We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star Hotel - country charm”
Review of Stellenbosch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stellenbosch Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed only 1 night at this lovely little hotel in the centre of Stellenbosch. My room was nice although the tiled floors very chilly in winter. The bed was very good, linen and towels good too. I had a shower and a bath and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The aircon worked well as it was very cold that evening so my room was lovely and warm. The rates are great in winter. Breakfast is served in Jan Kats restaurant, the cold buffet was good but the hot buffet not so great. I am not a fan of food sitting in bain marie's for hours and the eggs were congeald and tasted burnt. But other than that I would go back again. The hotel is very well situated, within walking distance of many restaurants, lovely shops and attractions.

Room Tip: I had a room in the courtyard so perhaps in winter rooms inside the hotel would be better.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear travelbabe40,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
There are newer reviews for Stellenbosch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 856 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stellenbosch Hotel, what a lovely little oasis in the city. Surrounded by funky bars, restaurants and shops (plenty of vegan options for which we were grateful) and amidst a thriving creative arts culture.
We opted for a petit room as we were on a budget and it was perfect for our needs; small and cosy, with an ensuite bathroom and secure parking.
There was no elevator to our room which for a longer stay would have been an issue as we were on the second floor and and a LOT of luggage, but as it was only a one night stay we were not bothered by this and only bought what we immediately needed to the room.
The bed was comfortable, DSTV was unavailable, but wifi worked a treat in the room. The courtyard outside was super cute and the hotel itself had a romantic European feel.
The breakfast which was included in the cost of our room was very generous, we had seconds and it was delicious.
We recommend this hotel as fantastic for those on a budget wanting to be in the middle of a bustling, cultural epicentre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TootsMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear TootsMonroe,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Friendly, central and romantic place. Perfect for a stop over in this wine area. Comfortable and clean rooms. The suberb cental location means you are within easy stumbeling distance of shops, restaurants and bars. Free car park is very useful. Breakfast is not great but OK for the price.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Joachim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Joachim M,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great position, friendly, historic, free parking, variety buffetbreakfast til 11h00 on Sundays. Room creatively decorated with special touch to bathroom glass enclosure. Discount given made this a valuable find. Will be back! Only problem was rowdy students late at night coming from hotel's own bar).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Pieter B,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Charming historic hotel in the middle of Stellenbosch (which is probably the most beautiful town in South Africa). very affordable which serves a mean breakfast. the amenities in the room are clean and there is everything you need for a pleasant stay. Highly recommended .

Room Tip: the rooms are the same and any room will be fine
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernhard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Bernhard P,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We didn't actually stop in the Stellenbosch hotel (though it is in an enviable location in the heart of Stellenbosch).

We went to the Stellenbosch Hotel for dinner on the Thursday evening (the first evening after arriving). On a Thursday they have half price burgers (meaning that they are of even better value). The food was lovely (though the steak was slightly small). Nevertheless, our server (Nkosana) was incredibly attentive and supportive.

We returned on the Saturday to watch some football matches. Many thanks to Nkosana and the manager for arranging for the games to be shown.

Generally quiet - though attributed to the time of the year. When we return to Stellenbosch we'll stop here (as much as anything this is due to the support provided by Nkosana - a genuine asset to this establishment).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandEmmaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is centrally located and as such is close to all restaurants and activities in the city. The breakfasts were substantial and you could eat in the dining room or at the street side cafe tables. The rooms on the upper floor were small and quite warm, even for March, and there was no elevator to the upper floor so guess what, you had to drag your suitcases up the fire escape like stairs, to your room.. Not something you want to do after a long drive!!! So pick a room closer to the main floor!!!

Room Tip: Do Not choose the rooms on the upper floor unless you like to drag your suitcase up a flight of stai...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear shopper_10,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch hotel.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
399 reviews
5.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
622 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stellenbosch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Hotel

Address: 162 Dorp Street | Corner of Dorp & Andringa Streets, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $75 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stellenbosch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stellenbosch Hotel is a classic boutique-style hotel, situated in the heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our range of Cape Dutch rooms cater for both the leisure and corporate markets. We are the ideal destination from which guests can explore the Cape Winelands and many other Western Cape attractions.Stellenbosch Hotel offers luxury rooms with free Wi-Fi and an on-site restaurant serving specialties and South African wines. Free parking is available. Stellenbosch Golf Club is just 3 miles away.In a restored building, each room features touches of colonial décor. Each room has a TV, minibar and safe. Each room has a spacious private bathroom.Breakfast in the morning is served in the Jan Cats Restaurant. The menu for lunch and dinner includes a range of game dishes, seafood cuisines as well as fine local and foreign dishes.Stellenbosch University is less than half a mile from Hotel Stellenbosch. It is a 5-minute drive from the walking tours of the Stellenbosch wine route. Museums, art galleries and gift shops are all within safe walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stellenbosch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing