We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aaldering Vineyards & Wines Luxury Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A true treat”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in the luxury lodge at this wonderful intimate wine estate. There are only three spacious well equipped apartments. What to think of your own iPad, music selection, veranda overlooking the vineyards and wine cellars. It is a bless to see the sunset from your own veranda, having a glass of one of the elegant Aaldering wines.
I could have stayed for a week and still would be very happy. I was treated as a special guest by William and Dustin, who made me feel very welcome.
A true home far away from home!
This very young lodge lives up to all the promises and is just as elegant as the wines.
A wonderful harmony between beauty, comfort and good taste.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjolein W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
89
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This review will be much like the others here. On the way home my partner and I chatted about our experience, and really couldn't think of a single thing that we would have changed about our stay. The room was way beyond our expectations in terms of design, size, furnishings, and privacy. The location was private and quiet and calm, for us the perfect escape from our hectic big-city lives. The service was friendly and prompt without being stifling. When we needed something it appeared, and when we wanted privacy we had it in spades. The breakfast was well-prepared, and the wines on offer were superb. The white Pinotage was an unexpected treat. I wish we could have taken home a couple cases of it. We loved wandering around the vineyards. Our timing was good and the dark grapes were ripe for the picking. In short, we couldn't recommend Aaldering more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

In February 2014, during our holidays in Cape Town, we also stayed a few nights at this beautiful 5-starred luxury lodges located in Devon Valley, Stellenbosch. Together with the vineyards of Aaldering Wines, you could say it is a match made in heaven. The luxury lodges and the idyllic surroundings made our stay in South Africa feel like a fairytale.
 
We especially loved the lavish bedroom – classic style, but actually everything is groomed to perfection.

The staff is very friendly and were willing to answer every question and  provided excellent service. The wine tasting tour with winemaker Dustin Osborne was an unforgettable experience.
 

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

A relatively new vineyard and lodging facilities- a true hidden gem in the Stellenbosch area; William the butler has served us very well since our arrival. Lodging amenities is in excellent conditions; The view is magnificent looking up the hills and vineyards; definetly worth every penny of it and would recommend this facilities for your stay in stellendbosch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dsinaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We love Aaldering wines and were very happy to have the opportunity to taste many of their wines in their tasting room at the vineyard. To sip their wines sitting on their deck and enjoying the view was very pleasant. During the tasting they hand out comprehensive tasting notes. We left after buying a couple of boxes of the pinotage (also a unique and delicious pinotage blanc) and shiraz. Dutch owners, so most of the staff speaks Dutch too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeddhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Aaldering is not well known in South Africa due to their export focus and it is a real gem. The three brand new suites, which they call lodges, are an amazing and luxurious experience. A very large room with a lounge, your own wine cooler fridge and terraces front and back to sit at and enjoy the views of a working wine farm. Only the best fittings and furnishings are to be found. Great base to explore the winelands and restaurants of Stellenbosch as Devon valley is just outside the town.

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I first discovered Aaldering wines 3 years ago when we tried their inaugural 2007 Pinotage and were greatly impressed and brought back to the US a case of it, disciplining ourselves to one bottle a year. This year we were determined to visit this wonderful winery for ourselves and were overjoyed to find that they have built brand new luxury accommodations on their wine farm.

Everything about Aaldering, from their wine farm, wine, tasting room, staff, and accommodations are all first class. Overlooking a beautiful small lake/pond, the tasting room and lodge are in an idyllic setting, offering a quiet sanctuary from the hustle of Cape Town. Rarely have we seen our experienced such a wonderfully appointed and decorated suite in our SA travels. The Aaldering family has gone to great lengths to achieve a 5 star rating in our books and they are continually looking for ways to improve and add services. Each of the 3 lodges overlook the Aaldering lake and have a private patio and one side and courtyard and the front side. Inside, the lodge is so tastefully decorated and was incredibly spacious with a lounge, bathroom and large bedroom. The furniture was so lovely and of obvious quality, chosen not only for its practicality but also for its craftsmanship and beauty. The king bed was so comfortable and the fireplace mesmorizing as we sipped on the 3 bottles of wine left for us upon arrival. The free wifi was so helpful as was use of the ipad. WOW - we cannot wait for our next visit to Stellenbosch and Aaldering. Not only do we love their wine, we love staying there. See you next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwbellig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,708 reviews
1.3 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
557 reviews
2.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
613 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
#1 of 50 in Stellenbosch
454 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Stellenbosch
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaldering Vineyards & Wines Luxury Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaldering Vineyards & Wines Luxury Lodges

Property: Aaldering Vineyards & Wines Luxury Lodges
Address: Devon Valley Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aaldering Vineyards & Wines Luxury Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
-Absolute tranquility amidst the vineyard.-Originally Cape Dutch lodges with a thatched roof-State of the art bathroom, fireplace and luxury Kitchenette inside the room, furthermore use of an iPad and free Wifi access-Companies lake of 1000 m2-We care for your maximum safety and security ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aaldering Vineyards & Wines Luxury Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing