We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wines, but poor atmosphere”

Rust en Vrede Tasting Room
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.97*
and up
Red Wine Lovers Private Tour from Stellenbosch
More Info
$106.97*
and up
Red Wine Lovers Private Tour from Cape Town
Ranked #32 of 142 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great wines, but poor atmosphere”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Rust en Vrede has a wonderful location and a fantastic restaurant. Their wines are spectacular, but unfortunately the unfriendliness of people in the wine tasting room, made the experience a bit sour. A visit to taste their wines is still recommended.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Uwe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    20
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Delicious Red Wines, Beautiful Grounds”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went here during a full day wine tour - beautiful view from their grounds. Neat cellar that you can walk through, and delicious red wines.
Definitely stop here for a tasting!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JennFromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Some of my favorite wines”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I made sure to stop here having had their wines stateside. Their wines do not disappoint and the venue is very nice. Buying was more of a challenge than it should have been. The restaurant was closed for winter break which was unfortunate.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“really amazing experience”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

what a wonderful restaurant this was. My fiance and I visited on a weeknight after we were recommended to dine here by the manor we were staying at and we were not disappointed. Our waitress was so attentive and polite, knew the wine list very weel, and the food was phenomenal. Would definitely recommend this for an intimate meal for couples.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank mashie_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Estate Blends!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Beautiful Vineyard and a nice selection of wines! I particularly liked the 2008 estate blend - their flagship wine!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruch_Sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rust en Vrede Tasting Room also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Rust en Vrede Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing