the day. The only place to stay in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Joyce

Thank you for your review of Rusthuiz. It was a pleasure to have met you and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future and share a glass of wine on the patio..

Kind regards from us all at Rusthuiz

Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our first stop after Cape Town and we were absolutely delighted to see the standard of this guest house. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and were upgraded to a superior room which was really lovely, very spacious and very efficient air con. The grounds are very peaceful in spite of being next a road, and there is also a small pool area which we made use of.
We only stayed one night but we would thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Jenny

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Rusthuiz. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I must say that the "double glazing" windows that we had put in last year, blocks out any noise from the street.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards from the friendly team at Rusthuiz

René Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We returned to Rusthuiz one year on, to our same room, leading onto the garden and delightful pool area. Proper pool loungers, with decent cushions - excellent! Ruisthouse rooms are either large or very large, and are well equipped, with comfy beds and good bedding (duvets). Downside (minor) is that most rooms have singles, not king beds. Bathrooms are clean and bright, but towels not so fluffy.

Staff are excellent, always cheerful and willing. Breakfasts are good, taken on garden terrace in summer.

Big plus about this B+B is it's proximity to shopping and eating in central Stellenbosch. Everything is a 10-15 minute (safe) stroll away. Not the cheapest place to stay in Stellenbosch, but it has a lot going for it. We will, undoubtedly, return next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Grahamee

I was thrilled to see that you came back to South Africa, Stellenbosch and Rusthuiz a year later! Thank you for your detailed feedback. It is much appreciated.

We are looking into the towels and all the non "fluffy" ones are out!

All our beds are singles, but we can make them into King size beds with the help of a "matress converter" Hopefully you can try that out next time.

Kindest

René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our first stay here was eight years ago, we hope it will not be so long before our next. Just as we remembered, Rusthuiz is an excellent guest house. It is in a good location for walking into town, our room was very spacious, with ample storage space, and everything is of the highest standard. The owner and all the staff are so pleasant and helpful, and the freshly cooked delicious breakfasts are delicious.
Definitely the place to stay in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMember1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear TAMember1234

What a pleasure to welcome you back to Rusthuiz after 8 years! Thank you for coming back and spending time here in beautiful Stellenbosch.

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest

René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

warm welcoming, very peacefull, quiet, this guest house is 600M far from city center. It has also a swimming pool and a bloom garden. Internet free,TV , mini bar, the bedrooms are very cosy. This is a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Emma

Thank you for your feedback and recommendation of Rusthuiz! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here!

I must agree that the 600m walk to the town centre is a perfect distance. Close enough for a relaxing walk to and

Warm regards from a sunny Stellenbosch.

René Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights in October of 2012. Rene and her staff were professional,
courteous and helpful in any way possible. The proximity to the city's business and restaurant
hub is an added advantage and one can walk to that area. Breakfast was of a great variety and all individual wishes were gladly met. The room, we were in the "Honeymoon Room", was very nice, comfortable and separate bath and shower rooms were welcomed. The bed was "heavenly".
All in all a treat to stay and we recommend it highly.

Room Tip: A room in the Main House would be our preferance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnstSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene0705, Owner at Rusthuiz Guest House, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear ErnstSarasota

What a joy it was to accommodate you here at Rusthuiz last month! It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and loved your bed!
We love summer and I agree that all the fresh Summer Fruits are a plus on the breakfast buffet.
Everyone here hope to welcome you back to Rusthuiz in the future.

Kindest

René Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.6 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#7 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
1.2 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#3 of 113 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hunneyball House
Hunneyball House
#9 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aan Dorpstraat Guest House
Aan Dorpstraat Guest House
#40 of 113 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#6 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusthuiz Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusthuiz Guest House

Property: Rusthuiz Guest House
Address: 13 Piet Retief Street | Krigeville, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rusthuiz Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay steps from the centre of historical Stellenbosch. Awake to enjoy a leisurely breakfast on the sunny patio, then stroll through oak-tree lined avenues into town. You'll have your pick of restaurants, cafes and pubs for a bite to eat and something to drink. Your helpful hosts will advise you on the best wine estates to visit. In the afternoon relax at our sparkling pool.(air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, FREE WiFi, secure parking, and child friendly) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rusthuiz Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing